Honda Sensing safety suite to be standard equipment across all next-gen models in Australian line-up

Honda has announced that its Australian model line-up will feature the Honda Sensing safety suite as standard equipment across all next-generation models. Presently, the intelligent suite of safety and driver-assist technologies is available on about a fifth of its present model range in the country.

The suite groups six items under its umbrella, these being lane departure warning (LDW), lane keeping assist system (LKAS), road departure mitigation (RDM), collision mitigation braking system (CMBS), forward collision warning (FCW) and adaptive cruise control (ACC), the last working together with a low-speed follow (LSF) function.

It’s currently available in Australia on six models, the Accord VTi-L and V6L, Civic VTi-LX sedan and hatch, CR-V VTi-LX and Odyssey VTi-L. Honda Australia says that it plans to stagger the rollout of Sensing and educate customers on the benefits of the safety technology.

The company said that a survey it commissioned involving 1,200 new car buyers intending to purchase in the next two years showed that there is a significant opportunity to educate the market on the importance and benefit of crash prevention technology. It said that while customers understood the workings and importance of airbags, anti-lock brakes and safe body structures, their knowledge of many of the newer safety technologies available was quite low.

Items such as LKA/LDW and accident avoidance/collision detection functions were only top-of-mind with a small proportion (around 10% or so) of the surveyed new car intenders. However, the company added that once educated on each technology, the market appeal for the advanced safety features increased significantly.

Closer to home, Honda Sensing is available as standard on three models in the Malaysian line-up – the CR-V 1.5L TC Premium, the facelifted Odyssey 2.4L EXV and Accord 2.4 VTi-L Advance. Do you think the system should be available across all models in the local range, and would you pay extra for it? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Civic minded on May 24, 2018 at 11:33 am

most Honda owners here esp Civic are good drivers. Sensing safety suite wont add much to daily driving thrill.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
  • Fariz on May 24, 2018 at 12:18 pm

It definitely should.

• Human sensing global recall on Onda Sensing safety suit in coming moons

• U mean its not standard alredi in whiteoverlord land? What heresy is this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
  • abu bakar on May 24, 2018 at 12:39 pm

Honda should put it on all range. Safety first. Those car fitted with advance safety should pay lower insurance fee, then it would offset the cost to purchase such vehicle.

• “At this stage Honda Australia is yet to make a call on whether it will absorb the cost of the system or pass the cost on to buyers.”

“AEB, let alone other aspects of Honda sensing, is still not universally available let alone standard across the market. Some luxury brands still don’t offer it on all models.”

“Some brands are moving to AEB, but combining that with the full safety package is a significant step and is a great move for Honda and the Australian motoring public.”

“The question becomes how do we make it work? Do we charge for it? We are working our way through all that now.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
  • heybadigol (Member) on May 24, 2018 at 12:43 pm

I think driver aids are good and if you can afford it, you should try to get it. Having said that, the driver still needs to be as attentive as if there is no driver aids. Wonder if anybody with experience using Sensing here have encountered situation where a motorcycle next to the car who then suddenly zips past across in front? Is it smart enough to react to the motorcycle and slow down?

• Jason on May 01, 2019 at 5:20 pm

Yes.. it does. I encounter a few times where motorcycle lane splitting n Honda sensing detected n sound alarm to driver and apply brake to slow down vehicle

• Richard Sambrani on May 24, 2018 at 1:20 pm

Hopefully Malaysia also can follow this since now we have a new Government that is clean and honest. Last Government was hand in hand with DRB to give us low spec Hondas with high prices.

Now, let us hope Government separates themselves from car companies and be a regulator and demand car companies to give us higher safety specs as standard.

After all, Honda Malaysia makes the highest margins per car sold compared to any dealerships in 200 countries.

I am sure Honda Malaysia can sacrifice their profits a bit for the safety of the rakyat of Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Ur toyota bila mau bagi? Wait until neck long long alredi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
      • Richard Sambrani on May 24, 2018 at 1:59 pm

UMW and other GLCs now must pay over RM1 TRILLION in debt stolen by crooks.

If money was not stolen, I am sure UMW can give by now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
        • If DRB Honda GLC can gip Honda Sense alredi then ur logic tarak ngam with reality wei!

• Sama Sama on May 24, 2018 at 2:15 pm

Dan Proton bila mau bagi? Also waiting.

• https://paultan.org/2018/04/11/auto-emergency-braking-confirmed-for-proton-suv/
          https://paultan.org/2018/04/05/video-proton-suv-to-get-features-such-as-voice-command-adaptive-cruise-control-360-degree-3d-view/

• Eric Chooi Jing Yi on May 24, 2018 at 3:09 pm

i will willing paid on Extra Honda Sensing safety ! HR-V

• Civic fc on May 24, 2018 at 3:27 pm

My suggestion is HONDA MALAYSIA must install the Honda sensing to all model. And as I know the price aso won’t be so much as customer afford to pay extra.

• tokmoh. on May 24, 2018 at 3:59 pm

Meanwhile they still don’t put VSC in base spec Jazz S. Shame!

• It should offered, at least as an options, in all new cars (all brands) in malaysia.

• krishendran basgaran on Jun 01, 2018 at 12:12 pm

When honda malaysia going to install for all models?

• NG CHOON PENG on Jun 25, 2018 at 2:00 pm

I will pay for it. Anyone can tell me how much to honda sensing to fit in Civic? I will sacrifice turbo engine to get honda sensing if out of my budget.

• NG CHOON PENG on Jun 25, 2018 at 2:04 pm

Hi Paultan, Any news on Honda Sensing implement in Civic, please let me know. I am ready with my booking fees and I just stay behind a Honda Showroom. lol