Malaysian vehicle sales data for April 2018 by brand

After sales picked up in March, vehicle sales in the country dipped again last month, though the drop was relatively small. A total of 47,089 vehicles were registered last month, and this represented a decrease of 2,896 units, or 5.8%, that that which was managed in March.

Here’s a quick breakdown of how most brands performed in April. It was a mixed bag of results, with five of the top 10 registering a drop in sales. The quintet were market leader Perodua (-3.9%), second-placed Honda (-14.8%), Proton (-4.9%), Nissan (-21.5%) and Mitsubishi (-35.8%).

Elsewhere, Ford (-2.6%) and Volkswagen (-25.0%) also had a softer month. Gainers included Toyota (+7.0%), Kia (+21.2%), MINI (+37.5%), Renault (+61.0%).

Most of the brands in the premium segment had a good April, the gainers list including Mercedes-Benz (+4.9%), BMW (+4.1%), Volvo (+30.5%) and Audi (+46.7%). Porsche sold exactly the same number of cars it did in March, and Lexus sold just one car less than it did the month before.

Click on the chart below to view a larger version.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Jaguar Cat on May 28, 2018 at 2:30 pm

Jaguar sales also went up by 200% from 3 to 9 this month =P

• Tido oh Tido on May 28, 2018 at 2:53 pm

There maybe a new Government but Proton workers still remain the same. Same old deadlogs, lazy to the core and not willing to market their cars.

Go to any mall, you always see different brands of cars promoting their cars in the middle concourse. Salesman stand whole day trying to sell their cars.

But I have never seen Proton marketing their cars in malls. Even with so low sales, they expect people to walk into their showrooms

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
      • Still wanna bash P1. But Bapak P1 is no back. Tremble with fear for your money will be put to gud used and make P1 great again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 18
        • my england is bad on May 28, 2018 at 5:30 pm

i prefers my money will be put to gud used and made 1mdb greater again!

• 1MDB to enrich the poor. Bapak 1MDB will make MY great again! Tremble with fear for your money will be put to gud used and make Rosmah great again!

• john delusion on May 28, 2018 at 8:20 pm

“Bapak P1 is no back”

Wtf are u talking about? Drink too much koolaid kah? Now Proton waterfall sales and john is still dreaming and praising P1. Bapak P1 dun care about ur junk Proton anymore, will let it rot in scrapyard.

• Tun M pictured with Pilot pen. Pilot pen sales shot through the roof.
      Tun M pictured with Berocca supplements. Berocca mostly sold out at all pharmacies.
      Tun M pictures with Bata sandals. Bata sandals now in limited quantity even before Bata Malaysia shamelessly promoted the sandals.

Tun M video recorded driving a Baoteng Perdana. Baoteng sales still like poop, going down and down. Proof even Tun M couldn’t save a failure of a brand.

In other news, rumours are the resale values of previous generation Toyota Vellfire models in white have plummeted after constantly being pictured carrying the nation’s number one thief, the ex-PM.

• Digidigi on May 28, 2018 at 2:43 pm

Audi u really irrelevant, you might be a glorify vw, but your sales is really too far behind your competitor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Gargantia on May 28, 2018 at 5:54 pm

No prizes for guessing Audi dealer in MY

• Leong on May 28, 2018 at 6:55 pm

Audi sales is so bad nowadays

It is fast becoming a dying brand in Malaysia soon

Each day when I look into my Audi A4 car makes me beginning to feel fed up and want to get rid of it soonest possible .

• Azman Abdullah on May 29, 2018 at 12:29 pm

Most buyer prefer much cheaper recondition Audi.

• Observer on May 30, 2018 at 11:49 am

So suddenly Audi had become a cheap car image like VW.

Anyway Audi had always been a less desirable brand in Malaysia.

Lol

• Perodua no value brand on May 30, 2018 at 12:12 pm

Not surprise to see many of these type of cheaper AUDIs will be using TOW TRUCKS daily due to its electronic and overheating problems.

• Mikey on May 28, 2018 at 3:00 pm

Looks like Proton will have a hard time selling 72,000 units this year judging from the 1st 4 months sales of 16,842 units only.

• benzs8787 on May 28, 2018 at 3:09 pm

75507 (P2) vs 73812 (P1 + T(JPN) + H(JPN) + N(JPN)) Bravo P2. Even 1st,2nd,3rd and 4th runner up also no match with P2. No wonder UMW wanna take over P2 share.

• YB Albert on May 28, 2018 at 3:17 pm

Protong in big big trouble.without boyue,it can hardly touch 50000units by Christmas.might as well be an AP distributor for exotic cars like Naza.Just pathetic,the pace of reforms at P1.Upgrade or not,makes no difference,as long as Campur engine n punch CVT are offered.Buyers just bolted to buy other brands.

• Lousy proton. From monthly sales of 8k in 2015 to 7k in 2016 to 5-6k in 2017 and now below 4k in 2018. Now dropped to 4th place despite being the cheapest and most low cost in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Still wanna bash P1. But Bapak P1 is now back. Tremble with fear for your money will be put to gud used and make P1 great again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • kipidap on May 29, 2018 at 1:27 am

Proton waterfall sales! All this thank to john who relentlessly ‘promoting’ P1. Bapak P1 would be proud of u, kipidap.

• eVaz88 on May 28, 2018 at 5:01 pm

Even Porsche sell more car than Audi. GGWP Audi

• Same L0rr on May 28, 2018 at 9:09 pm

Who wanna buy junk campro vvt & punch cvt? People prefer dual vvti now

• Mansor on Jun 25, 2018 at 11:15 pm

i need the data for the company for all months at least for 10 years.. any one can help me with that