G05 BMW X5 – first images of new SUV leaked online

We’re eagerly awaiting the unveiling of the new G05 BMW X5, which is expected to debut sometime this year. However, we no longer have to guess what it will look like, as official images of the SUV have surfaced online on the Russian automotive portal AutoReview.

From what we can see, the new X5 will feature a clear familial resemblance to the G01 X3. These include the trapezoidal headlights, here featuring three-dimensional, hexagonal “corona ring” daytime running lights, as well as blue detailing that hints of Laserlight technology – currently offered only on the i8 and 7 Series. The large eight-sided centre air intake on this M Sport model is also reminiscent of its smaller sibling.

One new design detail concern the huge double kidney grille, which are now joined together by a single chrome surround – similar to the upcoming BMW 8 Series that will be revealed soon. Moving to the side of the car, there’s the large Air Breather vents as well as a prominent upwards kink along the shoulder line towards the rear, emphasising the new X5’s hindquarters.

Speaking of which, the slimmer LED tail lights lose much of the L shape that has been a defining feature of BMW models, and they have large light guides that frame the lamps other functions, such as the reverse and indicator lights. It’s arguably less distinctive at the rear as a result, but what do you guys think?

No interior photos have been released just yet, but previous spyshots revealed a fully-digital instrument display, slim air vents and a new gearlever console. As we’ve seen on spyshots of other upcoming BMW models, these include a silver starter button, a shorter, stumpier gearlever and a large knurled iDrive knob. However, the toggle switches for the off-road gubbins and suspension ride height are new items.

Built on BMW’s latest Cluster Architecture (CLAR), the X5 will almost certainly be lighter by before – reports have provided a ballpark figure of between 230 and 270 kg, which is pretty substantial. It will also feature “new suspension and chassis systems” for the first time on an X model, according to the company.

These include the new off-road package that enables the vehicle setup to be adapted to suit a given terrain at the push of a button. Snow, sand, rocks and gravel roads were listed as examples, hinting at the modes that will be offered. It’s the first time we’ve seen a focus on off-road capability from BMW.

As for engines, the X5 is expected to feature the full complement of turbocharged four- and six-cylinder engines, including plug-in hybrid models in the vein of the current xDrive40e variant. Also likely is an M Performance variant (M50i?) utilising the M550i‘s 4.4 litre twin-turbocharged V8, as well as a top dog X5 M using an uprated version of that same engine, from the new M5.

GALLERY: G05 BMW X5 spyshots

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Calvin_Luk strikes again on Jun 05, 2018 at 11:39 am

Yyyyyyyyuuck!!

Unlike fashion, car designs don’t make a comeback Calvin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • The King X5 is Back!! Charge sheet prepped.

• sack the designer on Jun 06, 2018 at 4:49 am

All same all same, sack the designer!

• Mohd Azwan on Jun 06, 2018 at 9:47 am

Maybe Proton designer join BMW and created this car.

And they taught German desginers in Germany how to lepak in the kantin 8x a day minum teh and makan kuih lapis

• notakata on Jun 06, 2018 at 3:17 pm

Not P1, it is from jepunis that makes killing airbags! Yikes!

• Ur either saying,
          P1 is now so gud that even BMW hires their pipu. Tahniah P1. Basher dah makan sendri.
          Or
          BMW is so lousy that they resort to hire P1 designers. This logic of urs tarak ngam with reality too.

Spin too much until bite ur own tail kah? Hahahahaha!

• It’s a timeless beauty and very functional design. The looks will just grow on you for years to come as soon others will copy

• Wilson Kwong on Jun 05, 2018 at 1:50 pm

Front is ugly. Back … very sweet. Interior, same BMW signature from over 20 years ago.
    Don’t think it’s worth upgrading from the current F15.

Unless the price is being offered with incentive like the current X5 xDrive40e, it would be a difficult seller.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • 12yrsold john on Jun 05, 2018 at 2:58 pm

WOW, a top dog X5 M with Snow, Sand, Rocks & Gravel roads buttons will make this a complete SUV for Rallying. Watch out Sebastian Ogier & gang.

• Why the back end looks like its being copied from some Chinese car? Just sayin…

• passion on Jun 05, 2018 at 3:06 pm

have they solved the LED headlights problem? damn blinding!

• True, new generation BMWs headlights is so glaring and looks like always on highbeam

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 05, 2018 at 3:40 pm

front so sharp…back like potato ////apa ini

• Taking the Audi approach at the front… the back does somehow reminds me of Kia Sorento though hmm..

• BowArrow(Mr.SFA) on Jun 05, 2018 at 7:36 pm

Later come MY we don’t get Adaptive LED headlights , instead we get the one on X3….Well BMW malaysia loves cutting corners to make the price lower…

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 06, 2018 at 10:59 am

Autogefuhl has a pretty comprehensive walkaround review (sans driving impressions). The Swarovski crystal gearshifter is not quite as good looking as the Orofors in Volvo. But it’s still refreshing to see BMW trying to get their interior design mojo back. Exterior design is evolutionary but is still way better than the current car. To my eyes, the new X5 looks better than the Q7 and Bentley Bentayga. Not sure how those 22 inch rims are going to affect ride though. But damn they look good.