BMW 8 Series shown in teaser, June 15 Le Mans debut

BMW has revealed the new 8 Series, undisguised but unclear, in an image accompanying the announcement of the flagship coupe’s debut date. That date is June 15, the eve of the Le Mans 24 Hours race that the BMW M8 GTE will be contesting. We’ve brightened the original image for a decent view of the 8 Series’ flowing silhouette and detailing – click on the above image to study it.

The new luxury sports car was developed parallel to the BMW M8 GTE with which BMW Motorsport will take to the Le Mans starting grid for the first time since 2011. BMW will be fielding two M8 GTEs at Le Mans, which is also round two of the 2018 FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC). The race cars have already competed at the season opener in Spa-Francorchamps and the US-American IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship.

Munich says that the drive and suspension technology of the 8 Series benefits from motor racing experience, particularly the high-end BMW M850i xDrive Coupe, which will sport a new V8 engine, rear-biased four-wheel drive, controlled rear axle differential lock, Integral Active Steering, adaptive M suspension technology ‘Professional’ featuring active roll stabilisation, and 20-inch wheels.

What we know of the new turbocharged V8 engine, officially, is that it makes 530 PS and 750 Nm of torque from 1,800 rpm. That’s 68 PS and 100 Nm of twist more than what you’ll get from the 4.4 litre V8 motor in the G30 M550i xDrive. There will also be an eight-speed automatic and a sports exhaust system.

GALLERY: BMW 8 Series with camo

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jagjit Singh on May 16, 2018 at 10:02 am

This car looks good. I hope one day I can buy it. Now, Malaysia will soon become rich without john’s people stealing money…..oh wai

• Buthurt cuz ur paymasters dun need ur sevices anymore kah? Hahahaha!

• seancorr (Member) on May 16, 2018 at 10:40 am

One would expect the M8 to have around 700hp then considering the M5 Competition has 625 horses at the moment.

• mattdamonfan on May 18, 2018 at 2:33 pm

BMW found cheap way to tease here tease there but still no launch