BMW M850i xDrive Coupe confirmed – 530 PS, 750 Nm

As the BMW 8 Series edges its way closer to a global debut, the German automaker has released preliminary information about one of the variants that will be available – the M850i xDrive Coupe.

We start with the most important bit, the engine. BMW says the M850i xDrive will feature a “completely developed” V8 engine but did not disclose its displacement.

However, it did say the mill makes 530 PS and 750 Nm of torque from 1,800 rpm, which is exactly 68 PS and 100 Nm of torque more than what you’ll get from the 4.4 litre TwinPower Turbo V8 engine in the G30 M550i xDrive.

Mated to the V8 is an eight-speed Steptronic sport transmission calibrated for shorter shift times, with drive going to the wheels via the brand’s rear-biased xDrive four-wheel drive system with active rear axle differential lock. There’s also a sports exhaust system so you can better hear the engine when you fully depress the loud pedal.

Matching the grunt is the variant’s adaptive M suspension Professional with active roll stabilisation and Integral Active Steering. These offer different characteristics corresponding to the selected drive mode, which also involves the stability control system DSC (Dynamic Stability Control) and xDrive system.

BMW adds that the car will have higher camber values on all wheels as well as specifically tuned elastokinematics for high cornering speeds. The variant will also be available exclusively with mixed tyres too.

The 8 Series will go on sale later this year, but it is yet unknown if lesser variants than the M850i xDrive will be offered. What is certain is a higher-performance M8 variant will be introduced later on.

https://vimeo.com/266639184

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Robert Parameswaran S/O Kuppusamy on Apr 26, 2018 at 11:53 am

Nothing like the 850CSi from 1992-1996…5.6l V12 and 6-speed manual…

• Digidigi on Apr 26, 2018 at 11:59 am

pls bring in a version that is less than 600k. And a z4 at 300k.

• mcMac on Apr 26, 2018 at 2:12 pm

here’s hoping for a new engine(4.0L) to debut in the new m8

• Eleh bullcrap lah 4.0L, 6.2L then we’re talking

• mcMac on Apr 27, 2018 at 1:34 am

eh why lah haha….bmws latest racing car the m8 gte is using a 4.0L engine thats why i was hoping…6.2L probably in the form of v12..but i dunno if it will be used in the 8er…maybe they will if they have an 860i

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 27, 2018 at 10:29 am

The British YouTuber, Shmee, drove the camo’d 8 Series. Check out the video and wear good earphones (engine sounds nice though not as loud as an AMG, but then it is not the M8). And that’s the only thing that is revealed about the car so far.