GALLERY: BMW M550i xDrive – range-topping G30

The new G30 BMW 5 Series has been revealed, and at the very top of the range (for now) is the M550i xDrive, which is being highlighted in this photo gallery prepared by the German automaker.

At the heart of the M Performance model is a 4.4 litre TwinPower Turbo V8 engine that features twin-scroll turbocharging, direct injection, Valvetronic variable valve timing and VANOS variable camshaft control.

The mill outputs 462 PS at 5,500 rpm and peak torque of 650 Nm arrives from just 1,800 rpm, capable of propelling the sedan to 100 km/h from a standstill in just four seconds, continuing on to an electronically-limited top speed of 250 km/h.

Ensuring all that power makes it to the ground is the duty of the Steptronic Sport eight-speed automatic transmission (with shift paddles) and BMW’s xDrive all-wheel-drive system. The latter splits the power between the front and rear axles as needed, but remains primarily rear-wheel drive bias.

Other drive-related features include the adaptive M Sport suspension that makes the M550i xDrive 10 mm lower compared to the standard 5 Series, along with M Sport brakes and 19-inch M light-alloy wheels finished in Cerium Grey metallic matte (optional 20-inch light-alloys in an exclusive design).

As for the exterior, the M550i xDrive gets the M aerodynamic package, which comes with a rear bootlid spoiler that gives the 5 Series a sportier look. Along with this, the exterior mirror covers, the kidney grille surround, the M Performance bars on the front air intake and the two Air Breathers at the sides are all finished in Cerium Grey metallic.

Elsewhere, the car is fitted with the high-gloss Shadow Line trim around the windows, the brake calipers are gain a blue paintjob and M badging, plus there are black chrome exhaust finishers, which the company says “is responsible for producing the unmistakable and rousing BMW M soundtrack.”

Opening the doors, owners will be greeted by illuminated door sills that bear the car’s nameplate, followed by M sports seats upholstered in Black Dakota leather with blue contrast stitching. An M sports steering wheel, M design floor mats and aluminium interior trim are all part of the car’s cabin, including the latest-generation iDrive system.

Plenty of driver assistance systems onboard as well, including Active Cruise Control (ACC), Lane Keeping Assistant and Intelligent Speed Limit Assist, BMW Connected services and optional Remote Parking system.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 19, 2016 at 3:07 pm

Already basic Merc E200 already RM400k. I can imagine BMW 520i also will be RM400k. So, I wonder how much this model will be? Few million ringgit maybe.

Syukurlah, harga kereta di Malaysia munasabah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 49
    • Tax the rich, so tak kesah

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 19, 2016 at 4:59 pm

work harder kunta to get yrself a kia rio. After that trade in to me at 40% the price after one year. Don’t complain and spend your time to work hard rather than writing same copy and paste post.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 19, 2016 at 5:45 pm

Bro that’s the E200 CBU price. The CKD production will only begin somewhere next year and a lower price will follow suit.

• passion on Dec 19, 2016 at 3:23 pm

can see from a far but do not touch.

• Mikey on Dec 19, 2016 at 3:27 pm

OK OK. The range topping G30 have all the bells & whistles. The latest E-class also have almost the same Bar the Remote Parking System(RPS).

IMO, the RPS will be a big contributing factors to the sales of BMW in M’sia. Our bro Ambros & some have previously commented that M’sia will NOT have this feature.

Can Gerard Lye/PT shed some light into this question that has been previously asked/posted by me & Ambros ??! I’m already sensing a question – “You can afford to buy or Not”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • seancorr (Member) on Dec 19, 2016 at 5:47 pm

I’m more interested with the driver assist systems like blind spot warning or lane departure as these features are already available in cheaper cars in Malaysia but not on the premium German cars.

• Mikey on Dec 19, 2016 at 9:39 pm

The last para says “Plenty of driver assistance systems onboard as well, including Active Cruise Control (ACC), Lane Keeping Assistant, Intelligent Speed Limit Assist & BMW Connected service”.

• Basheer on Dec 20, 2016 at 5:02 pm

Would the accident at the Singapore AYE Tuas highway be avoided had the Merc been equipped with Lane Keeping Assistant?

• Simon Ambrose on Dec 19, 2016 at 10:14 pm

Mark my words my friend!

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 19, 2016 at 3:56 pm

Progress.

The old E39 M5 only made 400hp from its V8. Arguable the best looking M5 until now.

Surprisingly (or not, given the 550’s AWD drivetrain) even quicker to 100 than the outgoing F10 M5.

What sort of a monster will the 600hp G30 based M5 would end up being?

• Mikey on Dec 19, 2016 at 9:43 pm

Monster M5 with performance to boot to take on the best AMG can offer.

• nabill (Member) on Dec 19, 2016 at 4:07 pm

so whats left for the M5 ?
    power wise ,probably an upgraded version of this 4.4 twinturbo…800nm of torque maybe! crazy benchmarks!

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 19, 2016 at 5:50 pm

With selectable AWD, one can imagine 3.5 secs or lesser 0-100 from the upgraded 4.4 turbo engine.

• Syukur on Dec 19, 2016 at 4:20 pm

Harga mampu tengok

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 19, 2016 at 5:52 pm

Now if only they will launch a M530i and later a M330i to entice customers in countries which heavily tax cars above 2000cc. Right now all this ///M cars are only available on their top of the line models.

• erwinkarim on Dec 19, 2016 at 7:44 pm

more torque than E60 and faster than the BMW M5 E60.

and this is not even the M version for the G30 yet. what difference 10 years of development did.

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 19, 2016 at 8:20 pm

If the 550i already needs AWD to put all that torque down to the ground, the new M5, which will have far more power/torque, will probably need AWD too. Looks wise, the G30 just isn’t special enough. Looks too much like the F10, which in my opinion still looks good. Having said that, the new E Class which looks better than the G30 looks too much like the smaller C Class. So in my opinion, best looking car in this class remains the Cadillac CTS.

• It’s pretty much already confirmed by BMW that the new M5 will have AWD.

• Najib 2.B Razak on Dec 19, 2016 at 10:15 pm

That Honda City rear still bugs me a lot…