Hafizh Syahrin stays with Tech3 in 2019, to ride KTM

After performing well in his rookie year, Malaysian MotoGP racer Hafizh Syahrin has been given a one-year contract extension with French race team Tech3 for 2019. Despite a poor showing in the Spanish MotoGP in Jerez, where he finished outside the points, Hafizh’s performance has been consistent thus far, with 17 points in the world championship ranking.

French race team Tech3 had a 20-year partnership with Yamaha before making the move to KTM Motorsports and the RC16 race bike for the 2019 season. It was previously announced that Johann Zarco would be making the move to KTM with Tech3, but the second rider position was left open.

Joining Hafizh and Zarco in the KTM stable will be Pol Espargaro and Miguel Oliveira, with Tech3 team manager Herve Poncheral saying all the riders will be on identical machinery. KTM Motorsports made its MotoGP debut in 2016 and spent most of 2017 developing the KTM RC16 race motorcycle.

Hafizh was emotional about his contract extension, saying, “it’s hard for me to say and to believe. First of all, I have to say thank you very much to Hervé for trusting in me and giving me this opportunity to stay with the Tech3 family and at the same time to join the KTM family.” ” I’m incredibly happy to get this chance, I even feel close to cry for joy. Thanks to everybody and especially to Hervé and Datuk Razlan Razali for always believing in me,” he continued.

In other news, former world champion Jorge Lorenzo, who has had a somewhat dismal season with Ducati Racing, is making the move to Repsol Honda after making his first season win at the Mugello MotoGP. This follows the departure of Dani Pedrosa, who has raced with Honda Racing Corporation (HRC) for 18 seasons, including 13 years in MotoGP.

Lorenzo will be riding the Honda RC213V, with current MotoGP world champion Marc Marquez as team mate. As we move into musical chairs season for MotoGP and the other race classes, it remains to be seen who will be left standing, or seated, when the dust settles.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Mental John Go Away on Jun 06, 2018 at 4:48 pm

This guy has done well cause he works hard. He does not wait for bantuan and all that but pure hard work

Congratulations. This is a message to those always seeking bantuan. Work hard and you can succeed. Bravo Hafizh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • Tahniah to Hafizh for getting a contract extension! Thats another step up but its not the last, so keep performing consistently and climb the ranks!

• Albert's Fake News Pvt Ltd on Jun 06, 2018 at 5:14 pm

According to AlbertKunta logic, Hafizh shouldn’t need to thank anyone, not even Herve or Datuk Razlan, becuz he did it on his own.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Fizifloyd on Jun 06, 2018 at 5:16 pm

Another reason to go to SIC next year

• casual rider on Jun 06, 2018 at 5:49 pm

great news indeed! stay focus bro

• Mikey on Jun 07, 2018 at 2:40 pm

Congrats to our very own MotoGP rider Hafirz Syahrin. U can show your riding skills & talents once U are on identical machinery with the rest. Show them Malaysia Boleh