JB-SG Rapid Transit System project still uncertain

Back in May, when news broke about the KL-Singapore High Speed Rail (HSR) project being put on hold, it was reported that the Johor Baru-Singapore Rapid Transit System (RTS) link project would go on, although with the government looking at lowering the project’s costs.

Now, The Star reports that the date for the project’s ground launch has passed – the joint-venture companies tasked with implementing the project were to get the project off the ground by the end of last month, and as such the timeframe set for the project looks to have lapsed, and no resolution looks to be in sight.

According to a source, some of the issues that could hamper the project included its design and land acquisition around Bukit Chagar. “It looks like there is some level of uncertainty. We hope that both sides will be able to resolve any issue or dispute amicably,” the source said, adding that a compensation clause would likely require Malaysia to pay damages to Singapore if the project is shelved.

In May, transport minister Anthony Loke said the RTS would proceed. “Of course we have to restudy the project in terms of cost and so on. But as a principled decision, the RTS is still on the table. I was made to understand that the cost of the project is RM4 billion for the Malaysian government, but of course we are looking at how to reduce cost. We have just made the decision, we have to initiate negotiations and discussions with our counterparts in Singapore,” he said.

Agreed and signed upon in January this year, the 4.2 km-long cross-border MRT system will run above ground from Bukit Chagar in Johor and on a 25 metre-high bridge track across the straits before heading underground to the Woodlands North station in Singapore. It will be able to ferry up to 10,000 passengers per hour in each direction (or 72,000 passengers a day), and is scheduled for completion by 2024, replacing today’s KTM Link.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Uncertain until a certain Kawan comes into the picture. Then magical numbers goes up and down and we r told there is cost savings depite the higher prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
    • scoodai on Jul 16, 2018 at 5:08 pm

such immature unbecoming statement. even KJ deeply disappointed. oppos supposed to be strong, efficient and credible to providing checks and balances to the new govt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Im not in the parlimen, fool. Why the rakyat now cannot condemn when they see something wrong kah? Such authoritarianism from New MY! I almost thought its 1930s Jermany.

• Latuk Bandar on Jul 18, 2018 at 8:58 am

Bagus lah john. Yang kat parlimen tu, “Sila duduk dan jangan lari”.

• Sorry, but the stench is unbearable from your New Gov.

• hondaman on Jul 16, 2018 at 2:29 pm

This is a badly need project, not good to ding dong ding dong till next PRU while JB citizens suffer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • U-Tun on Jul 16, 2018 at 3:31 pm

Let me inflate the price calculation first and after we chop here and there…aha, we can proceed but with shorter train and longer waiting time. Oh…forgot to say, due for completion in 2124.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • Referencing to earlier reports after the bilateral agreement was signed, the RTS will utilise similar core systems such as signalling and rolling stock with the Thomson-East Coast line to achieve economies of scale, so there’s already some cost savings there.

I really do hope this project gets completed on schedule. It is ironic to see the new government travelling overseas and reviving talks on national car projects when greater attention and focus should be given to projects such as this and indeed other public transport projects that will bring more long term benefits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Irony is on the MY pipu becoz he alredi said he will do just that when come back to power, which he did. https://paultan.org/2017/08/25/tun-m-wants-to-start-another-proton-if-pakatan-wins/

• Eternalgl0ry on Jul 16, 2018 at 5:28 pm

I don’t think it will proceed the progress anytime soon.

Because Singapore paid so much more for the project and unless Malaysia willing to pay the debt plus the penalty

It will never be officially cancel. Only put on hold

• Lawrence on Jul 16, 2018 at 6:59 pm

Very likely it will be much further delayed even if it will materialized at all.

• Delayed, overpriced, underspecced. A hallmark of a certain 22 year period. Alredi ended 15 years ago, but everybody that was bashing it, is now clamouring for it. All of them licking own spit.