V177 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Sedan finally unveiled

Mercedes-Benz has finally revealed the standard V177 A-Class Sedan, three months after the company debuted the long-wheelbase Z177 for China. As you’d expect, it’s exactly like the W177 hatchback, albeit with a separate boot to cater to more sedan-friendly markets like ours and the United States.

As was revealed last week, the four-door holds the record for the lowest aerodynamic drag coefficient on a production vehicle at 0.22, a figure shared with the outgoing CLA. That’s partly due to the fact that the frontal area is even smaller than the CLA’s, at 2.19 square metres. By comparison, the still-slippery hatch has a drag coefficient of 0.25.

Measures to reduce drag include extensive sealing (such as around the headlights), an almost flat underbody, an optional grille shutter and front and rear wheel spoilers that deflect air around the wheels. The wheels and tyres themselves have also been aerodynamically optimised.

Design-wise, the sedan retains the hatch’s low shark nose front end, featuring tapered headlights (with optional Multibeam LED technology) and a trapezoidal grille with a dinner plate-sized three-pointed star. Also retained is the strong shoulder line, simple upswept character line lower down and a sweeping glasshouse, made all the more cohesive thanks to a shorter wheelbase than the slightly awkward LWB version.

The rear is as we’ve seen on the A-Class L Sedan, with angular two-piece tail lights that decorate the short tail, emphasising the car’s width. As usual, there’s a range of wheels on offer, measuring between 16 and 19 inches in diameter, and there will also be an Edition 1 with copper highlights inside and out.

Inside, the cabin will again be familiar to hatch owners, with a thoroughly modern design carrying Stuttgart’s latest design language. That means that the wing-shaped dashboard is dominated by a large freestanding display panel – here without an upper cowl, like on the hatch – and round turbine-style air vents. There’s also a 64-colour ambient lighting system with 10 colour themes, or “worlds.”

Available in either seven- or 10.25-inch sizes, the twin instrument and infotainment displays – the latter is now available as a touchscreen – utilise the new Mercedes-Benz User Experience (MBUX) interface, with features such as augmented reality overlays for the navigation display and a voice control system with natural speech recognition, operated using the phrase “Hey Mercedes.”

The system also uses artificial intelligence and will be able to learn your preferences in time. Other features that make their debut on MBUX include navigation functions using vehicle-to-vehicle and vehicle-to-infrastructure communication, parking and fuel price information and a vehicle tracking feature that can notify you if a parked car has been crashed into or towed away.

The A-Class Sedan measures 4,549 mm long, 1,796 mm wide and 1,446 mm wide, making it 130 mm longer and six millimetres taller than the hatch, all while keeping its 2,729 mm wheelbase. Mercedes claims that the sedan offers class-leading rear headroom and above-average shoulder and elbow room, while its 420 litre boot is 50 litres more than its five-door sibling.

At launch, only the A 200 petrol and A 180 d diesel will be offered. The former utilises an M282 1.33 litre turbocharged four-cylinder mill, developed in partnership with Renault and producing 163 hp and 250 Nm of torque, while the oil burner utilises Mercedes’ own OM608 1.5 litre turbodiesel churning out 116 hp and 260 Nm. Both are mated to a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission (7G-DCT), now made by Getrag.

Both models come as standard with torsion beam rear suspension, with variants equipped with more powerful engines or the 4Matic all-wheel drive system – which we presume will be announced later on – will get a four-link rear axle. A MacPherson strut front setup is standard on all models.

Safety-wise, the A-Class Sedan comes as standard with Active Brake Assist (autonomous emergency braking) and Active Lane Keeping Assist, and can be specced with Distronic adaptive cruise control, Active Emergency Stop Assist and Active Lane Change Assist. There’s also an optional Pre-Safe system as well as Pre-Safe Rear that detects an imminent rear-end collision and applies the brakes to reduce its severity.

Production of the A-Class Sedan will kick off this year in Aguascalientes, Mexico in a plant shared with the Renault-Nissan-Mitsubishi Alliance, while the Rastatt facility in Germany – which already builds the hatch version – will join the fray next year.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• NajibR on Jul 26, 2018 at 2:12 pm

Ok lets start the Mercedes supporting and Audi bashing guys!

• Puleten on Jul 26, 2018 at 2:14 pm

Nah. Renault engine. Next …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • seancorr (Member) on Jul 26, 2018 at 4:23 pm

Apparently the US is getting an A220 2.0 liter pumping 188hp. So it’s detuned a bit from the hatchback’s A250 211hp……I wonder why they did that.

• A keras thats larger than most C-segment sedans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • John May 9 Nangis on Jul 26, 2018 at 6:17 pm

Only an ignorant fool calls it keras instead of class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
      • Only an ignorant fool will bring in unrelated topic into this artikel. What a fool.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
        • Shukor Majid on Jul 27, 2018 at 10:29 am

This is why Mazlee is changing. Too many people with broken Inggeris

• Mr. Octopus on Jul 26, 2018 at 2:49 pm

I’m gonna get ultra bashed for saying this but I don’t care…

IT LOOKS KOREAN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • can’t stomach paying that much to get a torsion beam setup…

• Quickly buy the current gen b4 phase out or wait for 4matic version of new A keras.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
      • Ah Beng TRD Vios godcar on Jul 27, 2018 at 2:31 am

It means very very HARD for John to afford to buy it even if he sells his wife and his kidneys.

• Mikey on Jul 27, 2018 at 10:19 am

Hahaha. I heard U loud & clear & I concur with U 100%. Hear hear hear j

• vedder on Jul 26, 2018 at 3:41 pm

It’s a Mercedes. Yes, a torsion beam setup sounds horrible on paper. Test drive it. Might very better than we think

• wawasan2020 on Jul 26, 2018 at 2:58 pm

the back looks like saga flx ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • bijanHere on Jul 26, 2018 at 3:40 pm

can’t wait for the a-class…

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 26, 2018 at 3:46 pm

Torsion beam setup with a co developed Renault engine, no thanks. It’s only slightly better than the X class which is a Nissan Navara with a Benz badge. I mean even the key fob is from Nissan, really wtf. I think most will wait for the A250 with a Benz engine and better suspension setup.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Puretek on Jul 26, 2018 at 7:09 pm

Inb4 BMW 316 Prince 1.6l Peugeot engine.

• 12yrsold john on Jul 27, 2018 at 10:23 am

But “Open your mind” say – A merc is a merc. No such thing as proper merc.
      He even say – “People all over the world have been buying low spec or entry level luxury branded cars because they like it, and because they can” so how ah?!

• Mikey on Jul 26, 2018 at 4:07 pm

I’ve said it B4 & I’ll say it again. If a man want to buy a proper Mercedes sedan, he will choose at least the C-class bcoz its RWD. comes with a 9-speeder & definitely better value for $$$ too.

Who cares if its 0.22 or 0.25 coefficient drag(CD). Any car manufacturer sell their cars base on CD?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Open your mind on Jul 26, 2018 at 5:08 pm

Stfu. It’s 2018 now and you are too narrow minded. A merc is a merc. No such thing as proper merc or not. Same goes for bmw and audi.

People all over the world have been buying low spec or entry level luxury branded cars because they like it, and because they can.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • Mikey on Jul 26, 2018 at 5:44 pm

Who are U to tell me STFU ??!! Did someone died & make U a King ?! Its only an opinion for haven sake. Am I not entitle to one ?! For a starter, show your true self I dare U

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
        • Add A Comment on Jul 27, 2018 at 7:38 am

You probably new to the Internet? Chill bor…it is the Internet…come on

– I have Just Added A Comment –

• Mikey on Jul 27, 2018 at 12:38 pm

So the real “Open your mind” finally pops out!!

• 12yrsold on Jul 27, 2018 at 8:49 am

1st of all, the price difference between this A class sedan & the C class sedan is negligible(probably around RM20k) judging by the A class hatch back price.

That is why, buying the C class is a better option but its entirely up to the buyer. Asking someone to “Shut The Fcuk Up(Stfu)” is totally uncalled for. Having some decorum & decency will always be appreciated don’t you think so?!

• Less Attractive Class

• Gracke on Jul 26, 2018 at 6:00 pm

BMW rear boot design, KIA Stinger looks much much more better!!!

• thepolygonal on Jul 26, 2018 at 6:04 pm

From back looks like a downgraded Cerato.

• FormulaE on Jul 26, 2018 at 11:28 pm

Made in Mexico and engines from Renault with 7speed DSG? Wtf type of Mercedes is this? I rather buy an Audi.

• Pls do some research before saying it is using Renault engine. M282 is an engine developed by Merz n Renault. They even put Nissan GTR Nanoslide technology on the pistons to reduce friction. Torsion beam might sounds so so… But the review for the hatchback is very good, sedan I believed it is the same.