GIIAS 2018: Daihatsu Ayla Turbo concept, 200 hp Axia!

A 200 hp Perodua Axia? Yup, such a machine is present at the ongoing 2018 Gaikindo Indonesia International Auto Show (GIIAS). PT Astra Daihatsu Motor (ADM) has a Daihatsu Ayla Turbo at its GIIAS stand, and it’s an Ayla that has been boosted to 200 PS, as proclaimed on the rear windows.

The “Racing Sport Entry Hatchback” concept is powered by a 1.2 litre Dual VVT-i engine, like the stock Low Cost Green Car (LCGC) Daihatsu Ayla and Toyota Agya twins.

There’s no explanation on how the ADM R&D team managed to extract 200 PS out of the 3NR twin-cam four-cylinder Dual VVT-i engine, except for the mention of turbocharging and “Low Compression Piston”. The standard Ayla 1.2L makes 88 PS at 6,000 rpm and 108 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm.

So, let’s just treat the eye-catching “200 PS” sticker as a gimmick and focus on the appearance of this tuned Ayla, which could provide inspiration for creative Axia owners.

The showcar is immediately recognisable as an Ayla with that huge U grille, but shiny chrome has been swapped for dark chrome. As seen on the production Terios Custom we showed you earlier, the designers left one strip in metallic to bridge the headlamps. The bumper features deeply sculpted side vents stretched to the extreme corners for a maximum impression of width. A prominent splitter completes the aggressive front end.

The front and rear three quarter images show off the widened front and rear wing panels, which house 15-inch wheels on Achilles racing slicks. That’s an inch up from the stock 14-inch rims. We also spy AP Racing brakes.

The five-door hatchback is finished in red and black, the latter covering the rear half of the car and the roof – it’s similar to, but less abrupt than the Peugeot Sport style. Rounding things up is the “Ayla Turbo” decal along the wheelbase, which reminds me of “Charade DeTomaso”.

Daihatsu’s Indonesian arm says that the Ayla Turbo is equipped with more rigid suspension to cut body roll and improve stability. There’s also an oil cooler to manage the boosted engine’s temperature. No mention of the interior, but we can see a stripped out cabin with a rollcage and a single Sparco race seat for the driver.

“We hope that the Ayla Turbo concept can be an inspiration for the local automotive industry and shows the capabilities of Daihatsu R&D,” said Pradipto Sugondo, ADM’s R&D executive officer. After scoffing at the power rating, take a step back and look at the Ayla Turbo again. Looks good, no?

GALLERY: Daihatsu Ayla 1.2 R Deluxe

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Afeeq Hasan. on Aug 06, 2018 at 2:11 pm

Perodua needs to make something like this happen…and not be like Proton where “SS” is a dam bodykit rather than performance kit. “Special Skirting” lmao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • VtecKickinYo' on Aug 06, 2018 at 2:47 pm

Stonking 200PS Perodua Axia from tiny 1.2litre Dual VVT-i engine. Perodua Myvi 1.5litre 277PS ??

• John May 9 Nangis on Aug 06, 2018 at 8:37 pm

If this concept becomes production and comes to Malaysia, habis lah Proton and China Geely. Can tutup kedai

• tomatoman on Aug 06, 2018 at 2:15 pm

get ready perodua because after the third national car company born in 2020 u will be tortured so hard in order to give the way to those company. And perhaps those company will produce shittest quality car and ugly interior like proton make before by using cronies vendor to supply shittest quality part.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • seancorr (Member) on Aug 06, 2018 at 2:15 pm

Concept it is. To extract that kind of power from that engine requires race spec parts and the engine has to go for a rebuild at certain mileages.

• 200 PS(i) on Aug 06, 2018 at 4:03 pm

I agree with you. They also probably removed the engine cut-off rev limit at 7000 rpm. Theoretically, maybe can get 200PS at 13,000 rpm. Or even boosting the turbo pressure to 2 bars. However, the reliability of the engine will suffer tremendously.

• Marses on Aug 12, 2018 at 8:01 am

Yessss…finally two guys with brains..others just bashing non technical..

• TechRed on May 31, 2019 at 11:38 am

True, and to think they put drums on a 200hp rear wheels… how are those supposed to stop anything

• MR DORIFUTO on Aug 06, 2018 at 2:18 pm

Axia, Ayla, Agya adalah kembar
    Ayla dan Agya guna 1.2 liter
    Axia guna 1.0 liter

• Jzsaysay on Aug 06, 2018 at 4:31 pm

Axia Ayla Agya Wigo are 4 twin.
      Ayla n Agya also have 1.0 engine. In Indonesia Ayla n Agya offered in both 1.0 and 1.2 powertrain, 1.2 TRD oso have. Wigo Brunei offered in 1.0 only just like Axia. Hopefully p2 will bring in 1.2 3nr-ve engine into Axia in the future.

• Why la wanna ape VW Golf/Polo looks?

• I hope they ditch the jewelry-like red LED on rear lamp.

• Legend on Aug 06, 2018 at 2:37 pm

Knowing Malaysians, they’d go all out to make the Axia more than 200hp

• Ben Yap on Aug 06, 2018 at 3:28 pm

perodua should make something like this… at least buyer has the option to go for power pack cars.

now it’s quite boring that every perodua i drag at the traffic lights, my civic 1.5 turbo beat them flat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Darren on Aug 06, 2018 at 3:41 pm

when your civic turBocor sangkut on roadside as alwiz, every perodua smoke you with glee.

• johnissohai on Aug 06, 2018 at 3:41 pm

but every ferrari you tried to drag, they beat u flat

• Yebwoy on Aug 06, 2018 at 3:52 pm

I support this concept 100%, we need for fun cars coming out of Asia. But a lot of people always begging for more power in affordable cars, but refuse to think about the maintenance. Malaysians are already too scared to buy a Turbo Preve & Turbo Civic, what more a highly stressed out turbo Axia

• say, that is the perodua myvi 2018 rims design they got there ^^

• rally_fan (Member) on Aug 06, 2018 at 4:50 pm

i find your comment strange because it kinda implies that daihatsu rebadges original perodua cars to sell…

• Mikey on Aug 06, 2018 at 5:00 pm

I hope that the Ayla Turbo concept won’t make it here else there will be an increase in accidents. A small & light car like this is not intended to be driven by new drivers.

If this do make it here, I hope they only sell it to driver who have at least 5 years driving experience.

With 200ps on tap, this is a resipi for disaster bcoz the right foot will rule over your brain. I know it bcoz I’ve been involved in accident B4 but not many get to tell their story alive.

• Lil Cupacabra on Aug 06, 2018 at 7:00 pm

On my P1 saga windscreen, written “400 PS”.

• In malaysia, you will see a lot stuck on trees

• Wah!! Bore the engine maybe and swap the Toyota turbo pistons And all our to make it at 200hp…

• Wedwed on Aug 07, 2018 at 11:23 am

Slap in a jcdet and good to go!!

• Ecoboost on Aug 07, 2018 at 12:10 pm

Its good if axia use engine like ford fiesta 1.0 ecoboost

• azmi_autobahn on Aug 07, 2018 at 3:33 pm

Let’s see if P2 can R&D their own engine :)
    Come on Msian, give your full support for P2 to develop their own engine, who knows it could be better than Jap?
    P1 buat own engine, of course not as good as Jap (wonder when was Jap first found out on how to make their own engine..? and how did it turned out)