Fernando Alonso to leave Formula 1 after 2018 season

McLaren has announced that Fernando Alonso will leave Formula 1 after the 2018 season, stopping short of confirming a full retirement from the sport. The Spaniard has spent 17 years racing in the top open-wheel formula, during which he has scored two world championships, 32 wins, 22 pole positions and 97 podiums.

“After 17 wonderful years in this amazing sport, it’s time for me to make a change and move on,” Alonso said. “I have enjoyed every single minute of those incredible seasons and I cannot thank enough the people who have contributed to make them all so special.

“There are still several grands prix to go this season, and I will take part in them with more commitment and passion than ever. I want to thank everyone at McLaren. My heart is with the team forever. I know they will come back stronger and better in the future and it could be the right moment for me to be back in the series; that would make me really happy.”

After making his debut at Minardi in 2001, Alonso moved to Renault, first as a test driver, then as a full-time racer. During this period, he scored back-to-back titles in 2005 and 2006, at the time making him the youngest ever world champion. He then headed to his first stint at McLaren in 2007, where he narrowly lost the title to Kimi Raikkonen by one point and was allegedly instrumental in the “Spygate” scandal.

This prompted Alonso’s return to Renault the following year, during which he scored two wins, including the controversial 2008 Singapore Grand Prix. He then spent four years at Ferrari from 2010 onwards, and again just lost out on the championship twice, this time to future Ferrari driver Sebastien Vettel. In 2015, Alonso left for McLaren during the team’s ultimately ill-fated switch to Honda engines. Now with Renault power, he currently lies ninth in the championship with 44 points to his tally.

In recent years, Alonso has branched out to other forms of motorsport, as he sought to capture the Triple Crown of Motorsport – having already won the Monaco Grand Prix twice. He missed the GP last year to race in the Indianapolis 500 and led for 27 laps before retiring late in the race. This year, Alonso embarked on a full World Endurance Championship (WEC) campaign with Toyota, scoring the latter’s first Le Mans win.

“There is a time for everyone to make a change and Fernando has decided the end of this season to be his,” said McLaren Racing CEO Zak Brown. “We respect his decision, even if we believe he is in the finest form of his career. Our open dialogue with Fernando has meant we could plan for this eventuality.

“While evaluating his future during the past months, Fernando’s competitiveness has been undimmed. He has continued to perform at the highest level throughout, as we know he will do in the remaining nine races of this year’s championship. I know that the entire team joins me in paying tribute to Fernando’s enormous contribution to McLaren; he is a legend both for the championship and for the team.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Mr. Octopus on Aug 15, 2018 at 11:46 am

Can you hear the drums Fernando
    I remember long ago another starry night like this
    In the firelight Fernando
    You were humming to yourself and softly strumming your guitar
    I could hear the distant drums
    And sounds of bugle calls were coming from afar
    They were closer now Fernando
    Every hour every minute seemed to last eternally
    I was so afraid Fernando
    We were young and full of life and none of us prepared to die
    And I’m not ashamed to say
    The roar of guns and cannons almost made me cry
    There was something in the air that night
    The stars were bright, Fernando
    They were shining there for you and me
    For liberty, Fernando
    Though I never thought that we could lose
    There’s no regret
    If I had to do the same again
    I would, my friend, Fernando
    If I…

• Mikey on Aug 15, 2018 at 12:13 pm

Fernando Alonso would have been champion more then 2 times “if” he is piloting a competitive machine. No one has doubted his talents & passion in F1.
    Maybe the $$$ offered by McLaren is too tempting to resist hence lost his chances for more glory.
    Does the end justify the means?! Only Fernando can answer the question. All da Best Fernando in your future.

• He went to McLaren when they had been world champs with Mesidis, but then they bait and switch to using pisspoor Jepunis engine thus ending his chance for more glory. Now they switch engine to Renault but Frenchie is no longer world beater anymore unlike their Redbull days. He just got bad luck moving from bad to worse.

• Matchy on Aug 15, 2018 at 1:29 pm

Great driver, but too bad he always join the team when they are under performing.

• arowana on Aug 15, 2018 at 2:31 pm

McLaren has always let him down, therefore it’s better he moves to other race series coz he will never win races in a McLaren

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 15, 2018 at 2:34 pm

Nando is a fantastic driver. Right up there with the best, if not the best driver out there. Sadly, stuck to piloting uncompetitive machines. Its a sad day, when a top athlete has to leave a sport because there is no top team that will take him. F1 is already dying with some processional (dull) races and lack of exciting sound. Now it has been robbed of its great entertainer and World champion. Looks like we only have Kimi left for entertaining radio conversations. Assuming he continues into 2019. If not, then some fans will probably just switch off from F1.

• Kimi is still competent as Vettels sidekick. As long he continues this and dun mind it, Felali will maintain him just like Ruben.

• alldisc on Aug 16, 2018 at 11:16 am

dont forget to thank the FIA alonso, because of new regulations made in the mid 2000s when a set of tyres must last the whole race. you won because of michelin tyres, ferrari lost because of bridgsetones. you cant even beat lewis hamilton and sebastian vettel in the whole 10 years after. even jensen button.

• Nathan on Aug 16, 2018 at 11:37 pm

fernando won twice in 2008 lah, Japanese GP, please correct the article