2018 Toyota Camry launching in Thailand on Oct 29

Toyota Thailand has revealed that the all-new, eighth-generation (XV70) Camry will be launched in the kingdom on October 29, 2018. This comes months after the D-segment sedan was spotted in the country all wrapped up but confirming a departure from the previous two-look strategy.

The teasers posted on the company’s official Facebook page and website do not give away much in terms of details, except for the obvious fact that the Camry rides on the Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA) which also underpins the Prius and C-HR.

As such, information about what will go under the hood remains a mystery for now. Possibilities include a 2.5 litre four-cylinder (A25A-FKS) from Toyota’s Dynamic Force Engine range, which makes 208 PS and 252 Nm, paired to an eight-speed automatic transmission.

A hybrid powertrain is also available for the Camry, also with a Dynamic Force Engine (A25A-FXS) that makes 178 PS and 221 Nm, along with a 120 PS/202 Nm electric motor for a total system output of 211 PS. The e-motor is powered by a lithium-ion/nickel-metal hydride battery, which is now placed beneath the rear seats rather than in the boot for a lower centre of gravity.

Other engine options include the familiar 2.0 litre 6AR-FSE (167 PS/199 Nm) and 2.5 litre 2AR-FXE on the Camry Hybrid (total system output of 205 PS), with both four-cylinder engines currently being offered on Camry models sold in Malaysia. A 2GR-FKS 3.5 litre V6 with 305 PS and 362 Nm can be had in other markets like Australia and the United States, but will most likely be given a miss for the Thailand market.

While the engine line-up isn’t confirmed, the new Camry will come with a bolder styling approach that is emphasised by the ‘Keen Look’ front fascia as well as a revamped interior. There’s also significantly more tech too, with a large suite of safety and driver assist systems available, including autonomous emergency braking, adaptive cruise control and others.

We’ll find out more when the Camry finally makes its launch debut in Thailand in just a few days’ time. How many of you are eagerly waiting for the model to come to Malaysia? Will you prefer it to the latest Honda Accord, its closest rival?

GALLERY: 2018 Toyota Camry SX (Australia spec)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• I prefer Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 29
    • MeToo on Oct 22, 2018 at 1:46 pm

I prefer Proton accordana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
      • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 22, 2018 at 4:08 pm

World’s best selling car just got better. Malaysians are all excited. John pulak is hiding now, don’t know where to hide his face.

• Haslinda on Oct 22, 2018 at 2:02 pm

Of cos. You can continue to drive your lousy garbage Proton car and we will laugh at you while most malaysians drive superior Japanese and Continental cars and we respect each other

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 61
      • Pyraxle on Oct 22, 2018 at 3:00 pm

Respect each other but kutuk each other also dalam hati, full of jealousy. End up wanna look richer than your friends hence hutang sini sana as long as i look rich and cool. I prefer driving proton, kena gelak so what? I live not to please people like you until i have to buy those cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
        • Those family man ada hati up Velfire, Alpard … tp gaji bersih bleh takat Exora jer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
          • Taeeek on Oct 24, 2018 at 12:49 pm

For them, there is always a way out thru #sambungbayar kakakakakaka
            Sebelum raya, kete baru… selepas raya, sambung bayar. Biasalah, nak berlagak lebih suci dari suci padahal… kakakakaka
            Ade kete besar ke kecil, mahal.ke murah. Janji boleh bayar habis and maintain dengan baik. If you have it, flaunt it if not, just sit back and eat Sh!t…

• Local malaysians gotta be way more patriotic, buy & drive safe Proton car proudly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
        • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 22, 2018 at 4:13 pm

This will be a top seller. Habis lah Accordana. Already ZERO sales now and all orders come from the Ministries and Government departments.

Once this car come out, even Gomen will order the Cary

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • casual rider on Oct 22, 2018 at 3:50 pm

respect each other because of the car they drive? is that how you value people?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
        • Out of respect, locals have tasted Japanese reliable car, save fuel and safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
          • nosushi on Oct 22, 2018 at 5:07 pm

Save fuel? Not really
            Safety? Has gone to drain wit tin milo metal sheet and takatagate

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 22, 2018 at 4:17 pm

Hopefully price comes down. Currently we kena ketuk maximum. Camry hybrid in Australia only AUD$27k (RM90k). That also CBU quality

Our caplang Camry Hybrid, despite being CKD, is RM175k. And they try to con us saying this is the tax free price.

Hello tax free is RM90k la

• comparo on Oct 22, 2018 at 5:08 pm

Err why do you compare with those developed countries? Why not compere with thai, indo ?

• Rightwinger on Oct 23, 2018 at 12:39 am

Biasa la, Sama macam compare number of civil servants in Australia tapi tak mention the glaring caveat that produced numbers…. auta not fakta!

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 23, 2018 at 10:42 am

Past Government always say to compare with Western countries to better ourselves. Why compare with Indo and Thai? Like that how to achieve First World status in 2020?

According to previous goreng, in 1 year 2 more months we become first world and every Malaysian will earn USD48k per annum (US4k)… (RM18k) per month

• Becoz in their country, the prices is more exp when convert to RM. Then their argument of cheap cars goes down the drain! Lolz!

• Rightwinger on Oct 23, 2018 at 12:40 am

It’s ok, we know how shallow you people are.

• sir rhys lee on Oct 22, 2018 at 7:17 pm

seriously, given a choice between them, i’d prefer proton over this junk any time of day.

• Steve Teoh on Oct 22, 2018 at 1:01 pm

Thanks Toyota for leaving behind your conservative designs of Camry. The new design is way overdue and looks very promising !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
    • Remember last 10 years my 1st car choise was toyota. But once inside alamak…so old school..bought honda .. this one really shok tgk!

• let me guess, we will still get the old 2.0L engine and not the Dynamic Force Engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • DPCraft on Oct 23, 2018 at 12:12 am

Do you know that the 2.0L is current camry is actually a new 2.0l 167 PS/199 Nm direct injection added in facelift camry 2015. Now compare this with Honda’s 2.0l R-series port injection with 190Nm and 155ps which have been in service from 2007 till now, it’s still being used in latest CR-V and upcoming accord..now THATS ANCIENT.
      But really do hope the new D4S 2.5l will arrive here those are some real nice output for a na 2.5l 4cyc

Fyi Australia’s new camry came with old 2.5l 180ps/235Nm and 6 speed auto. So we might get that too, since we always have the same camry version as their Aurion. Lets hope NOT

• Thailand is looking to get the new series of engines – the old? 2.0, the new 2.5 with 8 speed, and new hybrid engines. This is what was in the press on the 28th October. Final information to be released today.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 22, 2018 at 1:11 pm

Arguably, the new Camry has certainly up the ante in terms of the looks department, dropping the staid and boring looks of the previous ones. Looks better than the new Accord, but the Accord’s trump card remains the new turbo 2.0.

Even the base 1.5 turbo from the civic and CRV should give it decent pep without the road tax penalty here. That seriously adds up over the say 10 year ownership period.

• fanofthisite on Oct 22, 2018 at 1:20 pm

Eagerly waiting arrival of King Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • halloha560-john SDN BHD on Oct 22, 2018 at 1:20 pm

(Like) Toyota Camry (2019)
    (Dislike) Honda Accord (2019)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 27
  • helmi on Oct 22, 2018 at 1:58 pm

I dont want Camry. I want Rav4 2019

• Red jacket on Oct 22, 2018 at 1:58 pm

Pathetic engine output. Where is your turbo, Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • looks nice but quite disappointment in the boot space capacity. The new accord (2018 U.S market)trumps this camry in all interior space and bootspace dimension

• Mr Dorifuto on Oct 22, 2018 at 2:05 pm

Model Camry ini dijadikan teksi semasa saya berada di Saudia tahun lepas. Sudah lama dipasarkan di sana.

• FloZe on Oct 22, 2018 at 2:09 pm

Altima/Teana FTW

• Rayc216 on Oct 22, 2018 at 2:11 pm

2.0L – 167 PS
    2.5L – 160 PS
    ???

• Haidi on Oct 22, 2018 at 2:12 pm

Wait till long long neck. Finally, it’s near.

• Beli Honda Guarantee Happiness on Oct 22, 2018 at 2:40 pm

Honda All New Accord has a sportier design than this hideous thing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 48
    • Haidi on Oct 22, 2018 at 4:56 pm

What?! The new Accord is ugly… I cannot accept its flat face. This new Camry looks a Lexus, luxury yet sporty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • It doesn’t come with android auto or apple carplay. So no thanks.

• What a world. Someone buy a car because of the infotainment system. ;D

• Oh! What a feeling! on Oct 22, 2018 at 3:16 pm

It’s getting uglier with each new generation !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 42
  • No Safety Sense, no buy!

• Haidi on Oct 22, 2018 at 4:58 pm

For sure it’ll have Safety Sense, but might only in the highest specs. (Frust)

• pasal kereta pun mau gaduh…hari hari jam…kereta sudah banyak…should pay extra road tax amount for each second car and above.

• Krn “jepunis” yg heboh2 kat sini, mrk sengaja nak turunkan imej kita. Oleh sbb itu kita gaduh utk mempertahankan maruah kita. Malangnya kita tidak mempunyai teknologi canggih utk tutup mulut “jepunis” yg sgt biadap tu.

• DS SAMMY NEW PKR MEMBER EX MIC on Oct 22, 2018 at 10:44 pm

Adoi i waited so long for this and have settle on with 2018 model. Anyway no regret with the hybrid power cun cun

• Pakulupapito on Oct 22, 2018 at 11:48 pm

When it arrive in Malaysia it will become Toyota Camry O Kurang Manis

• RAJA KAMARUL on Oct 23, 2018 at 7:04 am

I guarantee you the price will be close to RM200k for the top specs. Not RM175k, more like RM198k or higher.

• Haidi on Oct 23, 2018 at 7:34 pm

We pray hard that your words will not come true. (pray) (pray) (pray)

• Mr Hakim on Oct 23, 2018 at 8:16 am

Sure ke this design will come to our country, maybe another old apek look reserved for us.

• BoRui better than this generation Camry