The sporty (or at least sporty-looking) Toyota Hilux TRD Sportivo may rule the roost in the ASEAN region, but Latin America has now gone one better with the introduction of the GR Sport variant at the Sao Paulo International Motor Show. This marks the first application of the Gazoo Racing moniker on a pick-up truck, and is also the first time a Gazoo Racing product has been developed and marketed in the continent.
Built in Zárate, Argentina, the Hilux GR Sport is basically an appearance package applied to the range-topping SRX variant, plus a couple of suspension tweaks designed to improve the truck’s high-speed off-road running. These include stiffer front springs and the fitment of monotube dampers, tailoring the damping curve to improve vehicle control and increase driver confidence without sacrificing comfort or load capacity.
On the outside, Toyota has added various aesthetic flourishes, starting with Gazoo Racing’s trademark black, white and red colour scheme. This extends to the striking triangular side graphics, which are reminiscent of the brand’s racing vehicles and are meant to evoke the motorsport arm’s Waku-Doki spirit.
There’s also a new honeycomb grille with the “Toyota” script, a black bonnet and roof, matte black fender extensions, side steps and GR badging on the front doors and the tailgate. Completing the look are 17-inch aluminium alloy wheels wrapped in all-terrain tyres.
Reminders of the Gazoo Racing brand can also be found inside, such as on the starter button, carpets and embroidered headrests. You’ll also spot the white instrument illumination and a numbered plaque aft of the gearlever to mark the uprated truck’s exclusivity. Power comes from the usual 2.8 litre 1GD-FTV turbodiesel making 177 PS and 450 Nm of torque, paired with a six-speed automatic gearbox and four-wheel drive.
This truck come here, habis lah all others. Even john and Mario also will get heart attack see the sales of Hilux melambung
Excuse me what a earth are u saying. Boleh Tolong Diam John Minum Teh X. You are actually always hating to Ford, Hyundai and other carmakers including BMW, Volkswagen and Volvo as you only like Perodua and Toyota that’s all. You are also actually hurting more about me including you are also hurting more to Fordist and john. Well anyway let’s see in the end of the vehicles Malaysia sales results in 2018.
I have no problems if he wants to butthurt but at least butthurt with facts. Instead he goes butthurting with lies and using fake names. A total A-hole butthurted.
Lolz!
Yup totally it’s true. Anyway let him be. As I mentioned, let’s wait and see what’s the overall result for Malaysia Vehicles Sales in 2018
Wah so Toyota Hilux will sell while other trucks such as Ford Ranger Raptor and Nissan Navarra will be zero sales. This is really strange fact as what you are saying.
Not strange but outright bare faced lies.
Toyota putting their name on the grille. Copying from Ford.
Looks like Toyota has become a “special edition peddler” too….
Should get one of this. Because its T and model GR > Good Resale value. Only increase in value, pls buy for future investment.
I would rather buy property if I’m looking for good investment. I prefer to drive a good car instead.
From common sense of course property is the best for investment. Meanwhile, T Hilux never goes down especially price. Even after 10 years plus for Hilux Vigo which is 1st batch of it can still be selling at RM50k in SNS. IDK why so pricey. Thats why I make a statement saying it is good for investment. LOL.