2019 Toyota Corolla sedan to debut in China on Nov 16

We’ve been waiting for the unveiling of the new Toyota Corolla sedan for some time, ever since the hatchback was introduced in Geneva earlier this year. Well, we won’t have to wait for much longer, as Toyota has confirmed that the twelfth-generation C-segment model will finally debut at the Guangzhou Motor Show on November 16 – where it will also spawn a China-only Levin version.

Details are practically non-existent at this moment, but we’ve already learnt quite a bit from various spyshots and reports. From the development mules we’ve seen, the design will be heavily derived from the hatch – especially at the front end where the slim upper grille, massive lower grille and L-shaped headlights will be practically carried over from its tailgate-wearing twin.

It’ll be more conventional at the rear, with spyshots showing broad two-piece tail lights joined by a broad number plate garnish; these renders by Brazilian publication Auto Esporte show you what the overall design will look like. The images come from a report confirming a few key details about the car.

One of these details is that the sedan will forsake the 1.2 litre turbocharged petrol four-cylinder engine found in the hatchback, leaving the US-market’s 2.0 litre Dynamic Force direct-injected and naturally-aspirated mill to be the sole non-hybrid engine option, although you probably shouldn’t rule out the existing 1.8 litre and 2.0 litre Dual VVT-i engines to soldier on, at least in certain markets.

A hybrid model will also make its way to the Corolla sedan for the first time outside China, Toyota confirmed in August. This means that the four-door will feature at least one of the hatchback’s two hybrid powertrains, which are available with 1.8 or 2.0 litre petrol engines. Just like its hatch and wagon siblings, the new Corolla sedan will ride on the modular Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA).

GALLERY: 2019 Toyota Corolla sedan spyshots

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• winrar on Nov 09, 2018 at 1:22 pm

new Altis MY debut @ KLIMS

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:09 pm

Once this car comes to Malaysia, habis lah all the Civics and X70s. This will be a hot seller. No wonder all the anti Toyota fanboys like john and mario are hiding today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 72
      • boooo on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:47 pm

Pipu ady go for turbocharged 1.0 engine with powerful output, not lame, outdated dinosaur and fuel thirsty 1.8 and 2.0 litre engine like toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
        • The T-virus Way on Nov 11, 2018 at 10:51 am

Is alright. Malaysians just demand for more TRD stickers and different body-styling

• Commando on Nov 09, 2018 at 3:30 pm

John and his gangs are busy bashing the Gov, keep harping on the AP issue to stir hatred so that they can keep their jobs. Btw, nice job on the new Altis.

• Wanted: John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 09, 2018 at 3:59 pm

To Paul tan.org members should ban this John Minum Teh 8X. Cause John Minum Teh 8X is talking fake news and bullies others

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • Civic 1.5T qualifies for petrol subsidy. Altis dinosaur 1.8 engine does not. New Altis will be another failure.

• Mario Crying like Newborn baby on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:25 pm

This car looks so good and sexy. Wow!!!!

You already got my deposit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • applegreen on Nov 09, 2018 at 3:05 pm

Nak tunggu camry masuk malaysia pun berjanggut kena tunggu, inikan pula altis

• suomynona on Nov 09, 2018 at 1:33 pm

I expected more from the rear

• Rightwinger on Nov 09, 2018 at 1:46 pm

if the production model is exactly like the picture, then for the first time, a Corolla that’s kind of pleasant to the eyes.

• Ah beng Level 2 on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:00 pm

Existing model more sporting look, tis new TNGA gone soft esp C Pillar and rear

• Sohai (not ori) on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:03 pm

C pillar design looks like old Ford Mondeo alamak

• Ong Wai Cheong on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:45 pm

Mean while Toyota Altlis continue to sell ten more year in Malaysia with Dual VVVVVVVVVVTI…….

• benzs on Nov 09, 2018 at 3:38 pm

Dear T.

Rear end of new Sedan should be fastback style. Your New T.Corolla seems to look like previous gen body some more. Japanese gen Y is getting less due to population is getting low especially new born each year in Japan. This has impact productivity and that’s why Toyota is encouraging new Gen Y to like and build their passion in car. Honda is different story, much more younger look with more RnD. Look at Perodua Myvi 1st and 2nd Gen which uses Sirion/Boon/Passo. Japan did not allowed much for Perodua to evolve. Until 3rd Gen, Japan just approved Malaysian to design and the result is massive. Even Sirion in Indonesia is rebadge our current Myvi. It seems Perodua team is full with soul and enthusiast in design. T, please let younger Gen to design. Your car is getting bored.

• Freddy on Nov 09, 2018 at 5:08 pm

Toyota still full of old people designing their cars while Honda designers are a international team of young designers. So shame for Toyota.

• Handsome sedan, will age well too,

but the hatch is stunning

• Honda Salesman Celup john on Nov 09, 2018 at 5:18 pm

Habis la Civic!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 34
    • sack the designer on Nov 11, 2018 at 6:09 pm

First we got ketam rear, now we got catfish face. Sack the designers!

• Idin28 on Nov 09, 2018 at 7:57 pm

Typical n boring….i am expecting more

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 10, 2018 at 12:54 pm

i tunggu mazda 3

• Don’t expect much when is coming to Malaysia, sure cut cut cut this n that, but price remain..cause it had happened on vios, we don’t had front defrost on Vios model compare to the Taiwan model.. so the point is are we paying cheaper compare it with then Taiwan model? Answer are no, u only get less things but pay more..

• stastasta on Nov 13, 2018 at 10:21 am

why we need defrost on front windscreen ? when was the last time u saw snow or ice in malaysia ? stupid basher really nothing else to bash .

• Mike Khoh on Nov 15, 2018 at 9:42 am

Umw sure give old engine technology. Wana profit more