Cars stall on highway after refueling – Petronas issues statement over incident at its Solaris Besraya station

More than 20 vehicles were left stranded by the roadside on the Sungai Besi Highway earlier today following an incident triggered by a suspected fuel contamination to the petrol. The mass breakdown occurred after the vehicles were refueled at the Petronas Solaris Besraya station situated along the highway.

According to reports, the vehicles were said to have encountered issues upon leaving the station, with engines stalling in all cases. The incident was picked up by road users, who then posted it on social media pages. Initial speculation was that the petrol in the underground storage tank at the station had been compromised by diesel, but there is now talk of water being the culprit.

Petronas Dagangan has issued an apology and said it was investigating the incident. Here’s the statement in full.

Petronas Dagangan Berhad (PDB) regrets to inform that approximately 20 cars were affected after fueling at the Petronas Station Solaris Besraya this morning.

We take this matter seriously and sincerely apologise to all our customers for the inconveniences this has caused. We are already in contact with the affected customers, taking the necessary measures and will compensate them accordingly.

Our initial assessment indicates that this is due to product mishandling that happened only at this particular station. Petronas Station Solaris Besraya is now temporarily closed as we continue our investigations.

We assure that other Pertonas stations are not affected. We take full responsibility of this serious matter and we apologise once again.

Thank you.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Again on Dec 28, 2018 at 3:00 pm

Could be the same issue of water seeping into the underground fuel tanks in the petrol station at Jalan Gasing, PJ a few years ago. Still, it is the responsibility of the petrol station and they should compensate vehicle owners accordingly if there is any engine, fuel tank, injector damage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
    • Projohns stall on highway on Dec 28, 2018 at 3:17 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 173
      • Kantoied but Still Wanna Defend on Dec 28, 2018 at 4:51 pm

20 Protons in sequence? Were that many Protons on the road? Weren’t you telling us that Proton car numbers are going down?

Either your logic then was wrong or your logic now is wrong. Which is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
        • policeman on Dec 28, 2018 at 6:06 pm

Come Jan 1, KPDNHEP must check this petrol station isnt closed. unless gulung tikar

• basher said on Dec 28, 2018 at 7:27 pm

Hahaha tried very hard to badmouth proton. Your overlord paid you how much?

• Arshad on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:54 am

Admire Petronas for admitting their mistake. Now they should buy 20 brand new cars for the owners. Flushing won’t help.

Do the honourable thing Petronas. As for me, no more Petronas from now on

• I heard 2 kupang for every comment and 1 kupang for every like he gets, so u knowlor what he do multiple times.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 28, 2018 at 8:36 pm

What is Bumipeda doing to help this station out? They seem to be making a lot of noise about petrol stock and threatening the country about fuel stock in Jan 1 but they hardly help Petrol Station owners who have other problems.

• Yusof Zain on Dec 28, 2018 at 9:31 pm

Just like Proton, you can rest assured Petronas will cover this issue up.

I hope PDRM investigate this matter and fine Petornas

• P2 Salesman sohai on Dec 28, 2018 at 4:55 pm

You are the problem, why need to relate this to Proton? No relation at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • Iqbal on Dec 28, 2018 at 5:55 pm

not related at all. you can see there is honda city, kia citra and myvi stranded as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • Ahh, I see you just met our resident troll with the many dupes who makes up fail-rytales. U can just ignore his bollocks.

• Banglaman on Dec 28, 2018 at 7:57 pm

Rainy days, my country man forgot to put back underground storage tank cover ??

• Gabriel on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:55 am

Bmw porsche dun go petronas. Prefers bhp

• Nice bait, with a name to boot as well Projohns

• redpilled on Dec 28, 2018 at 4:09 pm

Correct.

• paknil on Dec 28, 2018 at 6:09 pm

Correct. Pipel prefers Petronas 3x Mata Ganjaran Terbaik! untuk setiap liter diesel.

• YB Albert minum Teh sekali saja on Dec 28, 2018 at 4:42 pm

We hope this is not sabotage due to losses the operator has to incur come Jan 1.Are there not gauges to detect leakages or contamination?Come on, Mr.Petronas…this is unacceptable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • redpilled on Dec 28, 2018 at 5:52 pm

Shows you know nothing but want to act like you know everything…. Petro dealers this and that wrong and malas la, all sorts of accusations as if you’re the expert on the subject, but don’t know if there are “gauges to detect leakages or contamination?”…

Just stfu about something you don’t know about.

Kalau dah tak tahu, buat cara tak tahu, jangan nak memandai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 26
        • noname on Dec 28, 2018 at 7:26 pm

redpilled, you keje kat Petronas mana??

• dtctr on Dec 30, 2018 at 9:56 pm

noname, you keje utk overlord mana? Berapa you dapat?

• redpilled Sohai level 10 on Dec 28, 2018 at 9:25 pm

Shows you know nothing but want to act like you know everything…. scolding people like if you’re the expert on the subject, but don’t know anything about it…

Just stfu about something you don’t know about.

Kalau dah tak tahu, buat cara tak tahu, jangan nak memandai.

• Kinta Kunte on Dec 31, 2018 at 9:17 am

U should stfu..spewing toxins.YB Or any forum contributor can say anything,as long as it is not racial or riot causing.Tun said we r free to express.u must be from bandit regime who oppress n suppress.

• Iqbal on Dec 28, 2018 at 5:52 pm

That’s wht concerning me too. I hope nothing fishy is going on

• Brian on Dec 28, 2018 at 6:43 pm

Mr.Petronas…gotta change stesen color Green. Proton got new light blue, doin Ohsem now!

• lilytan on Dec 28, 2018 at 3:19 pm

Fuel of the F1 champ. Not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Kekanda on Dec 28, 2018 at 5:47 pm

Adinda, they’re testing it on our cars for next F1 season. Apparently P1 engine can’t cope. Now everyone is having a sleepless night

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
      • nosushi on Dec 30, 2018 at 9:58 pm

Jepunis engine is not reliable as before, not fuel save too

• Calvin Teoh on Dec 28, 2018 at 3:25 pm

I used to be one of PETRONAS loyal user until my car stalled middle of the main road in KL & have to called the towing service, after this incident I dare not use PETRONAS fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 29
    • Ultimate Rugal on Dec 28, 2018 at 3:31 pm

The owner of the petrol station is responsible for such incident. Not Petronas at whole.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
      • The owner of the petrol station is Petronas Dagangan in this case. Not the station operator.

• Car Guy on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:23 am

Because of the fuel or your car had some issue?

• Joachim Lee on Dec 29, 2018 at 5:51 pm

I don’t think Petronas fuel as a whole is the problem. It is also known by petrol dealers (of all brands) that there is a likely hood that the tanker drivers can syphon off fuel and mix it with all sorts. This is the responsibility of Petronas and not the dealer. The tanks in the station may also get contaminated.
      So pending investigation, it could be anyone’s fault. Petronas has a fleet monitoring system and they need to enhance it

• Unknown on Dec 28, 2018 at 3:44 pm

Tried Petron once last month. My car died after few hundred meters, thanks to diesel contamination. Petron refuses to acknowledge guilt and my lawyer told me not to bring it to court due to their people of influence now. I will never pump Petron EVER!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
  • samad on Dec 28, 2018 at 4:35 pm

Seen many occasions Bangla workers going down the tangki storage area and coming up with buckets of water.
    Scary that this is happening and hope
    Petronas reviews its QC SOP.

• Engineer on Dec 28, 2018 at 4:48 pm

That’s not water but fuel samples. They need to bring back for lab checks in every delivery made.

• samad on Dec 28, 2018 at 5:08 pm

Nope
        They poured the excess water at the side
        after the tanker left.
        USJ 20 Petronas/KFC
        Frequent user

• Engineer on Dec 28, 2018 at 6:26 pm

Are you sure what you really did see? There’s nothing down there except fuel oil.

What they brought up always is fuel samples from the tank to bring back for lab analysis. This is for checks to ensure no mix-up between the fuel grades and to detect diesel contamination & water content.

• redpilled on Dec 28, 2018 at 5:41 pm

Did you ask them what they were doing, or are you just making assumptions about something alien to you?

They were prolly removing rainwater from the STP sump as per SOP.

• Oil should be on top water below if mix. How they scoop water with bucket then?

• Leafable on Dec 28, 2018 at 5:10 pm

God bless social media. Electric car is the future baby!!!

• john sim on Dec 28, 2018 at 5:27 pm

I personally kena before. Water inside petrol. Back then i was driving proton waja and whole engine got to overhaul.

• Don Zercon on Dec 28, 2018 at 6:24 pm

Petronas is the problem. In April 2018 my daughter’s car stalled 50 metres away from Petronas Station in Subang Bestari after filling petrol. Her car was towed to a workshop and the mechanic confirmed the petrol was contaminated with diesel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
      • Chavez on Dec 28, 2018 at 6:44 pm

All brands are susceptible, not just Petronas. Read the feedback from a Petron user above, the same case as you.

• Boleh boleh boleh on Dec 28, 2018 at 6:05 pm

Msia BOLEH, SEMUA BOLEH IN BOLEH LAND..

• malaysia baru on Dec 28, 2018 at 6:53 pm

ini semua salah lim guan eng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Naranjan on Dec 28, 2018 at 7:16 pm

There has to be daily stock take and again when delivery is made. There is also water test using dip stick. If not mistaken there is also digital calculations ie stock minus sale. What happened then

• Mr Hakim on Dec 28, 2018 at 9:43 pm

That very morning I just pump in fuel on BHP just few meters in front of the station! Thank God I missed the newly built entrance that why I went for BHP.

• Unemployed on Dec 28, 2018 at 9:57 pm

Lol, next time stop hiring Bangladeshi workers…

• Sammy Loo on Dec 28, 2018 at 11:21 pm

thats why u all need to get hybrid car, can mix petrol and diesel

• Petroman on Dec 29, 2018 at 1:46 am

Diesel was discharged into Petrol tank?

• This champion brand brings problems to several car last few years at Samarahan area..water is the culprit due to rainy season..is that a good excuse?from that moment I used only “kerang ” brand which still have the quality..

• Never trust petronas ever since i refuelled RM10 with no readings top-up indication from my car. I was told car problem by the foreign labor. It has happened twice. Suspect that petrol was mixed with lighter gas components.

• I think petrol stations are disposing their stock. Come 1st January, new lower price. Petrol Dealers rugi lo….

• Sorry je on Dec 29, 2018 at 11:01 am

Sorry is not going to fix the car

• Harimao on Dec 29, 2018 at 5:10 pm

What so jialat! Marhaen citizen pump cheap one but get farkin sai!!
    Petrongok S.O.P farkin sai also, CEO and their ahli lembaga hantu pls resign, salary each them so expensive nvr get care of marhaen prblm!
    Mamak Kuda tua also need to resign, you also give farkin sai to the people..

• Ben Yap on Dec 29, 2018 at 6:01 pm

Lifetime free fuel as compensation!

• Freemax on Dec 29, 2018 at 10:39 pm

Today petronas no people, shell full house, I pump petron, bhp tak boleh pakai.

• JK jr on Dec 30, 2018 at 7:26 am

What all the fuss about petronas or proton. Its a leakage in ONE petrol station. I do not broken down cars littered after every petronas station. And surely it there are a lot of protons on the road and all have to fill up once in a while. Just some unfortunate enough to fill up at the wrong place at the wrong time. At least I had some interesting reading.

• Petronas fuel has always been garbage. Anyone with experience with performance cars will know this first hand.