Hyundai Tucson N reportedly on the way with 340 hp

Hyundai will reportedly add another model to its line-up of N performance vehicles with the Tucson N, according to Auto Express. The Tucson N, which is claimed to arrive within the next two years , will join other stablemates like the i30 N, Veloster N and forthcoming i20 N.

Insiders say the performance SUV will pack at least 340 hp, with a zero to 100 km/h time of below six seconds. Beyond that, there’s not a whole lot of information about the model that will compete against the Cupra Ateca, Audi SQ5 and upcoming Volkswagen T-Roc R.

On a related note, Hyundai is also looking to add a halo car to its N division that will serve as prove of intent. It’s not certain what platform this vehicle will use, but Hyundai development mules have been sighted with four-wheel drive and a revamped version of the i30 N’s gearbox.

An alternative option also being studied is an all-new architecture with a full electric powertrain. Whatever happens, it’s clear the company wants its N cars to be taken seriously, with sources saying Hyundai is “not interested in making also-ran cars with N badges on them in whatever class they compete.”

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Roti john Sdn Bhd on Feb 04, 2019 at 10:29 am

The real game changer! Habisla X70!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 30
    • Mario and Bros on Feb 04, 2019 at 11:44 am

Paultan.Org, Pls ban this Roti john Sdn Bhd (John Minum Teh 8X) and his over 50 dupes. Everyone and including me are already fed up of John Minum Teh 8X in which he always come to every articles on Paul tan and talk discriminating about Proton. Not only that, John Minum Teh 8X also talk trash and talk big liars about Proton articles. As I seen in every articles even though I didn’t type in Paul tan articles for quite a while, I already know that he is always coming from Honda Salesman, Nissan Salesman and P2 Salesman as I seen many feedbacks from many other users in paultan.org website

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Mario and Bros on Feb 04, 2019 at 11:49 am

Don’t forget, John Minum Teh 8X also talk bad mouth about BMW, Volvo, Toyota, Ford, Mazda, Geely, Mercedes and other carmakers. Again as I mentioned, John Minum Teh 8X is seriously coming from P2 Salesman, Honda Salesman and Nissan salesman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Legend on Feb 04, 2019 at 12:47 pm

Jangan2 Proton comes up with X70 GTi

• Hello Audi, oh wai…

• But in Bolehland, the rich can afford this but pronounce it as ‘Tak San’ lmao…

How?

• Untung Manyak Wang on Feb 04, 2019 at 3:11 pm

Evo X engine: Mitsubishi 4B11(based on GEMA 2.0L)

Optima GT engine: Hyundai Theta II -series (based on GEMA 2.0L)

i30 N engine: Hyundai Theta II – series GDI (1.2 bar, 275ps)

:p

• Autobahn on Feb 04, 2019 at 3:54 pm

Nice..so the optima gt is using an improved mitsu evo engine that is more fuel efficient, compliant to euro emission and sold at half the price of evo.

• Who asked for such a thing? There is a reason why there isn’t a Forester XT anymore or plans for a Tiguan GTI you know. People want SUVs for sensible driving!