2020 Toyota RAV4 TRD Off-Road unveiled in Chicago

Most SUV owners will not take their vehicles off-road, but Toyota is looking to change that with the new RAV4 TRD Off-Road at this year’s Chicago Auto Show. The new model is based on the Adventure grade available in the United States, but with a good helping of TRD parts inspired by its RAV4 rally car.

First up, there’s a dedicated suspension setup that is engineered to enhance body control and small-bump isolation to provide a smoother ride on rough trails/streets. The package includes red coil springs that are better focused for off-road duties, while the twin-tube shocks are revalved and carry new springs to improve rebound control.

Other add-ons include new bump stops to maximize compression direction wheel travel, as well as help improve body control over large bumps and dips. A set of flow-formed 18-inch TRD alloy wheels in matte black is also new here, and comes paired with a set of Falken Wildpeak A/T Trail all-terrain tyres.

The company says these tyres feature a unique tread pattern and compound developed specifically to TRD technical requirements, which includes a square shoulder design to protect against punctures,. They are also severe snow rated with open shoulder grooving to shed debris, mud and snow.

The RAV4 TRD Off-Road is available in a two-tone paintjob consisting of a Magnetic Grey Metallic body with Ice Edge roof, accented by dark grey front and rear lower fascias. Alternatives include Midnight Black or Lunar Rock, both available with the white roof, or Ruby Flare Pearl and Super White.

Inside, red accents are present throughout the cabin, which uses SofTex on the seat surfaces. The material is lighter than leather but highly durable, which is fitting for the rugged nature of the vehicle, including TRD all-weather floor mats. A good amount of TRD branding is also present, like the stitching on the front seat headrests.

No changes under the bonnet, with the Dynamic Force 2.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder engine delivering 203 hp and 249 Nm of torque. The mill is linked to an eight-speed Direct Shift eight-speed automatic transmission and Dynamic Torque Vectoring All-Wheel Drive (TV-AWD) with Rear Driveline Disconnect.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 08, 2019 at 5:34 pm

Wow such a beauty. Somemore with a reliable Toyota engine.

Nevermind if Malaysians cannot get this car, we still can benefit from our Perodua Aruz which also uses a world renowned Toyota engine.

Lucky Malaysians now can own a Toyota Rush for a mere RM72k with our new Aruz!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 19
    • Copy Paste on Feb 08, 2019 at 9:05 pm

Copy paste: “Japan hardwork, Toyota hardwork, lazy P2 fanbois just only can tumpang glamour.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
      • Rahim on Feb 09, 2019 at 11:14 am

This sounds like Proton X70. China did all the work. Proton just goyang kaki and claim glamour. I wonder what Proton learnt 30 years from Mitsubishi? Mitsubishi tried to tranfer technology but Proton staff could not faham

• Tekong ulu rompin on Feb 08, 2019 at 11:08 pm

Exactly YB. This long weekend i went bak balik kampung , saw many Msian family in their Toyota MPVs… Velfire, Estima, Fortuner, Wish, Innova, Rush, Avanza, Alza you name it…

The best thing, my relatives can proudly park their brand new Toyota Camry and Harrier right in front the bridegroom house compound. Best gilerrr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
      • Unknown on Feb 09, 2019 at 1:27 am

It’s so sad to see how you resort to creating fake accounts and fake stories to reply yourself when everyone else had ignored you. The depths of human loneliness & madness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 46
        • His take on Toyota Rush and new Aruz is reliable and not fake story. Is car related and this is autoblog site , chill Unknown bro.

• Engineer on Feb 11, 2019 at 2:05 pm

Yeah right. You think we don’t know that Rush is not on sale in Japan as he so claimed? Or the engine used is not on any Toyota JDM models? We are here because we are car enthusiasts, we know all these things, so by claiming those are available in Japan is smack of pure BS lies. Does he think we are all stupid to believe him?

• Rahim on Feb 09, 2019 at 10:58 am

Yes john, we also know about your 50 dupes here. Don’t comment about others when you are the SAME too

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 09, 2019 at 11:10 am

Everybody knows that during Hari Raya holidays, rentals of luxury vehicles berlambung.

Even PT has written an article about how during raya holidays, thousands of people rent luxury cars just to go back to their kampung and show the kampung folks they have made it in the bandar.

Surprisingly, many of these renters are Proton owners. I wonder why they are not proud to drive their Proton back to the kampung and be proud of it.

https://paultan.org/2018/06/13/rakyat-spending-millions-on-luxury-car-rental-this-raya/

• John Minum Teh 8X Lingerie on Feb 09, 2019 at 11:23 am

No. Tekong ulu rompin is not absolutely linked to YB Kunta Kinte and his 50 dupes.

• John Bin Palat on Feb 09, 2019 at 11:30 am

Proton owners generally like to park far far away from the kenduri house

• Becoz P1 owners r more considerate to their kenduri hosts and not being obnoxious and lazy by parking smack right in front of their host houses?

• Features and torque less than X70 but selling 170k if launch in Malaysia.

• Hypopothamuses on Feb 08, 2019 at 6:38 pm

(Like) Toyota RAV4 and Proton X70
    (Dislike) Nissan Xtrail and Honda CRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • John Bin Palat on Feb 09, 2019 at 11:31 am

I think now Aruz is the best seller SUV in Malaysia!!!

• Celup King on Feb 11, 2019 at 3:27 pm

At 1,000 vs 2,777 for Proton X70? Is this another fake news?

• Truckers on Feb 08, 2019 at 6:48 pm

“No changes under the bonnet” PASS!!!
    Just another bodykit addon with some shiok sendiri shocks. This doesn’t look like it will last a Cameron Highlands trail run.

• No changes under the bonnet, with the Dynamic Force 2.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder engine delivering 203 hp and 249 Nm of torque. The mill is linked to an eight-speed Direct Shift eight-speed automatic transmission and Dynamic Torque Vectoring All-Wheel Drive (TV-AWD) with Rear Driveline Disconnect.
      Its not 150hp and not a CVT. What else did you want?

• 170k worth it?

• Truckers on Feb 10, 2019 at 1:27 pm

How about a 2.5L diesel engine with an 8 speed manual with Hi-Lo selector for starts? And I still have low confidence in that relatively low ground clearance for a 4WD.

• RAV4 no resale value that’s why not bring in Malaysia. 60k mileage RAV4 only cost RM57k.

• very very nice interior…par with bmw,merc,lexus

• PhatJoe on Feb 11, 2019 at 9:39 am

Meh…the headlamp looks like C-RV.

• DeeKay on Feb 14, 2019 at 9:09 am

From that 3/4 front view, it looks a bit like the current 2018 Subaru XV