Feb 2019 week four fuel price – petrol up 10 sen

It’s Friday, which means it’s fuel price update time. No third time lucky, and this will be a third week of increases in pump prices. But while it went up one sen last week, it’s 10 sen this week.

From tomorrow, February 23, RON 95 will be priced at RM2.08 per litre (up 10 sen from RM1.98 last week), while RON 97 will go for RM2.38 per litre (also up 10 sen from RM2.28 last week). As for Euro 2M diesel, it continues to be priced at RM2.18 per litre, while Euro 5 diesel, which is always 10 sen more than standard diesel, remains at RM2.28 per litre.

The finance ministry says that this week’s increase is brought about by the increase in average costs of the refined product in the global market – from last week’s US$63.11 to US$66.91 a barrel.

For diesel, the average refined product cost jumped from US$74.38 to US$79.11 per barrel, an even bigger increase than that of petrol. The ministry says that the actual pump price of diesel would be RM2.33 per litre, but for the ceiling price of RM2.18 set by the government. The ceiling price for RON 95 is RM2.20 per litre.

These prices will be in effect until March 1, when the next set of fuel price adjustments will be announced. This is the eighth week of the weekly fuel price format, which is set to be announced every Friday. The prices will be effective from Saturday until the following Friday.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sean c. on Feb 22, 2019 at 4:26 pm

Malaysians should be thankful because the gov already gave them BSH. They can use the BSH to pay the petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 38
    • Mr 1.50 on Feb 22, 2019 at 5:18 pm

Yep.Up or down, better own a car with good FC.
      Civic 1.5T efficient Power of dreams.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 45
      • Jurier on Feb 22, 2019 at 5:42 pm

Good fc means car with hybrid technology, not all by fuel. All cars with all by-fuel can’t be consider as a car with good fc. Only hybrid cars are good fc. Understand??

• The Truth About Our Clean Government on Feb 23, 2019 at 11:28 am

Malaysia is giving us cheap petrol. I am grateful.

Everything cheap now. No GST, my food prices in supermarket also so low now

Cars also cheaper now

Broadband also 300Mbps for RM130. If follow old style, now I pay RM500 for 300Mpbs.

Such a good Government!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
        • Ahmadsnr on Feb 23, 2019 at 12:28 pm

Hahaha! Gud one bro!

• Copy Paste on Feb 24, 2019 at 6:19 pm

Copy paste: “Sigh…. all politician the same, honestly when comes to PRU, all party will throw a lot of promises but in the end only 1 / 2 promises will be kept… MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!”

• Brian on Feb 25, 2019 at 11:01 am

Such a good bootlicker, but why no name? Not dare is it?
          Sickens me to the stomach that these people are in the Government now. We don’t need a Government with mercenaries cheerleaders!

• The Truth About Our Clean Government on Feb 23, 2019 at 11:29 am

60 years of corruption, we were paying RM2.70 per liter of petrol despite Malaysia being an oil producing nation

Lucky petrol is cheap now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • John Banyak Malu on Feb 23, 2019 at 3:34 pm

Where is the fake troll that says Malaysia has the cheapest petrol in the world and cheapest car prices in the world?

• Hazmin on Feb 24, 2019 at 10:46 am

I hope the fake guy does not come here again and ask RM1.50/L petrol MANA?

This is FAKE NEWS. Tun Mahathir dah confirm fake news

• John Bodoh on Feb 25, 2019 at 10:39 am

John should just berambus from this site. It is clear that people here do not like to see a frustrated BN cybertrooper posting fake news

• Copy Paste on Feb 25, 2019 at 3:03 pm

Copy paste: “Pakatan Harapan’s lofty election promises were to break Barisan Nasional’s hold on the country and its people. But the pledges have returned to haunt it.” -THE STAR 17 Feb 2019

• Copy Paste on Feb 25, 2019 at 2:58 pm

Copy paste: “NNCP is also not in the manifesto but they have already dropped RM20million into this black hole despite everyone’s very vocal misgivings, and they will continue to drop more of our money into this dumb idea.

Still want to argue what is or what is not relevant in the manifesto? Didn’t Tun said that nothing inside the manifesto is set in stone? A promise is a promise and should be kept! Why did we vote in these lying politicians?!”

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 22, 2019 at 6:23 pm

I am very happy to pay more for petrol because I know that every sen extra the Government collects goes to rebuilding the country and making our schools and hospitals better.

Unlike before where money goes into a few pockets!

• Copy Paste on Feb 25, 2019 at 3:00 pm

Copy paste: “That’s good to hear! Let’s all petition that PH followers pay the extra prices so that your government can fulfill their promises of reducing petrol prices down to Rm1.50 per liter for the rest of us rakyat. How about getting things right for once?”

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 22, 2019 at 6:25 pm

I hope our regular troll john does not come here again with his 20 dupes and ask RM1.50/l petrol mana?

Tun Mahathir already held a press conference saying it is FAKE news. He said PH never promised in their manifesto RM1.50/L petrol.

I rather believe a distinguished statesman like Tun than a keyboard warrior that is frustrated in life.

• Copy Paste on Feb 25, 2019 at 2:58 pm

Copy paste: “NNCP is also not in the manifesto but they have already dropped RM20million into this black hole despite everyone’s very vocal misgivings, and they will continue to drop more of our money into this dumb idea.

Still want to argue what is or what is not relevant in the manifesto? Didn’t Tun said that nothing inside the manifesto is set in stone? A promise is a promise and should be kept! Why did we vote in these lying politicians?!”

• Copy Paste on Feb 25, 2019 at 2:59 pm

Copy paste: “He also told us he never knew about the lopsided toll concession deals despite his signatures on all these contracts. Yeah sure, we believed him. Well, not anymore.”

• John Bin Palat on Feb 22, 2019 at 6:27 pm

Don’t worry, our petrol is still cheap. If follow the previous corrupted regime, today it will be RM3.10 per litre.

• Copy Paste on Feb 25, 2019 at 3:02 pm

Copy paste: “I dont mind paying that RM 3.10 per liter, I would have gotten MRT3, 4, 5, etc, LRT3, 4, 5, etc, and LRTs in Penang, Melaka, and Sarawak. Now I pay Rm 1.00 less but I got NNCP instead that will eat more of my money and clog the jam-filled roads. My health suffers, my wallet sufers. So if given the second chance, I would have gladly went for the old regime, thank you very much.”

• John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Feb 23, 2019 at 11:08 am

I hope got no fake news that Government is stealing our money. Global prices gone up!!!

• Question to Ponder???? on Feb 23, 2019 at 3:01 pm

I think our petrol could be even more cheaper. It is just that our Government now has to save as much money to compensate all the money that was stolen the past 20 yrs.

• manifestotototo on Feb 22, 2019 at 4:39 pm

MANA PRICING MECHANISM? MANA? MANA?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 6
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 22, 2019 at 6:26 pm

During the corrupted regime you never asked, now you are asking.

• He is a BN cybertrooper. Dedak has made him very stupid one on Feb 25, 2019 at 5:23 pm

manifestotototo budak bangang

• Angry Voters on Feb 25, 2019 at 9:59 pm

So your shouting about the current regime being clean was just a farce after all?! You lot are even worse than the corrupted regime!

• John Bin Palat on Feb 22, 2019 at 6:30 pm

Now no more dedak, all the BN cybertroopers will come here in anger to condemn this increase

Hello, world price increase lah braders.

• Copy Paste on Feb 25, 2019 at 3:04 pm

Copy paste: “Why go up??? Global oil price down below USD 60.00 , all sorts of reason, as if the rakyat are stupid, no human rights”

• Maynard Keynes on Feb 22, 2019 at 7:16 pm

MANA? Dalam Birkin cik Rose kutt

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Feb 22, 2019 at 9:12 pm

Thank you PH. At least I can use RON97 for almost 2 months already

• Shameless Pirate Ku on Feb 22, 2019 at 5:11 pm

Holy Macaroni! Up ten sen a liter, tomorrow have to skip eating Nasi Briyanee 10¢.

• Korean Fan on Feb 22, 2019 at 7:32 pm

Up ten sen je ape malu beb.

Janji weekend bleh bawak awek njoi Starbaks Rm17, Korea fried chicken Rm70… Yolo ahaks

• Jib&Jho on Feb 22, 2019 at 10:44 pm

Nasi Briyanee 10¢. Let we belanjaq hang

• Safety First on Feb 23, 2019 at 9:11 am

Time for Macaron Yellow Safety Vest to come here! Arise the people!

• Gabriel on Feb 22, 2019 at 5:15 pm

Goods’ prices are going up and now this.
    Need to change the Finance Minister. Need to find a real accountant and not a provisional one.
    Sigh..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 13
  • Cheong Sing Cheong on Feb 22, 2019 at 5:19 pm

Why go up??? Global oil price down below USD 60.00 , all sorts of reason, as if the rakyat are stupid, no human rights

• Pedoq on Feb 22, 2019 at 6:09 pm

Rindu kerajaan BN memerintah

• I bet the gomen gonna reduce the price next week prior to PRK Semenyih.

• toyotafan on Feb 22, 2019 at 6:35 pm

The pricing mechanism is same as before. Except that you wont here the Petrol Dealers Association complaining about being shortchanged.

No, its not due to the increase in commission.

Its due to the fact that petrol prices is 2 weeks behind the current price. Hence, the dealers know there won’t be caught unawares.

Didn’t you guys realise it?

• Daddykasi on Feb 22, 2019 at 7:00 pm

Calculated by provisional accountant

• Mahacai on Feb 22, 2019 at 8:15 pm

Syukur.. Lim Guan Eng akauntan terbaik dunia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Pak cik on Feb 23, 2019 at 9:25 am

Hahaha! Gud one bro! Syukur…rakyat Malaysia!

1. RM50 pas perjalanan tanpa had MRT, LRT, Monorel, BRT, bas Rapid
      2. Kad subsidi RON95 30¢ seliter
      3. Diskaun 20% tambang KTM
      4. Abolish bike tol kat 2nd Link

Banyaq lagihh!

• lolpanda on Feb 22, 2019 at 9:47 pm

Petrol station owner now book USA holiday trip. Lolz!

• Sick & Tired on Feb 22, 2019 at 10:25 pm

Janji lagi dicapati b055kurrr

• HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!

• vVivi Zurianti on Feb 22, 2019 at 10:57 pm

Petrol price come down, just measly down few cents…
    Petrol price come up, straight up 10 cents……

I oso wanna be petrol station operator in Mesia. Sure untung kaw-kaw. Protected and guaranteed untung by the Govt…

• Naw, be PH politicians better. They can untung kaw-kaw together-gether with the petrol operators and shift the blame for high prices to the previous Gohmen. Everything cleanly done, since they are very clean.

• Amran on Feb 25, 2019 at 9:36 am

Harga turun pentaksub membodek kerajaan. Harga dah naik, kenapa tak marah kerajaan? Dulu harga turun, skrng dah naik. Dulu harga kereta dan motor turun, skrng harga dah naik mendadak.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 25, 2019 at 9:42 am

Up 6sen, down 5sen, up 4sen, up 1sen, up 10sen meant PH Govt untung bersih 16sen per liter. We are being robbed in broad daylight by the King of Thieves!!!

This time there’s nobody to “save” us! We have condemned our saviour into the slammers. We have no one but ourselves to blamed and only ourselves can be counted to arise from this hopeless situation!!!