Niu e-scooters now in Malaysia – priced at RM8,800

First entering the global market in 2016, Niu electric scooters are now in Malaysia, and priced at RM8,800, including road tax, insurance and registration. Imported into Malaysia by MForce Bike Holding, the Niu N-Series has been launched as an introductory model.

The Niu is road legal in Malaysia and is powered by a 29 Ah Panasonic battery that weighs 10 kg. The battery pack is removable for external charging and provides power to the 1.5 kW Bosch electric motor that is capable of producing 2,300 watts of power and 120 Nm of torque.

However, speed is limited to 55 km/h, making the Niu suitable for short urban trips, with range claimed to be 80 km on a single charge. Recharge time to full capacity using domestic electrical supply is said to take six hours.

Weighing in at 95 kg, the Niu rolls on 12-inch wheels, with single disc brakes front and rear. Regenerative braking is used to top-up the battery and the swingarm is a composite of titanium and aluminium to keep weight down. Smart phone connectivity is used for navigation, charging stations, real-time diagnostics and vehicle alarm.

Equipment fit-out is minimalistic on the Niu with LED lighting front and back, an LCD meter to show speed, battery level and the rider can choose from three ride modes, as well as a seat that is 740 mm off the ground. Under the seat is a 18.9-litre storage space, with a USB charger and cargo hook inside the front cowl.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• kelantan darul pedo on Mar 04, 2019 at 2:27 pm

muda bahenol dan comey

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 05, 2019 at 9:00 am

the New Government is good and cekap. They encourage e-bikes to promote a healthy environment and to give us clean air and less noise pollution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
      • Avenger on Mar 05, 2019 at 12:17 pm

Yeah… and leave the disposal of toxic & highly flammable batteries to the later generation that they don’t care about. Very good and cekap at hoodwinking the people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 26
  • DS Heidi R Vanke on Mar 04, 2019 at 2:38 pm

Suggest ruler passes law mandatory EOL to all 250cc and below 2T or 4T puny engine motorcycles on the road please.
    replace them all with small e-bike.
    Effective and efficient for elimination of rempit menace once and for all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
    • Need to mandatory have soundmakers on these ebikes 1st. Otherwise can lead to lotsa eksidens & deaths.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • Joan Nathan on Mar 04, 2019 at 4:37 pm

LOL maybe ebikes will broadcast sound playing children rhyme like those rubbish collection truck at Japan and Taiwan

• Unknown on Mar 04, 2019 at 5:17 pm

Those China ebikes and escooters doesn’t come with noise emitters, at least that’s my impression when I’m in China and these bikes whizzed by silently very close to me often times.

• Engineer on Mar 04, 2019 at 6:47 pm

This I fully agree. Mohan, do you know if this Niu e-scooter have sound makers to warn other road users?

• borneo darul seram on Mar 04, 2019 at 4:26 pm

LOL just Imagine how will those snatch thieves on electric scooter going to accomplish their snatching job?

• Maharani Rose Mah on Mar 05, 2019 at 1:53 pm

PDAM shall hold a PC complaining there dwindling revenue due to less motorcyclist buying fuel at there station soon!

• lilytan on Mar 04, 2019 at 2:40 pm

45kmh is too slow for road use. Should be at least 70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • Borneo Darul Seram on Mar 04, 2019 at 4:42 pm

majority road speed limit is only 50kmph, roads nearby school, hospital, worship house are even lower speed limits.
      not every motorcyclist stays at city and travel on highway or expressway ok.

• KYspeaks on Mar 05, 2019 at 9:54 am

Should still be great for cities such as georgetown or ipoh

• The range is too short. The torque is high so just put a bigger battery to extend the range. It should go beyond 300km before the nearly RM9k price tag can justify.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • kebal on Mar 04, 2019 at 6:14 pm

it’s for urban commute, not long range trips. If you want longer range, you will have to pay the weight and size penalty.

Plus, why do you need more range than that? Average Malaysians don’t commute more than 50km per day. Once you get home just let it charge overnight and you’re good to go, just like your phone.

• donno on Mar 05, 2019 at 9:47 am

You can even charge it at work, as you can carry the battery with you to recharge at your work desk.

• benard on Mar 04, 2019 at 7:22 pm

need 300km range? You balik kampung everyday is it? And you are okay to just ride 55kph speed for 6 hours?

• Not entirely practical to replace our gasoline scooters / mopeds due to the limited top speed but other than that it has a reasonable range before the need to recharge and also offered at a pretty competitive price. Looks slightly like vespa models too..

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 04, 2019 at 3:24 pm

There are some folding scooters that can achieve 30kmh for a range of 30km and cost a fraction of this. For the range n charging time it takes this should be priced around 6k instead

• Dylan Ch'ng on Mar 04, 2019 at 3:26 pm

Been in Malaysia for quite some time. They’ve had a physical store in Gurney Plaza in Penang, Malaysia for quite some time already.

• Replace battery when Kong Rm20k?

• bieight on Mar 04, 2019 at 4:15 pm

better than ex5

• ah seng on Mar 04, 2019 at 4:45 pm

a quick check from taobao shows the price is 5~6k RMB for this version… top spec is 10000 rmb…

bloody blood sucker for pricing it at RM 8800

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • alldisc on Mar 04, 2019 at 4:47 pm

Not worth 8.8k price. Not.much savings in terms of fuel cost against price.

• SSuper on Mar 04, 2019 at 4:48 pm

The gomen should encourage Malaysian manufacturer like Modenas to design & manufacture e-motorbike better than this rather than 3rd car initiative. Much easier technology, faster & way much cheaper R&D, and no need to compete with other giants that already have electric cars. There is huge market if get the design right to suit local & Asean usage….which we know best. Design several type, economic, scooters, sport bikes (remember electric car now outrun petrol cars already) and that type that can be used for tuktuk too (Grab a bike man). Huge market!!! Malaysia can be the Tesla for motorbikes.

• Comeón brother, our gomen is pro oil & minerals. Proper hybrid & electric vehicles will suppress the income of oil producing countries..

• Anonymous on Mar 04, 2019 at 6:17 pm

Been telling them that for years. Seems M’sia is not short of manufacturing e-scooters… been doing it for years. But it seems the tech is not there yet to compete against normal petrol burning scooters… as the range and the speed is far from optimum.

Thus… R&D money should go on how to maximise these shortcomings and make it more efficient. But flying car is more important it seems.

• sohai on Mar 04, 2019 at 6:22 pm

Err… My question is, what kind of license do you need to ride a bike with 0cc?
    skateboard license enough?

• Hadi75 on Mar 04, 2019 at 8:36 pm

Suitable for short distances only…like going to your neighbourhood kedai mamak or kedai runcit but you can do that with cheaper electric harley scooter. Suitable for use to commute to lrt or mrt station or your office if your house is within the 80km range(pergi dan balik)

• Nageswar Rao p on Mar 05, 2019 at 5:03 am

The e-scooter is having with rheostatic control while starting? What is cost in lndia.

• EcoFriend on Mar 05, 2019 at 10:11 am

Relatively pricy. My Segway e-scooter tops 26kmh for ~30km for ~RM2k. Excellent for short distance. Wonder if this Niu e-scooter needs a motorbike license?

• DASAUTO on Mar 05, 2019 at 12:33 pm

120nm torque on a scooter ..wow good for big person 100kg++, and need license or not? can buy for my dad go to surau.

• We already have a local made electric bike from Treelectric which gives better speed and mileage. So why aren’t you supporting local instead of an overpriced electric scooter. That range and price, I might as well get electric scooter (ECU)

• Yeeyow on Mar 08, 2019 at 4:49 pm

Bought one beijing in in June 2017 and have clocked 6300 km as of to date, for daily short distances only with maximum speed of 50-55 km, during summer distance attained is around 70 km and in winter around 50 km, a tough e-bike and friendly with the environment , very little maintenance encountered , good buy for 7500 rmb when new.

• Bengkel Tepi Jalan on Mar 15, 2019 at 10:30 am

Super, Syiok, Santik… but SLOW. Cannot think on where can I use this.

On walkway better get something like “Mi Electric Scooter” by Xiaomi.

On road with little bit slower speed “ebike” is cheaper.

• BooYa on Mar 19, 2019 at 9:42 am

This is practical for urban usage, but for that price range it doesn’t justify, better take public transport to reduce traffic and more wallet friendly. For others that commute interstate daily, still under 150cc moped is more wallet friendly. Can’t even imagine a 55kmh could overtake or speeding to avoid any barrier in case of emergency on those road.

• Thiamjoo on Sep 21, 2019 at 11:45 pm

Too expensive. Government should subsidize to encourage use of environmental friendly electric bike.