G20 BMW 3 Series spotted in Malaysia – 330i M Sport

BMW Malaysia is gearing up to introduce the all-new G20 BMW 3 Series soon, and the first few units appear to be on their way to showrooms, as spotted by paultan.org readers Duncan Loo and Inchek Muhammad.

Based on the badging seen on these cars, it looks like buyers will have access to the 330i M Sport variant, which is powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine. The mill offers 258 PS from 5,000 to 6,500 rpm and 400 Nm, with drive going to the rear wheels via an eight-speed automatic transmission, allowing for a zero to 100 km/h time of 5.8 seconds.

These cars appear to come as standard with 18-inch bicolour Orbit Grey (Style 790) M light double-spoke alloy wheels, as well as enhanced LED headlamps with U-shaped daytime running lights. The M Sport kit includes a more aggressive front bumper with a larger lower intake, while the fog lamps and Air Curtain inlets are more prominent. Sport Line and Luxury Line models get T-shaped elements in the corners of the bumper instead.

As for the rear, you’ll find new LED tail lights with a three-dimensional L-shaped design and tinted lenses, while further down, the dual exhaust outlets are highlighted by black trim, with small slits in the corners.

By comparison, the rear bumpers on Sport Line and Luxury Line models mimic the T-shape elements at the front, and are differentiated by the presence of chrome accents. The colour options (for now) appear to include Portimao Blue, Sunset Orange metallic, and either Alpine White or Mineral White.

Unfortunately, these photos don’t include a view of the G20’s new interior, which is influenced by the G15 8 Series, G05 X5 and G29 Z4. As a result, the list of equipment that will be offered remains a mystery until launch. However, available features for the G20’s cabin include Live Cockpit Professional, which consists of a 10.25-inch centre screen and 12.3-inch instrument display linked to BMW Operating System 7.0 with the Intelligent Personal Assistant.

We’ll only get full information when the all-new G20 3 Series is launched in Malaysia, continuing its battle against the W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class, which was given a facelift here in November last year. Which of the two will you pick, and why?

GALLERY: G20 BMW 330i M Sport at the 2019 Singapore Motor Show

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 20, 2019 at 4:42 pm

no more 330e??? Thanks to Mercedes battery scandal, all hybrid sales now zero….530e, x5 40e, 330e…..zero sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • Proton hybrid …zero sales

• Krayfish on Mar 22, 2019 at 10:16 am

Save the environment is only for the filthy riches.
      Hybrid battery is expensive. For non-hybrid cars too, those with start-stop function also have to use expensive battery. Being green aside, the money saved from these fuel-efficient initiative is penalizing and backfiring owners from the expensive parts. So at the end of the day, as usual, ruthless business owners trying to make more money by hiding behind energy efficiency and being green.

• No more RM380 for 7 series road tax. I mean facelifted 7 series, 745Le

• Norlia on Mar 20, 2019 at 5:04 pm

The oversized nostrils are such a turnoff.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • 3-series for the driving experience.. although not the same class, but I’d driven my partner’s E300 recently.. and then I got the key to F10 520 – totally different experience! My vote still go for BMW

• Mercedes and BMW both are luxury car, but they are not the same. Mercedes is for uncle, BMW is for young man.

• Mario and Bros on Mar 20, 2019 at 5:23 pm

Newer BMW 3 Series looks fresh and updated. Should be. G20 BMW 3 Series should also have latest features and latest safety features. BMW Infortainment System also operates latest version which is 7.0 and don’t forget, new software version also have latest features. Many people will surely buy G20 BMW 3 Series because of sleeker design, latest features, more powerful and having latest safety features

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Nicholas Lee on Mar 21, 2019 at 9:24 pm

We get it, Mr. salesman, no need to stuff 5 ‘latest features’ in one paragraph…

• Copy Paste Kunta Keyboardwarrior on Mar 20, 2019 at 5:28 pm

Thats the end of c class where soon will see discount from MBM malaysia

• Korean Fan on Mar 20, 2019 at 5:46 pm

Sell here below RM180k

• vodka on Mar 20, 2019 at 5:58 pm

We got the ugly wheel design while Singapore and Thailand got the pretty ones. Bummer!

• digidigi on Mar 20, 2019 at 6:01 pm

Definately this one la, u get the c class now 2 more years your car will look super dated compare to new c class which have new generation interior cabin

• Vincentwoo on Mar 20, 2019 at 6:11 pm

Why the rim is different

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Mar 20, 2019 at 7:28 pm

Alamak, my f30 will be “outdated” soon:(

• hope they dont scratch those cars while on delivery ^^

• I love the looks of the c300 more inside & out but the 330i looks like it has a faster engine & better tech. If it’s cheaper than the c300 people will buy this instead

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 21, 2019 at 3:07 am

Yep launch is on the 29th. Just got the invite to see it live in the metal in KL.

• Zaidi on Mar 21, 2019 at 12:33 pm

Eventually only worthwhile to get this G20 BMW 330i M Sport through pre-reg car BMW channel. Almost new car RM250k max.

• If have to wait 3 years for pre-reg car, you can’t effort, go and get a kimchi.

• German VIP on Mar 21, 2019 at 2:03 pm

Its 28th actually. 28 and 29 night session without test drive. 30 and 31 with test drive.I’m BMW VIP customer. Always got the first news and event. Planning to buy 330i for my wife as 330i is the only drive able engine. Always go for the higher end of such small car and I wonder how ppl can tolerate those tiny 318 or 320 or 520. Super under power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • Darren on Mar 21, 2019 at 3:45 pm

Mr VIP, do you know the 330i pricing in Malaysia?

• Bas Mini Wilayah Keramat on Mar 21, 2019 at 9:27 pm

Wow gratz bro! I too just made an indent order with BMW MY for 2units of G20 BMW M340i xDrive – 380 hp, 500 Nm 3.0 litre straight-six engine twin-scroll turbocharged.

One in Tanzanite Blue II, the other Dravit Grey.

• Navin on Mar 21, 2019 at 9:05 am

Heard will be 330k

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 21, 2019 at 9:29 am

those rims are not pretty. But otherwise, kudos to BMW Malaysia for finally giving us the 3 series with the M-Sport kit from day 1. Previously the M-sport kit was only available after a year or two.

• Unknown on Mar 21, 2019 at 11:29 am

They finally realise they actually make more money by selling with M-sport bodykit so why not start from the get go.

• R Harindranath R Ravindra Nath on Mar 21, 2019 at 9:33 am

The G20 is lacking imagination and just wait for BMW Malaysia to start discounting and killing the 2nd hand market price for the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • nice rim and the orange/brown colour

• Malu Apa Boss on Mar 21, 2019 at 1:06 pm

Here comes my car.

• Bmw's aftersales service is the best ! on Mar 21, 2019 at 2:58 pm

Ok guys. Get your money ready and book one. After 5 years change to newer bmw