FIRST LOOK: 2019 G20 BMW 330i M Sport – RM329k

By now, you’d know that the new G20 BMW 3 Series has finally made it to Malaysia. Just one variant is on sale for now, that being the 330i M Sport, and it is fully imported from Germany. Price-wise, it costs RM328,800, and also included is a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty with free scheduled service.

Now, the 330i is powered by the B48 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine, making 258 hp (up 6 hp) and 400 Nm of torque (up 50 Nm) from 1,550 to 4,400 rpm. The engine is married to the ubiquitous ZF eight-speed automatic transmission, and it does the zero to 100 km/h sprint in 5.8 seconds. The average fuel consumption figure is between 5.8 to 6.1 litres per 100 km.

This being the M Sport variant, it gets the customary M Sport suspension with lift-related dampers. These provide additional hydraulic damping at the front and limits compression at the rear, all of which should result in a better compromise between comfort and sporty handling.

Standard features include keyless entry, push-button start, triple-zone auto climate control, cruise control, Aluminium Tetragon trim, black headlining and Qi wireless smartphone charging. There’s also the BMW Digital Key feature that allows selected Samsung smartphones to be used as a key via Near Field Communication (NFC). What do you think of the new 330i M Sport?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Vectorian99 on Mar 29, 2019 at 10:48 am

Hi Friz, what do you think of the new 330i M Sport? This or your nice Benz C300? Albeit the present facelifted C300 AMG Line priced at 305k.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 29, 2019 at 12:37 pm

In Singapore, CBU BMW 330i is SGD250k with COE. In Malaysia price is RM330k

In Singapore, average low ranking Government servant earns SGD8000 a month (RM25,000)

In Putrajaya, average low ranking Government servant earn RM1200

Which car is cheaper? You earn RM1200 or you earn RM25,000?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
      • Ghani on Mar 29, 2019 at 2:23 pm

Obviously the person earning RM1200. His expenses are all taken care off, while the person earning RM25,000 across the pond have to spend 99% of it just to survive. Why else did The Economist rate Singapore as the most expensive city to live in for 5 years running?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
        • YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 29, 2019 at 3:12 pm

who is taking care of the expenses of the RM1200 earner?

He got no house, car, study loan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
          • Ghani on Mar 29, 2019 at 5:44 pm

Government servants are well taken care of everything which is why they don’t mind the low salaries. In Singapore, you cannot live without sufficient source of of money. You can literally die because of being penniless there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • YB Kunta Kinte low ranking gov servant earning 8k SGD??? Are you high or just stupid? Maybe both

HDB eligibility ceiling is $12k in a COMBINED household. So are u saying that more than 85% singaporeans living in HDBs are worst than “low ranking gov servants”??

Simply quote facts like real only padahal bodoh. Just work harder if you want to buy a BMW mate

• spock1976 (Member) on Mar 30, 2019 at 9:07 pm

You really should fact check and stop your delusional comparisons. Singaporean fresh grads would be happy if they could earn sgd3k a mth.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 29, 2019 at 12:39 pm

sorry 330i price in Singapore is SGD200k (with COE) not SGD 250K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Rojakboii on Mar 29, 2019 at 4:18 pm

c300 better

• Rojakboii on Mar 29, 2019 at 4:31 pm

I feel it’s too early to compare between the CBU 330i and the CKD C300 AMG for now. But as of now what we can say is that, spec wise the C300 is way better loaded.

C300 AMG vs 330i Msport :-
      Airmatic vs lowered fixed m suspension
      Multibeam headlights ( Best from Merc) vs Adaptive Led ( 2nd Best from bmw)
      13 Speakers Burmester vs Bmw Hifi system
      Lane Assist vs None
      PreCollision Assist vs None
      360 Camera vs Reverse Camera
      Rear Sunshades vs None
      Powered Boot vs Remote opening
      Panoramic roof vs None
      Powered Memory Seats for both fronts vs Memory powered seat for driver and passenger is just powered
      Android Auto and Apple Carplay vs Apple Carplay

Power performance figures both cars are close with the 330i having a slight advantage.

These are the main difference if I am not mistaken. Hopefully the 330i CKD version gets improved specs in the coming near future.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 29, 2019 at 4:54 pm

You forgot leather dash ;)

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 29, 2019 at 11:13 pm

To be honest, the Burmester in the W205 is a bit of a disapointment (but is still way better than the one in the non-Burmester models). The bass has more weight in the rear seats than the front seats. So if you increase the bass in front to give it more weight, it’s boomy in the rear. The pano roof is amazing, when it’s not hot. The boot I find a bit small in the W205. However, you can store quite a bit of stuff underneath the boot floor. You can’t in the G20 (dont understand why though). BMW gives free maintenance for 5 years (but not everything free lah), and you get concierge service. Merc resale value is generally higher than BMW here. The G20 handles better. All in all, with both W205 and G20 at current specs and price, I’d get the W205. But it’s probably better to wait for the CKD G20 first, before really making a more fair comparison.

• hateshonda on Apr 01, 2019 at 3:22 pm

BMW include free maintenance package.

• M Song on Mar 29, 2019 at 10:54 am

Thank you for the info Hafriz!

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 29, 2019 at 11:24 am

The 330i is ridiculously priced. The 330i is known as an entry level BMW in most countries.

In the US, the 330i is US$30k
    Fresh graduate earns US$4500 per month

In Malaysia, the 330i is RM330k
    Fresh graduate earns RM2k per month

In Malaysia, only the super rich can afford the most basic entry level BMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 19
  • heybadigol (Member) on Mar 29, 2019 at 3:24 pm

I like the grey colour best among those available locally. I’d spec it with the cognac leather. Cos the headliner is already black. The cognac provides some welcome colour. I’m curious about tyre choices. The grey unit appears to use Michelin PS ZP (Zero Pressure aka runflat). The blue and most others appear to use Goodyear Eagle F1. Is that Michelin PS ZP even sold in Malaysia?

• They forgot the EEV incentive?

• Avenger on Mar 29, 2019 at 5:45 pm

EEV incentives only for locally built ones. This is still CBU Germany.

• transformer on Mar 29, 2019 at 5:53 pm

no AEB really???

• Keat.ta.kia on Mar 30, 2019 at 11:20 am

Selected samsung phone but not android auto, what a logic

• potato on Apr 02, 2019 at 12:38 am

what BS is the claimed mileage? is this a hybrid?