2022 BMW 330i M Sport Runout Edition in Malaysia – sunroof, larger wheels, Harman Kardon; from RM289k

BMW Malaysia has launched two limited edition variants of the G20 3 Series, namely the 320i M Sport Runout Edition as well as the 330i M Sport Runout Edition. The latter is our focus here, but if you’re curious about the former, you can check it out in a separate post by us.

The 330i M Sport Runout Edition is based on the existing 330i M Sport, but with some extra equipment to make it more enticing. New additions to the kit list include a powered sunroof as well as a Harman Kardon surround sound system.

On the exterior, the new Runout Edition sports 19-inch style 791 M double-spoke wheels, which are an inch larger than the regular 330i M Sport’s 18-inch style 790 M alloys. You can get the special executive sedan in one of four paint finishes (Alpine White, Black Sapphire, Mineral Grey and M Portimao Blue), all with a Vernasca Black leather interior.

The new features do come at a premium, as the 330i M Sport Runout Edition retails at RM288,680 on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of SST and a standard two-year warranty. The figure is RM5,000 more than a standard 330i M Sport, which sells for RM283,680.

Besides the powered sunroof, Harman Kardon sound system and larger wheels, the rest of the 330i M Sport Runout Edition appears to be unchanged from the variant it is based on. Power continues to come from a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine making 258 PS (255 hp) from 5,000 to 6,500 rpm and 400 Nm of torque from 1,550 to 4,400 rpm. The mill is paired with an eight-speed Steptronic Sport automatic transmission that sends drive to the rear wheels.

Other standard features include adaptive LED headlamps, an M Sport styling package, M Sport brakes with blue-painted calipers, M Sport suspension interior trim finisher Aluminium Tetragon with highlight trim finisher in Pearl Chrome, BMW Live Cockpit Professional with a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster and 10.25-inch touchscreen, ConnectedDrive services, Comfort Access, three-zone climate control and an ambient lighting system.

The list of safety and driver assists are unchanged too, with Driving Assistant (lane departure warning, lane change warning, front collision warning with brake intervention, rear cross-traffic alert and rear collision prevention) coming as standard. This joins Attentiveness Assistant, cruise control with braking function, Parking Assistant with Reversing Assistant and a rearview camera.

If we had to speculate, the name of the new limited edition 3 Series variant heavily suggests that a facelift for the G20 is coming soon. The rival to the Mercedes-Benz C-Class was updated back in May this year, bringing with it revised exterior and interior styling, along with new technologies.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• dellen on Jul 18, 2022 at 11:00 am

harman kardon alone is worth it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • It should have been equipped as standard spec in the first place. Luxury brand kononnya! Pui!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
    • Make Malaysia Great Again on Jul 18, 2022 at 5:20 pm

But remember to pay the monthly subscription, if you dont you’ll only get harman but not kardon so sound performance will cut in half.

• Janster on Jul 18, 2022 at 11:04 am

Jualan penghabisan stock before new facelift lettew

• Listing on Jul 18, 2022 at 11:10 am

missing ACC.

• Lane departure warning, lane change warning, front collision warning with brake intervention, rear cross-traffic alert and rear collision prevention, cruise control with braking function and Parking Assistant with Reversing Assistant is greater enough

• Cindy on Jul 18, 2022 at 6:34 pm

BMW 5 series higher spec have ACC.
        This lock speed and brake,

Can it follow speed and safe distance setting, ?
        If not, it need resetting too frequently.

• Sheer Driving Pleasure on Jul 18, 2022 at 9:49 pm

What’s their company motto again? That’s right, it’s never about cruising, it’s about driving this machine.

• Better specs now. Beli 3 Series jer

• anonymous on Jul 18, 2022 at 12:44 pm

with it being only a RM5,000 difference, i sort of feel like BMW should have included this package in from the start (considering it’s a close to RM300k car). that being said, this car absolutely needs the adaptive dampers because it is a very firm ride. unfortunately, unlike other countries, buyers can’t option it in unless they get the cheaper 320i. odd decision on BMWs part but i guess it is what it is. hopefully for the facelift they package in everything from the get go, or at least have an options list for potential buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • So they obviously have the capabilities to produce these specs, it makes me wonder why they don’t just make it a box that customers tick when booking? Make it a customizable option and it’ll be a win-win.

– 18″ vs 19″
    – Rim selection
    – Sunroof or no sunroof
    – Normal or premium sound system

• Runout edition wanting more money, we Malaysian are a gullible lot.

• 7yearsfd1 on Jul 18, 2022 at 4:05 pm

still no adaptive suspension but changing to bigger wheels?

i guess they totally ditch the idea of making it comfy

• The G20 LCI is coming.. How do I know? If you configure a new 3 series on BMY.com.my under “basic equipment, you could see the new toggle switch and curved display with OS8. Someone leaked this accidentally… hehe

• bieight8 on Jul 20, 2022 at 7:56 pm

Would rather have power boot then sunroof