Bangkok 2019: Nissan Teana facelift, the forgotten one

We very nearly didn’t notice the Nissan Teana facelift at the 2019 Bangkok International Motor Show. Despite being a fresh face – this facelifted version surfaced in November 2018 – it hardly registered as something new. That could be because it’s lightly changed from the pre-facelift L33 Teana, which has been on sale in Thailand since late 2013 (mid 2014 for Malaysia).

The Teana facelift was introduced in our region a full three years after the sedan’s North American twin – the Nissan Altima – got a similar nip/tuck. In fact, there’s a new generation Altima on sale in the US now.

Anyway, the Teana facelift gets Nissan’s signature V-Motion grille, flanked by boomerang-shaped LED headlights and daytime running lights. Besides the face and the new two-tone 18-inch rims on this high-spec car, everything else is familiar, including the unchanged rear end.

The interior is similarly untouched, but Nissan has added driver’s seat memory to all but the base 2.0XE model. Also soldiering on are the engines – a 2.0 litre MR20DE naturally-aspirated four-cylinder making 136 PS and 190 Nm at 4,400 rpm, as well as a 2.5 litre QR25DE four-pot with 173 PS and 234 Nm at 4,000 rpm. Both are paired to an Xtronic CVT automatic.

As for safety kit, the big Nissan gets lane departure warning, blind spot monitoring and a 360-degree Around View Monitor with Moving Object Detection on the 2.0XL, 2.0XL Navi and 2.5XV Navi, joining the standard six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist and stability control.

Pricing starts at 1.336 million baht (RM171,710) for the 2.0XE, rising up to 1.426 million baht (RM183,278) for the 2.0XL and 1.476 million baht (RM189,661) for the 2.0XL Navi with a seven-inch touchscreen navigation system. The range topping 2.5XV Navi goes for 1.674 million baht (RM215,163). The Teana facelift goes up against the fresh Toyota Camry and all-new Honda Accord.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• digidigi on Apr 02, 2019 at 3:15 pm

this is car that ugly from front end to rear to interior, indeed quite rare, bravo Nissan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Apr 02, 2019 at 5:12 pm

In US, Nissan Teana is completely new car with VC Turbo. About 250 Bhp. We have to blame previous Government for giving us bad consumer laws. It is because of bad consumer laws that car companies keep giving us Malaysians old stock.

And our previous and current Government also lembap. Cause they should question Nissan why they are selling us old outdated cars?

After all, it is the Government that is dictating the price of cars in Malaysia so by right, Government also should intervene if rakyat is given old outdated cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 32
      • History Bender on Apr 02, 2019 at 6:37 pm

Your ETCM so lembap but you go and blame other people? It’s the main reason why your ETCM will continue to remain lembap until close shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
        • Best Profit-ever on Apr 02, 2019 at 11:07 pm

ETCM should stick to Nissan Sunny for another 40 years

• JOACHIM on Apr 02, 2019 at 7:10 pm

Okay, so when is your Government going to give us the US specced Teana with VC Turbo? 11 months in they should have already finalised the plan for introduction next month the latest. Is your Government hibernating after their win?

• Same L0rr on Apr 02, 2019 at 7:17 pm

Nissan Teana priced at 123k here, same as Honda Civic TCP and Proton X70 Premium.

• Diss-illusions on Apr 02, 2019 at 11:21 pm

O-M-G!!!!!!!!!!!!

I blame the previous government for allowing you to be born and I blame the current government for letting you to still have internet and waste my life reading your comments. I also blame the person that employs you or whatever source of income that has availed you to this facility and make such stupid comments!!

• DPCraft on Apr 02, 2019 at 5:23 pm

This thing is like a time machine, once inside feel like travelling back to the 2000s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • john 2019 on Apr 02, 2019 at 5:28 pm

I think this Game Changer is handsome, modern and sleek eventhough it is old. Our Perdana is Game Over car with uninspiring and boring design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
      • YB Kunta Kinte on Apr 02, 2019 at 6:04 pm

Our Perdana is a failed car. Proton is still paying hundreds of million ringgit of royalty to Honda to rebadge their old and unwanted Accordana.

how clever the Japanese are to con Malaysian GLC Proton.

• Mario and Bros on Apr 02, 2019 at 8:07 pm

I think Proton Borui and Toyota Camry and Mazda 6 are very handsome, modern and sleek. Our Nissan Teana is Game Over car with uninspiring and super boring design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • YB Kunta Kinte on Apr 02, 2019 at 9:14 pm

yes Wilson Khoo, we believe you. In FB, everyday you are condemning Nissan. Try to work hard bro to upgrade your Iswara.

• Nissan is a dead brand because their people don’t care. Not the locals here nor those back in HQ.

• Haidi on Apr 02, 2019 at 3:20 pm

Aiyo… Nissan, please put this into the museum already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • jane doe on Apr 02, 2019 at 3:22 pm

Yes, nothing indeed that’s important remembering of it.

• AhmadSr on Apr 02, 2019 at 3:24 pm

Nissan Teana, the car that came tops in all car comparo vs. Accord, Mazda6, Passat & Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • 4G63T DSM on Apr 02, 2019 at 11:13 pm

Eh? Since when? LOL

It’s not like we get the best Altima here. We got the neutered one.

Turbo? Nope. variable compression ? Nope.

Ever sat in a recent teana? It has the cheapest feeling interior by far compared to the competition.

• markgoh on Apr 02, 2019 at 3:41 pm

still using old steering..??

• Dylan Ch'ng on Apr 02, 2019 at 4:06 pm

I guess so. Even the Almera has received a new steering wheel.

• VC turbo on Apr 02, 2019 at 3:59 pm

The interior is still the same? Please bring in the 2.0 VC turbo, otherwise don’t bring in

• Proton oh Proton on Apr 02, 2019 at 4:14 pm

Nissan with Old Tech… better get Korean

• panjang on Apr 02, 2019 at 4:27 pm

The forgotten smooth operator this one.

• the driver on Apr 02, 2019 at 4:43 pm

Dunno, but it seems like a nice design albeit a bit old fashioned but I wonder why it’s shunned by buyers – better still, it even won comparos with the other brands. Not a Nissan fan tho but just an armchair analyst trying to understand consumer tastes.

• old model still sell more than RM200k? wow..nissan is really confident..

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 02, 2019 at 5:35 pm

Dei bring in the Maxima la. Now that’s a proper large sedan.

• antloke on Apr 02, 2019 at 10:31 pm

however ugly still better than the latest “crab-faced” accord

• Ben Yap on Apr 03, 2019 at 1:51 am

The 2.0 litre MR20DE naturally-aspirated four-cylinder making 136 PS and 190 Nm at 4,400 rpm is too underpowered. Other cars with 2.0 NA is already making 163 hp which is 27 hp more. The MR20DE output is only equivalent to a 1.8 NA.