Shell Helix HX8: new range of affordable fully-synthetic engine oil introduced in Malaysia – from just RM165

Shell Malaysia Trading has introduced a new Shell Helix engine oil. The full-synthetic Helix HX8 – which is available in two viscosity variants, 5W-30 and 5W-40 – sits below the Helix Ultra range of full-synthetics, but is a step up from the semi-synthetic HX7, offering a premium oil at affordable price.

The new oil features adaptive Flexi Molecule Technology that protects the engine by adapting to every driving style and condition. Benefits include better wear protection and enhanced fuel economy, longer oil drain intervals as well as lower maintenance costs.

Performance-wise, it offers 58% better high-temperature deposit control and viscosity stability as well as 78% better corrosion protection in start-stop urban driving conditions compared to a regular API SN specification oil.

To celebrate the launch of the new oil, Shell Malaysia is offering 888 packs of the Helix HX8. No purchase is necessary – all you have to do is register online at www.shell.com.my/helix888 and see if you can be one of the lucky ones. Winners will receive a promo code via SMS.

Additionally, consumers who purchase Shell Helix HX8 will qualify for the unique Shell Advantage and Rewards (SHARE) loyalty programme, which offers free Shell engine oil from accumulated purchases, as well as free Shell Helix Engine Warranty (SHEW) for cars below eight years old and 150,000 km on the odometer.

The recommended retail prices for a four-litre pack of Shell Helix HX8 5W-40 is RM165 in the Peninsular and RM166 in Sabah/Sarawak, while the Shell Helix HX8 5W-30 is priced at RM180 in the Peninsular and RM181 in Sabah/Sarawak.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• RicoT on Apr 08, 2019 at 5:03 pm

What’s the difference between Shell Helix Ultra and HX8?

• One is still vetted for use with Ferrari, the other is only suited for use with Maibi.

• Heres the advantage of Shell Helix HX8

Affordable fully-synthetic Shell Helix HX8 with Flexi Molecules adapts to how you drive, offering protection and performance when you need it the most.

Up to 40% better wear protection1
      58% better high temperature deposit control & viscosity stability2
      30% faster flow3 for easier starting and quicker warm-up

• Shell HX8 comply to new API SN Plus and ILSAC GF6 specification. While Ultra comply to old specs API SN and ILSAC GF5. therefore HX8 has more superior quality and surpassed new test requirement compared to Helix Ultra. Hope this clear..

• panjang on Apr 08, 2019 at 5:22 pm

Still wont affect sales of cheaper engine oil sold at hypermarket.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Apr 09, 2019 at 2:29 pm

Abang abang PDAM sell the oil 2X the price of Tesco. This is how greedy the PDAM members are. Already given a free ride in life, still want to untung gila gila

• YB Kunta Kinte on Apr 08, 2019 at 6:48 pm

I better buy from Tesco. Always half the price. Last time Shell sell RM250, Tesco sell RM125.

So now, this RM165, Tesco sure sell RM80. Both also ORIGINAL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Aiz Ibrahim on Apr 11, 2019 at 3:15 pm

Shell one is made for malaysia market which the formula are altered to suit malaysia whether for better quality.. Original yet not the same..

• I already try both shell ultra made for malaysia weather for 6 years and the ultra from giant store for 4 years. It is just the same oil. Probably slightly diff but definately no noticeable changes to my vehicle. I got turbo engine and 140hp on wheels n/a engine hi compression piston. I am referring to the L/100Km meter on the meter panel.

When I am using semi syn oil, the L/100Km is around approx 6.2 to 6.6L/100Km.
        When I am using those shell helix ultra from shell gas station and giant superstore the reading is always approx 5.5 to 6.0L/100Km.

Because of that, never use semi syn and shell ultra from shell gas station.

Maybe this HX8 fully syn is just the same, no significant/noticeable change. Next month will buy it from giant store.

0 problem to my engine. Why pay more?

• James Lee on Apr 08, 2019 at 7:25 pm

Anthony, what is this oil Volatility Number ?

• Veyron Owner on Apr 08, 2019 at 7:37 pm

Wait, Helix fully synth is no longer formulated for Ferrari? So where am I going to get high performance motor oil for my Veyron then?

• flying sampan on Apr 09, 2019 at 10:37 am

lmao You wait for palm oil based sky high motor oil to be launch soon for flying car ok.

• Isn’t Veyron’s recommended oil Castrol?

• Samuel on Apr 09, 2019 at 2:03 pm

Look for Chemlube Fully Synthetic Ester Based Oil. Once you try it, you won’t want any other options

• Hyper market smart consumers on Apr 08, 2019 at 9:21 pm

Super duper high markup of 150% that eventually becomes the recommended retail price.

• borneo darul seram on Apr 09, 2019 at 10:34 am

That’s how o&g cartels and associates get their obese paycheck funding luxury premium lifestyle.

• I have been using these two oils and Shell oils for years. I’m a believer. And no, I don’t or never have got one cent or have any affiliation with Shell.

• Hamster on Apr 09, 2019 at 7:05 am

Lower grade just like what castrol did with edge

• azrai on Apr 09, 2019 at 8:17 am

Taken from FMT:

Anda mungkin tidak sedar atau sekadar simpan untuk rujukan diri sendiri, tapi mengapa Shell Helix Ultra 5W-40 sintetik sepenuhnya untuk 4L dijual hanya RM99, sedangkan harga runcit di kedai alat ganti dan stesen minyak Shell sendiri dijual pada harga RM260.

Perbezaan harga RM161.00 adalah aneh dan seolah ada yang sengaja mempermainkan harga atau apa sebenarnya yang berlaku di sebaliknya!

• Engineer on Apr 09, 2019 at 12:01 pm

Somehow a lot of speculation and “mystery” but finally no outcome (like a lot of FMT “news piece”).
      The real reason is because the cheaper oils are parallel imported and not suitable for use in tropical countries like Malaysia. Using of ill-suited engine oil will shorten the lifespan of the engine and reduce performance. Caveat emptor for those who chose to be penny wise but pound foolish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • redpilled on Apr 09, 2019 at 5:54 pm

alas this will fall on deaf ears.

• Not true. I ‘ve been using this so called “parallel import” for last 8 years on both cars. One is a high performance BMW 6 series. No issue till today,both engine run smooth.
        Please don’t paddle what u don’t know!

• lilytan on Apr 09, 2019 at 8:43 am

Entry level fully synthetic oil for developing market? Better buy at tesco, fully important euro grade oil.

• Used the tesco ones before, but I prefer the ones on shell shelf. Its better formulated for tropical climate

• Roger bowen on Apr 09, 2019 at 10:42 am

I can’t wait to use this new oil

• Ben Yap on Apr 09, 2019 at 11:05 am

my civic turbo use honda service centre supplied engine oil. so i cannot join this contest liao and gotta give chance to other people to win.

• ALFRED THOMPSON on Apr 09, 2019 at 11:59 am

Mobile 1 is what I’ve used for 20 years, along with Shell V-Power gas, it’s time for new technology!!

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 09, 2019 at 3:25 pm

Actually, MOBIL 1 formulation 25 years ago was truly a fully synthetic lubricant (Group 4 PAO) but after losing the 1999 court case (Mobil Oil Corp Vs Castrol North America Inc), Mobil 1 (& every other lubricant manufacturers) was forced to change to highly refined Group 3 mineral oil in order to compete with Castrol.

Today, majority of “synthetic” lubricants out there are highly refined Group 3 mineral oil & only the few boutique manufacturers uses Group 4 (& above) PAO. The selling price of a true synthetic Group 4 PAO lubricant can be as much as double.

So your “New Technology” is actually a regression in product quality, all in the name of marketing, court case & profits.

• Nagaraj B.V. on Apr 09, 2019 at 5:57 pm

I would like to try cos i am a mechanical maintenance sup on oil rig at oman

• BabyLon on Apr 09, 2019 at 11:25 pm

Why we compromise if we can get the best fully syntentic engine oil in Giant/Tesco with less than RM100? Why we still need to pay RM160 to buy lower grade fully syntentic oil?

• dekat tesco dengan giant smua ciplak.. xleh pakai..tambah air tu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Damira Nadia on Apr 11, 2019 at 4:28 pm

I’ve always used shell HX7 for many years after that came out with HX8, it gets even better. I began to save cost and energy and protects my car.

• Not often a product adapts to our way of driving. Thats the main reason why I’ll use this oil.

• Ho yih feng on Apr 13, 2019 at 11:23 pm

Shell is always my brand

• jeevan on Jun 19, 2019 at 9:56 am

dear Paul,
    please recommend me a fully synthetic oil for altis 1.8 /2015
    , i travel daily seremban to klang.
    im confused .
    thanks

• Dean DeMarco on Jun 27, 2019 at 11:13 am

Been using this 5w40 for K3VET 180whp for daily usage. Not bad the performance. The engine felt lighter and smoother. I bought directly from the Shell Station.

• I tried scanning bar code behind the peel off sticker. It leads me to Shell official site.
    No mention of the oil being original or fake. Can anyone help.