PDAM in support of monthly fuel pricing mechanism

The Petrol Dealers Association of Malaysia (PDAM) has stated that it supports a (return to a) monthly pricing mechanism instead of the current practice of weekly fuel pricing, The Star reports. We are currently into the 21st week of the mechanism which began January 1 this year.

Although the association preferred the government’s current fixed pricing for RON 95 petrol and diesel, it acknowledged that it was the government’s prerogative for handling its fiscal policy, said PDAM president Datuk Khairul Annuar Abdul Aziz. He added that the association is in favour of a monthly pricing mechanism should a price float for RON 95 petrol and diesel be reintroduced.

“We are eagerly awaiting the final mechanism, as we have not been consulted,” Khairul Annuar said. Last month, domestic trade and consumer affairs minister Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail said the price cap on RON 95 petrol may be removed once the targeted fuel subsidy scheme takes effect, although no decision has been made yet.

The government also said last month that the subsidy, expected to be limited to cost of living allowance (BSH) recipients, will likely be banked in directly into the accounts of those eligible. The ministry plans to use the BSH to finalise the number of those eligible for the aid, Saifuddin reiterated.

“They are currently cleaning up the data and are at the final stages. We want to ensure the data is credible – the deserving must be included and those who do not deserve assistance must be removed,” Saifuddin said last month.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Damon Lee on May 28, 2019 at 11:57 am

New gahmen backs cronies, cronies supports gahmen. This is worse than the previous one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Demon on May 28, 2019 at 4:26 pm

No lah..dsn is the worst so lks said no need to debate

• JOACHIM on May 28, 2019 at 11:05 pm

He tells you turd is gold and you believed him, right?

• JOACHIM on May 29, 2019 at 12:35 am

You left your brains in the hands of a politician? Schiess! No wonder Malaysian level of education is going down the drain. When you’re that gullible, who needs brains.

• Dong gor on May 28, 2019 at 12:10 pm

Remove the fuel subsidy all together, but don’t forget to remove the excise duty of cars. Fair? Auto bank in base on income group is not fuel subsidy man! Stop penalizing ppl who pay high taxes to build the country.

• tender on May 28, 2019 at 10:39 pm

Past 60 years, ppl pay high taxes to build the country. Past 60 years, ppl who stole from ppl.

• thepolygon on May 28, 2019 at 12:38 pm

PDAM aka Bisnes gerenti untung Malaysia ,

• John Doe on May 28, 2019 at 2:08 pm

Seriously, let’s go to daily rate like all other world doing ..One and for all close this stupid case, wasting time

• Penerima Dedak Apa Malu on May 28, 2019 at 2:19 pm

These entrepreneurs should immediately stop depending on four legged walker asking from ruler!

• mujinkun (Member) on May 28, 2019 at 3:22 pm

We already paid for fuel subsidy for our selves during purchasing bikes, car, lorry in Malaysia already. So, please control Malaysia Fuel pricing(if you need to give back our money in subsidy, give back to us). No need to selection only for B40. We are Malaysian and we cast a vote during election.

Dont copy BN lah PH…

• John Doe on May 28, 2019 at 3:36 pm

Whether it goes 20c up or 20c down it’s the same.
    Regardless of what you do it is going to be the same.
    It would be more beneficial if someone goes back to the road rolling, at least it would be more entertaining.