DS7 Crossback SUV launched in Malaysia – RM199,888

The first dedicated DS model, the DS 7 Crossback, has finally been launched in Malaysia, seven months after the fully-imported SUV made its local debut at the Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show (KLIMS). Billed as a more premium alternative to the Honda CR-V and Mazda CX-5 (and indeed, the Peugeot 3008 on which it’s based), it aims to take the fight to the likes of BMW and Mercedes-Benz.

Pricing was announced last month, with the DS 7 retailing at just under the RM200k mark, at RM199,888 on-the-road without insurance. Included in the list price is a five-year/120,000 km warranty, five years of 24-hour roadside assistance and access to the SkyLounge at Subang Skypark.

Riding on the PSA Group’s Efficient Modular Platform 2 (EMP2), the DS 7 measures 4,573 mm long, 1,906 mm wide and 1,625 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,738 mm. Aside from being larger in every dimension compared to the Peugeot, it also debuts a new design direction for the fledgling brand – one that places a heavy emphasis on the car’s unique lighting signature.

Flanking the large DS Wings grille are the trick Active LED Vision headlights, the jewel-like modules of which pivot 180 degrees to their forward positions when the car is unlocked. These lamps adjust the width and range of the beam according to the road conditions, with five modes – Town Beam, Country Beam, Motorway Beam, Adverse Weather and High Beam. Directional indicators are also fitted.

Below them, the LED daytime running lights are made up of dots and dashes, designed to look like beaded stitches. Along the sides, the shoulder lines over the front and rear wheel arches, together with the pronounced surfacing along the flanks, provide a more muscular look.

Moving to the rear of the car, you’ll find a wraparound tailgate that emphasises the slim LED tail lights, laser-etched to look like three-dimensional scales. Local models come in the sporty Performance Line trim, adding matte black highlights, Carmin Red badging and 19-inch “Beijing” Black Onyx turbine-style alloy wheels.

The stylish interior takes inspiration from luxury watchmaking and haute couture, with “Clous de Paris” guilloche engravings on the centre console toggle switches and a BRM R180 analogue clock that rotates from under the dashboard upon startup. On this Performance Line model, the entire interior is upholstered in swathes of Basalt Black Alcantara, including the seats and even the dashboard and door panels.

Front and centre is a eight-inch infotainment touchscreen that handles multimedia, the MirrorScreen feature with Apple CarPlay, Android Auto and MirrorLink connectivity, DS Connect functions and even the controls for the climate control; another 12-inch display is used as a customisable virtual instrument cluster ahead of the driver. A 14-speaker, 515-watt Focal Electra Hi-Fi sound system is also offered.

Other bits of standard kit include LED fog lights, an acoustic glass windscreen, keyless entry, push-button start, power-adjustable front seats with driver’s side memory, power-reclining rear seats with a one-touch folding function, cruise control, triple-zone auto climate control, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, a Qi wireless smartphone charger, a reverse camera and a handsfree powered tailgate.

Safety-wise, the DS 7 comes as standard with six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control and Driver Attention Warning, and like the 3008 it gets ISOFIX child seat anchors not only at the rear but on the front passenger seat as well. However, it does not come with autonomous emergency braking.

Power comes from the PSA Group’s ubiquitous Prince engine, a 1.6 litre Turbo High Pressure (THP) four-cylinder petrol engine making 165 PS at 6,000 rpm and 240 Nm of torque from 1,400 rpm. It is paired to a six-speed automatic transmission with an electronic gearlever and paddle shifters.

Available colours for the DS 7 Crossback are Nera Black, Pearl White, Absolute Red and Platinum Grey. Also introduced today is the DS Only You service, which provides customers with a concierge (DS At Your Service), the aforementioned roadside assistance (DS Assistance), local collection and delivery for servicing (DS Valet) and a MyDS App to track vehicular information on your smartphone.

Browse full specifications and equipment on CarBase.my.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• (Like) DS7 Crossback RM199,888.
    (Dislike) Toyota Camry 2.5V RM196,888

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
  • Digidigi on Jun 28, 2019 at 8:49 pm

compete with bmw and Mercedes ? Hahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • suomynona on Jun 28, 2019 at 9:23 pm

Ehh, I saw one unit at church 2 Sundays ago before this article was launched. Someone at Naza made it their test vehicle?

• Tunerz on Jun 28, 2019 at 9:44 pm

Obviously, the base design is copying from Audi SUVs. These Chinamen, good at imitate people’s ideas.. monkey see, monkey do…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 41
  • Johnny Mathiass on Jun 28, 2019 at 10:05 pm

Rather get Citroen DS7 Crossback than Hyundai Santa Fe. Later, once they buy Hyundai Santa Fe and when go servicing, it takes between 1 month to 2 months to get back Hyundai Santa Fe according from one Hyundai Owner from Facebook who is driving Elantra, especially from many Hyundai owners also said that too who are driving many Hyundai models. Plus many Hyundai owners also needed to go different location for many times. Hyundai also got many recalls. Compare to a Citroen, Citroen Service Quality is better than Hyundai. Plus Citroen Quality is also better than Hyundai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 22
    • Ahcong on Jul 01, 2019 at 8:12 am

what nonsense are talking? One or 2 months for servicing? liars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
  • Thomas Matthews on Jun 28, 2019 at 10:07 pm

This car, sad to say, won’t be able to sell in Malaysia. Malaysians are very brand loyal. And we are brand wary or brand scared.

We won’t be spending RM200k on a brand that has no long history in Malaysia.

I rather spend RM140k for a Tiguan (after discounts). At least it is from a reputable long standing German brand in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 30
  • Rocket Man on Jun 28, 2019 at 11:00 pm

Citroen Quality is better than Hyundai Quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • contender on Jun 28, 2019 at 11:30 pm

real stunner but pricing is really out RM199k … anyways will be rare sight like your Bentayga

• Beauty at its finest!

• zailani on Jun 29, 2019 at 9:13 am

Luxurious features just below RM200k. Superb.

• Shaharul on Jun 29, 2019 at 9:32 am

This car after a while cannot sell. You will see prices drop to RM130k

Then you will ask yourslef…should I buy this great car or China made X70? for RM123k

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 29, 2019 at 9:45 am

just save ur money and get a 3008

• Sick & Tired on Jun 29, 2019 at 11:39 am

Beautiful car and IMO reasonably price compared to its competitors (x1, gla, Q3).

The only issue is Naza! I am not sure if there are any changes but previously the 5 year warranty is actually 3+2. The first 3 years is provided by Citroen/Peugeot and the remaining 2 years by a 3rd party insurance company. The last 2 years warranty is a big problem! It doesn’t cover everything. Only the gearbox and engine and certain parts. And if you are just slightly late in servicing, you warranty is gone! Even if you don’t use your car, you HAVE to service it every 6 MONTHS!! If you have a valid excuse (like u were overseas), they still won’t care.

I suggest you guys do an article about the warranty provided by manufacturers in Malaysia.

• Malaysian on Jul 01, 2019 at 10:14 am

I agree with you that Naza’s reputation is not the greatest out there. But, can you show me one manufacturer that will honor their warranty when you tell them that you “don’t use the car” and just service according to mileage instead of the time (6mths/1yr) duration? Oil degrades in a car regardless of whether you use it, and I really want to know which manufacturer allows you to skip/delay services based on whatever reason..

Cheers!

• Sick & Tired on Jun 14, 2020 at 11:01 am

Almost a year late in replying, but to answer your question, BMW is not that strict when it comes to servicing, as long as the mileage doesn’t exceed the interval, they will honour the warranty. And Audi has a 1 year service interval. I am not expecting Peugeot/Citroen to honour the warranty if the servicing is done late, but give la 1 or 2 months extra if the mileage doesn’t exceed. and if the person has a valid reason, why not help them? Yes, oil does degrade, but 1 or 2 months doesn’t matter.

• truhttub on Jun 29, 2019 at 1:02 pm

I want to know who the heck is that lady!? Why she blocking the beauty behind her!!

• DS 7 very beautiful and worth than overpriced HARRIER

• the driver on Jun 29, 2019 at 8:59 pm

In a country where cheap skates abound (even those driving luxury cars included), this is going to be a hard sell. Especially when cars are priced x times more than average salaries.

• Labuanist on Jun 30, 2019 at 9:06 am

No AEB? Shame on you, even Aruz have it, NAP 2020 should make it compulsory for Malaysia.

• yawnz on Jul 01, 2019 at 6:14 pm

NAP 2020 is meant for this gomen to take a NAP until 2020 to figure it out, if they ever do.

• Darth_Zoom on Jun 30, 2019 at 11:19 am

First I would like to say that the car is very nice, but the girl in the black dress is gorgeous – would like to knw more about her spec if its ok….. LOL

• Good and beautiful car with reasonable price. The only thing is after sales service and support, spare parts pricing

• Mic Tee on Jul 05, 2019 at 8:22 pm

Was excited about the car until I saw the engine…what a major turn off. Doesn’t do justice to the beautiful car design