Mazda to CKD CX-5 2.5L Turbo, CX-8, CX-30 – report

Bermaz Auto, the official distributor for Mazda cars in Malaysia, is set to introduce the CX-8, updated CX-5 turbo, and the CX-30. According to a report by The Edge, all three SUVs will be locally assembled, and the move will see the company invest around RM200 million to upgrade its production facility in Kulim, bumping capacity from 30,000 units to 50,000 units anually.

Let’s start off with the CX-5. The handsome SUV is finally available with a turbocharged 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G four-cylinder petrol engine, producing 230 PS at 4,250 rpm and 420 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm. A six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission is standard, which routes power either to the front (2WD) or all four wheels (AWD). Average fuel consumption is rated at 12.6 km per litre (based on WLTP protocols).

The updated CX-5 also comes with G-Vectoring Control (GVC), nighttime pedestrian detection function for the Advanced Smart City Braking Support (SCBS) system, a 360-degree camera option, Apple CarPlay and Android Auto compatibility and new tweeters for the standard sound system. Extras include 19-inch alloys with dark gloss finish, Deep Red Nappa leather upholstery, real woodgrain interior trimmings, frameless rear-view mirror, and seven-inch TFT LCD instrument display and white LED ambient lighting.

In the case of the CX-30, it’s unknown exactly which powertrain option will be offered for our market, but the car is available with the automaker’s latest range of engines, including the advanced SkyActiv-X unit. However, expect the line-up to comprise of the regular naturally-aspirated petrol engines. After all, the CX-30 is positioned to fill the gap between the CX-3 and CX-5.

Updated CX-5 on the left, CX-8 on the right

The Mazda CX-8, on the other hand, was previewed at the Malaysia Autoshow recently. At the time, we were told that it could arrive either as a six- or seven-seater model, with engine options ranging from the 2.2 litre SkyActiv-D four-cylinder turbodiesel (188 hp, 450 Nm) and the 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G naturally aspirated petrol engine (192 hp, 257 Nm). A six-speed automatic is standard.

The CX-8 measures 4,900 mm long with a wheelbase of 2,930 mm, making it 350 mm and 230 mm longer than the CX-5 on those counts respectively. Standard equipment includes 19-inch alloys, automatic LED headlamps, LED fog lamps, LED tail lights, keyless entry and start, triple-zone climate control, a 10-way power-adjustable driver’s seat, MZD Connect infotainment, six airbags, Dynamic Stability Control, ABS, EBD and brake assist, traction control and Hill Launch Assist.

The base seven-seater version will get fabric upholstery, whereas the range-topping models will get leather upholstery and second-row captain chairs (with a centre console armrest). Do keep in mind that these specifications are tentative, and have yet to be confirmed. So, which one tickles your fancy?

GALLERY: 2019 Mazda CX-5 2.5L Turbo

GALLERY: 2019 Mazda CX-30

GALLERY: 2019 Mazda CX-8 at the 2019 Malaysia Autoshow

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Hidup bermaz Berjaya Mazda! Berjaya Suzuki!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Real World on Jul 23, 2019 at 10:07 am

Proton X70, Mazda CX-5, Mazda CX-8 and Mazda CX-30 is better than Hyundai Santa Fe, Hyundai Kona and Hyundai Tucson, Toyota CH-R and Honda HR-V

• Apa..?? on Jul 23, 2019 at 12:01 pm

Bermaz=Berjaya mazda, then Bersu=Berjaya suzuki?

• Mario Mamak on Jul 23, 2019 at 9:46 pm

Apa nu cakap? Apa yang > all, boleh explain?

• CX-5 2.5L Turbo : RM198k
    CX-8 : RM208k
    CX-30 : RM138k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
  • SmallFry on Jul 23, 2019 at 10:12 am

2.5L Turbo CX-5 …. 200k?

• Petra on Jul 23, 2019 at 11:12 am

Right up matey. sell for AUD 50k here in Oz, any lesser bargain in Msia. the X3 competitor.

• SmallFry88 on Jul 23, 2019 at 10:14 am

CX-5 2.5L turbo… 200k?

• big fry on Jul 23, 2019 at 10:22 am

only competitor is the turbo forester

• 25or6to4 on Jul 23, 2019 at 10:50 am

Expected price 176k

• Robyn Bankes on Jul 23, 2019 at 1:02 pm

The price points for the various 2.5ltr. models will be interesting to see when the models are released. We already know the prices in countries such as the US, Canada, Australia, however they won’t have any relation to our Malaysian price…..unfortunately!

I’m assuming they will retain the regular NA 2.5, then add either another one or two variants of the turbo, as Mazda have done in the US.

The US has the Grand Touring Reserve as their first turbo entry which has nothing much else added apart from the turbo. Then you move on to the top of the line Signature, with Nappa leather seats and a few other extras such as ventilated seats.

The CX5 is a nice car but the key to the success of the updated models will obviously be the price point for those wanting a SUV with a limited and specific budget.

My guestimate on the basic 2.5ltr turbo would be around mid to high RM170’s, with perhaps another RM10K premium on top of that for a Signature type styling.

I guess we will find out soon.

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 23, 2019 at 4:26 pm

Dealer said 2.5T about 180k. The updated CX5 will be sold at 167k and will come with front power seats with driver memory, better instrument cluster, apple Carplay, 360 view camera, GVC+, driver attention alert and rear smart city brake support. No word on the CX30 yet.

• Henry Lim on Jul 23, 2019 at 11:44 am

Hope Mazda don’t give up CX-5 2.0, when launch CX-30 in Malaysia.

• Still NO MRCC… Let down… Since it’s turbo n CKD, why not include it… If this is 180k then still a’ fair ‘positioning while the m6 is ridiculous from 17x for 2.0 for IPM onwards while 2.5 at 211k. Hence next m6 will be 220k min for 2.5

• Mei Lee on Jul 23, 2019 at 5:27 pm

Lee Kok Chuan (Bermaz CEO) said, we Malaysian tak layak dapat MRCC. What to do? Better buy CR-V if you want the tech.

• Mei Lee on Jul 24, 2019 at 9:03 am

Not a bad suggestion. But, CR-V ACC works until speed = 0 km/h, not for X70.

• Jinggo on Jul 23, 2019 at 12:01 pm

CX30 at RM120K?

• Good move Bermaz! Take my money!!! CX-5 2.5T 0-0100 is surely under 8secs. Tiguan with its wet dual-cluth can now be removed from my waiting list hahaha

• Norlia on Jul 23, 2019 at 12:43 pm

why not X70?

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 23, 2019 at 4:32 pm

It’s about 7.6 seconds which puts it in the same category as the Toyota Harrier 2.0T….which is a shame for Mazda. Those official power figures don’t add up properly to me.

• Yeah but the high specs need to pay xtra 50-60k…this model is around 180k. Plus kodi design turns me ON!!!

• Mason on Jul 23, 2019 at 12:16 pm

At last, i am glad to hear that cx-30 will be ckd. Hope the price will not >140k when it launch.

• MRCC still not available in CKD ?

• Yeap Li on Jul 23, 2019 at 5:31 pm

Sadly no (according to several salesmen). They said it is due to cost. Malaysian cannot afford the tech. Too expensive! Thailand CX-5 (some variant) is equipped with MRCC and they are assembled in Malaysia. For Malaysian, Bermaz does not want to give the tech to us. Even add-on with additional cost. We can only retrofit the original MRCC but that will also void the warranty. Sad Bermaz.

• Darren on Jul 23, 2019 at 1:38 pm

At the high prices they are selling now? They need all the luck they can get and many foolish customers.

• Work hard la brother. If everyone is like you, nobody will buy merz n bmw…

• Hong Yee Hong on Jul 23, 2019 at 3:04 pm

SUV SUV SUV SUV SUV SUV SUV SUV SUV SUV SUV SUV SUV SUV SUV SUV SUV SUV…
    Puke.

• Since when the petrol 2.5l produce 420nM of torque

• Mew Li on Aug 03, 2019 at 11:08 pm

I dont believe theres “like” in your comment. We’re talking about the 2.5 Turboooo. Not the current 2.5

• Monana on Jul 24, 2019 at 1:19 am

Better buy X70. Cheaper, got ACC, proper 6-speed AT too (unlike CR-V with CVT)

• Hayenadeblue on Jul 24, 2019 at 1:23 am

Meanwhile in Mazda showrooms “We dont give MRCC because Malaysian drivers drives badly”, said the salesman. Urhh, are they too ignorant to know that X70, X-Trail, CR-V and even Ioniq got the ACC? And they are cheaper too!

• Mei Li on Jul 25, 2019 at 11:54 am

And soon, Forester will be equipped with EyeSight too! Shame on you Bermaz (Mazda)

• Chris P. Bacon on Jul 24, 2019 at 9:29 am

If Mazda want to increase volume of sales, they need to be very astute with their price points.

Their SUV range are attractive cars but once their prices go over certain tipping points, I believe buyers will be swayed by lower costs of similar segment cars from other manufacturers.

I think we have already seen this, in part anyway, with the X70 chewing into the sales of SUVs such as Honda’s CRV.

Less greed and smarter marketing from Bermaz could make all the difference to the success of this Mazda range, in my opinion anyway.

• Mazda CX-5 Turbo has very good reviews in US, Australia and Europe. Apart from its outstanding looks, it drives and handles extremely well. If the price is competitive, it would be a sure seller. I hope Bermaz would price this car under RM180k, which I think would be about the right price.

However, I am a little disappointed with Bermaz’s salesmen whom I have met, whom I felt was rather snobbish, which puts me off.