UMW Toyota to retail the A90 Supra via its GR Garage

While the Toyota Gazoo Racing (TGR) Festival is helping UMW Toyota push the sporting aspect of the brand to the public, it won’t be the only avenue to promote TGR-related activities in the country in the coming future. The upcoming arrival of the A90 Toyota GR Supra here will also see the introduction of GR Garage, a new activity hub to promote all things Gazoo Racing.

Mention was made of GR Garage during the launch of season three of the Toyota Gazoo Racing (TGR) Festival earlier this week, and we’ve learnt that the garage will sell all GR cars, starting with the Supra, and will also showcase a line-up of special models inspired and derived from Toyota’s motor-racing involvement.

These outlets will be located within a dealership, where they will have a dedicated corner complete with GR branding. According to a source within the company, a total of six GR Garages across the country have been planned, and while specific locations haven’t been disclosed, we understand that aside from the Klang Valley, the GR Garage presence will extend to the north and south regions.

We already know the new Supra is set to make its local debut in September, the announcement being made at the season three TGR launch. No word yet on the specifications of the Malaysian car, but we were told on the sidelines about the identity of the powertrain that should be seen on it, and this will be the 3.0 litre turbocharged straight-six.

No indications of pricing, but a vague benchmark is provided by the Supra’s close cousin, the G29 BMW Z4, and that retails at RM479,800 on-the-road without insurance in its 2.0 litre four-pot sDrive30i form, so it’s safe to say we shouldn’t be expecting the Supra to be priced lower than that.

GALLERY: A90 Toyota GR Supra at GIIAS 2019

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Garage not Garbage on Jul 26, 2019 at 12:43 pm

Start saving sekenhen 3yo Supra recon 160k ..

• Brian on Jul 26, 2019 at 1:50 pm

Old Supra more valuable than this cheap knock off.

• halloha560 on Jul 26, 2019 at 2:53 pm

At least Old Supra is better than this as well

• Dollah Said on Jul 27, 2019 at 9:33 am

I wish Proton had a super car like this I can be proud of. The best Proton could do is Putra and Suprima.

I want to buy local made supercar as I am patriotic

Why for 30 years, despite RM20 billion in bailouts, Proton did not come out with their own super car?

• Fintan Tan on Jul 27, 2019 at 7:21 pm

You cannot expect much from UMW. They are after all a GLC and have no ability to run a business properly. People tend to blame Toyota Japan for the low spec Toyota cars in Malaysia.

Well, the blame should be the UMW staff who failed the rakyat of Malaysia. They should have negotiated with Toyota Japan for higher spec cars for the rakyat of Malaysia.

After all, Toyota Japan is a business. It shows that UMW have no business acumen nor negotiating skills.

• guan yin ma on Jul 26, 2019 at 1:26 pm

No import duty. WE have trade free agreement with japan. Unless they want to learn from berjaya mazda selling MX-5 @ 250k by adding huge profit margin. A similar made in japan cbu CHR only sell at 150k, so the supra should be in the 330k region after taxes.

• BeemerFreak on Jul 26, 2019 at 2:48 pm

Excise duties still have la dei, 105% based on category.

• Wilson on Jul 26, 2019 at 3:33 pm

UMW should get CKD 35% Excise duties based on category. The BMW based Toyota Supra, made in BMW local assembly plant in Kulim.

• Bernard Chandran on Jul 26, 2019 at 10:30 pm

Government is spending too much of money to support Proton.
      RM4.89 billon from excise duty. So, this is why other cars kena kaw kaw excise duty to subsidise Proton

https://paultan.org/2019/07/15/govt-lost-out-on-rm4-89-bil-in-excise-duty-on-locally-assembled-vehicles-from-2015-to-2017-ags-report/

• Logical Deduction on Jul 27, 2019 at 9:42 am

Perodua – 41%
        Proton – 18%

Which is government supporting by raising excise duties? Certainly not Proton.

• aduhh on Jul 28, 2019 at 3:54 am

the supra is made in Austria so it wont benefit from Japan zero import duty..

• Levin on Jul 29, 2019 at 10:21 am

Comparing CHR to MX-5, that’s not apple to apple my friend. Besides that, CHR sold here are not CBU from Japan. Its actually CBU Thailand and lots of Toyota supporters are being conned to buy low spec 1.8L CHR with a premium price tag. Even the Thais get better speced CHRs in their own country.
      Besides the point, UMW doesn’t need to learn from anyone on how to jack up the price tag… they are the pioneers in selling cheap quality, low spec cars for a premium. Just look at the 2.5L Camry and its already selling at 200k. Double that figure and add additional commission/expenses that will be spent on the so called “GR Garage”… you’ll see the Supra retail at over RM500k figure. Oh yeah, they also need the funding to support TGR VIOS Challenge cup races… so go figure.

• 600k should be the benchmark for the Supra, I can’t see it being any lower than that given it attracts the maximum of all duties applied.

• For 600k, you can buy a GTR with supercar performance instead of sportscar Supra. And still have enough left to further tune the GTR. The Supra’s main advantage will be new car warranty but I believe some will void that with mods for more power. Let’s face it: anything below 400 hp feels slow nowadays when a hatch already has more than that.

• Gone are the days where you can buy a brand new GTR for 600k. Its hovering around a million ringgit, 600k ones are used or recon units, and you don’t really want to buy a used supercar do you. Even in England the GTR now costs over 75k pound, no way with our taxes and duties its 600k.

• vVivi Zurianti on Jul 27, 2019 at 7:22 pm

Toyota unveil a bit this, a bit that…..now getting tired and lil sick about the Supra.

The trend and hype would just fizzled out sooner or later. probably no one will care this gaijin supra.