Thailand police to crack down on big bikes?

For safety reasons, the Thailand Transport Ministry has announced plans to limit speed for big bikers, as well as prohibit lane splitting for motorcycles above a certain engine size. This was reported by English language Thai website udona2z where a limit of 80 km/h is proposed for big bikes in built-up areas.

According to Thai authorities, big bikes will be prohibited from lane splitting and will have to wait in lane with other traffic. They will also be limited to a maximum speed of 80 km/h, said the unnamed source.

Additionally, the ministry will require riders of big bikes to obtain licenses specific to the capacity of the motorcycle they are riding. Riders will undergo special field tests and require to adequately handle simulations of dangerous traffic situations.

For foreign riders, it will be compulsory to show motorcycle licenses before being allowed to rent big bikes, which was not previously required. From the report, fatalities involving foreign riders has risen over the past years, mainly involving speed or riding under the influence.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Ex-VGM staff on Sep 25, 2019 at 5:45 pm

Must install speed limiter on big bikes – 110kmh.

• Malaysia Bila on Sep 25, 2019 at 5:59 pm

Malaysia should also implement this ASAP. Wait in line bikers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
    • Ah Chong on Sep 25, 2019 at 6:27 pm

No way. If bikers wait in line, more jam for us motorist!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Powerboost on Sep 25, 2019 at 7:33 pm

Those big bikers riding in konvoi – terutama yg nonggang Bmw motorrad shud observed safety.

• Benelli on Sep 25, 2019 at 10:15 pm

Yea, good idea, a 1km traffic jam will become 2km congestion because bikes have to queue up like cars..

• Siam kap on Sep 25, 2019 at 6:06 pm

Stupid ruling. Many rich riders of big bikes in SG & MY convoys into Thailand with their bikes. If they start cracking down, they can say bye bye to this chunk of tourism. Judging by their lackluster economy, they can’t afford such a negative effect. Yet again, another bombastic law that enters into their bureaucratic grind of perpetual redtape and in the end forgotten. As usual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 39
    • Kiam sap on Sep 25, 2019 at 7:06 pm

Wow, as if that many tourists are unlicensed bikers. Way to insult a neighbouring country, talking like your money is so big and they are so poor. I doubt anyone would notice. Meanwhile you should get your licence asap if you want to keep riding.

• Hafiz Hisham on Sep 26, 2019 at 1:17 am

How many can own big bikes but cannot afford for license? Nonsense talk. These people are richer than your kapcai owners, to them license is small matter.

• U sendri xtau berapa banyaknye motor besar pegi konvoi kat Thailand selalu.

• Susukotak on Sep 25, 2019 at 7:41 pm

who look stupid with this comment?

• kaizer on Sep 26, 2019 at 9:48 am

What an arrogant statement. Look in the mirror first before insulting others.

• Sohai on Sep 26, 2019 at 10:10 am

They can’t afford? Are you sure?
      Do you know our ringgit is dropping like stone against the baht?
      We can’t afford to go there is more like it.

Shouldn’t look down on Thailand.
      This potential law came about because of issue of road safety. Debate along those line. They cited that lots of foreign riders kill in accident. You want to dispute that? Come out with your number.

• Ex-UMW staff on Sep 25, 2019 at 8:05 pm

Good for big bikes. reason to apply here as well. No lane splitting. Let the arrogance stay in que.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • And making traffic jam even even worse? Yes, definitely a good idea worthy of noble praise

• Ex-VGM staff on Sep 26, 2019 at 4:42 pm

Big bikes aren’t that many you idiot. Millions of small bikes, those we allow to pass through. No problem.

• big_bike_to_small_bike on Sep 26, 2019 at 10:30 am

so this proposed ruling only effect on big bike?

underbone still can filter as usual ?

• vVivi Zurianti on Sep 26, 2019 at 10:33 am

Wanna see big bikes riding dangerously? Go see and witness it yourself on the way to Genting Highland.

I give you another tip: Do it during weekends and public holiday. This tip is specially for the Govt authorities and road/traffic enforcement abang-abang. I give you free national service, ok?

While you are on it, you might be lucky to see cars doing “touge” like nobody business at the winding mountain roads. Driving dangerously, hooliganism, speeding, overtaking on the wrong side, etc. Legal or not, I let the abang-abang enforcers with eyes to see, with ears to listen and brain to think and decide…

I am doing another national service…All free for the love of Malaysia.

• Martin on Sep 26, 2019 at 10:04 pm

Instead of new non sense rules for bikes better to enforce existing rules for cars, they must learn not to use their f…ing Phone while driving, use signal when they want to turn or change lane and lastly look into their side mirror, that’s more simple. Look what Australian police is doing, enforcing usage of phone while driving.

• Sohai on Sep 27, 2019 at 2:06 pm

Why is it nonsense? Bikers are more vulnerable to death if involve in an accident. And they tend to travel in higher speed than the traffic flow, going in between cars, and often without signals too.

Do you see thousands of kapchai on the streets of Australia? No? Is a totally different road environment all together, causes of accidents are different, hence priorities are different.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 27, 2019 at 12:18 am

should also nab all the datuk rempits here

• Furion3 on Jan 08, 2020 at 10:17 am

one thing is certain when i see Malaysians speak to each other. When they don’t agree with someone else’s comment, they mock, antagonise, belittle, name calling and get very personal.
    Please, if you don’t agree, present your points and opinion, no need to attack. Be responsible, even behind a computer screen.