FIRST LOOK: V177 Mercedes-AMG A35 4Matic Sedan

Nothing gets the crowd all riled up like a go-fast Mercedes-Benz compact car these days, and here to continue the modern tradition is the newly-launched V177 Mercedes-AMG A 35 4Matic Sedan. The fully-imported A 35 retails at RM348,888 on-the-road without insurance.

Power comes from a more potent M260 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol (plucked from the A 250), tuned to produce an impressive 306 hp at 5,800 rpm and 400 Nm of torque from 3,000 to 4,000 rpm. A seven-speed AMG Speedshift 7G dual-clutch transmission is standard, rocketing the compact sedan from 0-100 km/h in 4.8 seconds when Race-Start launch control is engaged. The variable AMG Performance 4Matic all-wheel drive system is standard.

To complement the extra grunt, the A 35 Sedan gets uprated suspension with unique axle geometry, aluminium control arms, adaptive a four-link rear suspension setup taken from the outgoing A 45, adaptive dampers all round, additional diagonal bracing to improve turn-in, toe and camber stability, as well as larger cross-drilled brake discs (350 mm up front, 330 mm behind).

FIRST LOOK: V177 Mercedes-AMG A35 4Matic Sedan

Suspension continues to be provided by MacPherson struts at the front – with unique axle geometry and lightweight aluminium control arms – and a four-link setup at the rear that uses components from the outgoing A 45. Local models also get adaptive dampers as part of the AMG Ride Control suspension, along with speed-sensitive electro-mechanical sports steering and AMG Dynamics torque vectoring by braking.

Other model-specific features include the full AMG Line styling package, huge 19-inch five-twin-spoke alloy wheels, twin 10.25-inch screens, Mercedes-Benz User Experience (MBUX) infotainment system with the “Hey Mercedes” Linguatronic voice control, AMG instrument cluster, and AMG Performance steering wheel upholstered in Nappa leather and Dinamica microfibre.

The A 35 is also the first model in Malaysia to receive Mercedes me connect services, a series of internet-enabled features that will be rolled out to other future models. Find full specifications of the A 35 4Matic Sedan on CarBase.my.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• ex ex ex on Sep 27, 2019 at 6:21 pm

tbh, it is better to buy lexus than mercedes. This comes with 5 years lexus warranty vs 4 years mercedes warranty. Yet, lexus service is better condition than mercedes. Of course, I rather take lexus es than mercedes a sedan because of cheaper and more reliable

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 282 Thumb down 56
    • Mercedes had been winning so many championship in motorsports including F1, and they are the inventor or Automobile, they are the pioneer in safety with inventions such as ABS, airbag etc, the design is so classy beautiful and their vehicles are being developed based on the most demanding conditions in Nurburgring and Autobahn etc…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 251 Thumb down 26
      • 350k. wiser to buy the V90 T6 R-Design, krik…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • Merdeces cars are very bad, service also very bad. Better to buy Proton X70 because Proton service is good, X70 features very complete, price very worth and more space inside

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
        • Putu piring on Sep 28, 2019 at 10:45 am

Hahaha! Comparing Proton with a luxurious international carmaker is absolutely a game over comparison Mario… It’s still more sensible if you compare Proton with game changing Perodua, Toyota, Mazda, Hyundai, Honda and Nissan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
        • Salleh on Sep 29, 2019 at 7:11 pm

Proton never progress because they say Proton is the BMW of Asia

Same with Uitm, they say better than Cambridge University of UK

Kelakar betul

• Troll Hunter on Sep 30, 2019 at 12:32 pm

Yes kunta we bilip you!

• Troll Hunter aka John on Sep 30, 2019 at 1:16 pm

yes john, we bilip you. No dedak no cry

• Lolwhut? on Sep 30, 2019 at 5:31 pm

Why so butthurt when troll hunter caught you? Still having nightmares of john haunting you? Everywhere you see there is a john.

• Abdul Ghaffar on Sep 27, 2019 at 10:11 pm

Proton should learn from Mercedes how to be innovative and creative.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
      • Darus Ismail on Sep 27, 2019 at 10:47 pm

Our Proton also got loke Nurburing and Autobahn…..It is Glenmarie.. or Pekan

• andrew on Sep 30, 2019 at 9:34 am

Btw, airbag and ABS is not invented by mercedes
        Pioneer for safety for me is volvo
        The same brand who invented the 3 pointed seatbelts and gave the patent away for free
        they also made blind spot monitoring, side impact protection, whiplash and many more

• Yusof Talha on Sep 27, 2019 at 7:57 pm

I hope no Proton fanboy come here and say this engine will go into Proton cars just because Geely owns 10% of Mercedes Germany

If like that, nobody will buy Mercedes anymore lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • Troll Hunter on Sep 28, 2019 at 10:51 am

Only antiProton trolls would compare it with Mercedes & Volvo then bash Proton for not being on par with these luxury brands.

• this is nothing. I have seen PRroton fanboys who say that BMW copied Proton with the gen 2 design.

syok sendiri betol! lolz

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 27, 2019 at 8:18 pm

Aiyo what are u doing comparing this to the ES la. The Benz is a fast hot compact sedan while the ES is a slow moving huge boat which rolls when u corner. If u want to compare u are better off comparing it with the E Class but then when u look at what people are buying and driving on the road here u pretty much guess people are buying more E Classes than the ES, RX and NX combined sales and lets not mention how many C Classes u can see here too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • 25yrsOld on Sep 27, 2019 at 9:32 pm

Today, this name does justify it’s comfort and features available.

It’s simply between the New Benz’s E200 and S450L.
      Lexus ES 250L – My boss went for test drive has booked one to replace his BMW 530i M.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
      • Jaguh on Sep 28, 2019 at 11:14 am

He must be thinking it is less complicated and less tech and hope that no prob

• GlassLock on Sep 27, 2019 at 6:37 pm

Kia Stinger is better than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 24
  • Wait, that just a bigger Rim from the new Saga isn’t? Hehe