Renault Malaysia teases arrival of new Koleos facelift

TC Euro Cars (TCEC) has teased the arrival of the facelifted Renault Koleos, which was first revealed back in June this year, with a post on Renault Malaysia’s Facebook site. Interested customers can begin registering their interest by clicking on the link above, or just head on over to our Premium Auto Car Expo (PACE) 2019 event happening next weekend, November 2 and 3, at the Setia City Convention Centre to check out the car in the flesh!

Styling revisions that are part of the facelift include a more prominent front grille with new chrome trimmings, which sits between the Pure Vision LED headlamps and C-shaped light signatures. You’ll also find a new trim piece running across the width of the front bumper that divides the upper and lower aprons – the latter sees redesigned fog lamp enclosures, smaller fog lamps and a more pronounced skid plate.

Moving to the rear of the SUV, there’s a silver-painted skid plate placed just below revised chrome garnish that doubles as faux exhausts. Other exterior updates include new two-tone alloy wheels and a Vintage Red metallic paint finish, although it isn’t known if we’ll get either.

Changes to the interior are more subtle, with new soft materials and satin inlays applied to certain areas to give the Koleos a more upmarket feel on the inside. Elsewhere, the rear seats sport a two-stage reclining seat back, while the 8.7-inch R-Link 2 touchscreen infotainment system now supports Apple CarPlay and Android Auto.

The current Koleos on sale here is powered by a 2.5 litre NA four-cylinder petrol engine with 171 PS and 226 Nm of torque, which is paired to an X-Tronic CVT driving the front wheels, and it is likely this powertrain will be retained for the facelift as well.

2020 Renault Koleos facelift

2016 Renault Koleos 2.5L 2WD (Malaysia-spec)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Dredd on Oct 25, 2019 at 8:55 pm

CX8 and Santa Fe killer is here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 25, 2019 at 11:18 pm

unless you plan to fit the extra 2 people in the boot…i dont see how its a killer. in fact this car is pretty dead on arrival. why buy this when you can buy the x70?

• Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Oct 29, 2019 at 9:17 am

You cannot compare continental car to cheap China rebadged car.

• Real LLort on Oct 29, 2019 at 1:10 pm

This is also a rebadge from China.. don’t you know that?

• No, this game changer is the X70 killer here. People will for sure choose French beauty over some unkown China SUV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • Awang Selamat on Oct 26, 2019 at 6:01 pm

I see so many Renaults now. Amazing. Once dead but they decided to work hard and make an effort in Malaysia.

No more lepak, goyang kaki and mintak bantuan kerajaan amongst Renault Malaysia staff.

See now. Sales are so good. They are doing super well. No need to sell to China company and still can retain your sovereignty and increase your sales through sheer hard work

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
      • P.Alyanna on Oct 27, 2019 at 11:59 pm

Interesting… Where did you these “so many Renaults”? AFAIK I don’t see many, maybe one a day if I’m lucky to spot one. You seem to be lying here for certain reasons.

• Real LLort on Oct 29, 2019 at 1:12 pm

I also thinking the same thing.. I can say I saw many Peugeot than Renault. Heck, I haven’t seen any Renault yet this year!

• tiadaid (Member) on Oct 29, 2019 at 11:15 am

Really? Because you’re talking bullcrap.

Tan Chong is probably the WORST distributor ever. Just look at how they screwed up Nissan, from being the leading Japanese brand in the 1980s to being a distant 3rd!

They can’t even price the Renaults properly. All the cars they offer, even a B-segment Clio was priced above 100K. Who want to buy a bloody Renault Clio at that price? Only when they lower the price down can they clear stock – I should know because I bought a Fluence at 89K.

Tan Chong is the symbol of laziness that you are trying to racistly imply to others!

• Last time Renault wanted to merge with Proton. We even had a Proton with a Renault engine. Just that Proton was too lembap to market the car well. Savvy and Tiara were good cars, just that Proton did not have competent people to market these wonderful continental engined cars.

Now pity Malaysians. We are stuck with China engines in our Proton. Otherwise we will have so many Renault rebaded as Protons in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Tiara was a Citroen AX from PSA in Proton dress, not a Renault.
        And Savvy suffered mostly from it’s automated manual gearbox, not the engine.

• P.Alyanna on Oct 28, 2019 at 12:01 am

I don’t see what is the problem here. If you are referring to X70, I see more X70s than I do with Koleos, Megane, Captur put together. Save your breath, Proton is moving in the right direction.

• Empire on Oct 29, 2019 at 1:14 pm

Failed! I’d still buy China engines over this

• Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Oct 29, 2019 at 9:19 am

Anything run by ETCM should produce results. I see so many Koleos on our roads. Not bad for being a new product in the Malaysian market.

French/Japanese technology is far far far more reliable than China product.

• tiadaid (Member) on Oct 29, 2019 at 1:21 pm

Really? I hardly ever see any Koleos on the road.

Heck, I hardly ever see a Koleos undergoing regular service at the Renault SC whenever I sent my Fluence in for its service!

• Silthice on Oct 26, 2019 at 3:10 am

I thought Renault gonna bring in Triber to disrupt and shock Malaysia market?

• You knowla who runs Renault Malaysia, the same owners that ran down Nissan in Malaysia. You think those unkers sleeping in Tan Chong know what is disruption & shock? They are more likely have syiok sendiri syndrome thinking their brands are still strong.

• Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Oct 29, 2019 at 9:21 am

Being prudent past few years means they got billions in cash reserves. Unlike the Basikal Lajak clan who like to be flamboyant and waste money….until need bailouts

• This could have been Proton Koleos if Proton was not so arrogant when Renault wanted to kahwin Proton.

• kebal on Oct 28, 2019 at 6:08 pm

2 times Proton left the deal with big manufacturers. VW wanted Proton, it could’ve been such a good deal. Imagine an ASEAN specific budget cars, like how Skoda and SEAT are budget cars for European markets.

• stastata on Oct 27, 2019 at 11:14 am

Renault-Nissan better Alliance since Ghosn left

• if its based on the xtrail, the jatco gearbox will surely fail and good luck on claiming warranty

• kumbaya on Oct 26, 2019 at 9:04 pm

They can tease what they like, no one will buy.

• kumbaya on Oct 26, 2019 at 9:05 pm

They can tease what they like, no one will buy.

• Why the grill reminds me of X70

• Amran on Oct 28, 2019 at 9:30 am

I have one renault at home.. Proton Savvy is my 1st renault..