One sen per week fuel price increase when PSP starts next year is just a suggestion, not finalised – Saifuddin

It was reported yesterday that RON 95 petrol prices will move up by one sen per week till it reaches the market price, once the petrol subsidy programme (PSP) starts next year. Harian Metro quoted deputy minister of domestic trade and consumer affairs Chong Chieng Jen saying that as he answered a question in parliament.

At the Kempen Beli Barangan Malaysia event by Petronas this morning, KPDNHEP minister Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail clarified that the “one sen per week increase” is not finalised and has not been green-lighted by the cabinet.

“About the implementation of PSP, the annoucement on October 7 was agreed by the cabinet, hence the announcement. From then till the start of implementation in January 2020, the ministry will continue to do preperations: to engage various parties to come up with ideas to ensure the smoothness of implementation,” he said.

“In these many discussions, there’s the setting of price when implementation starts. We discuss many things, and one of it that has not been finalised was the answer given by the deputy minister yesterday. What’s the status? It’s not finalised yet,” Saifuddin added.

“Yesterday, my deputy answered a supplementary question, and he spoke about the suggestion of price increase (one sen per week). I want to say here that that’s not a certainty. That’s because the final pump price is determined by a few factors – APM (Automatic Price Mechanism), currency exchange (RM vs USD), price of crude oil at that time, MOPS (Mean of Platts Singapore) and so on,” he explained.

The KPDNHEP minister said that he will provide feedback to his colleagues in a cabinet meeting tomorrow, and announcements will be made when things are agreed upon by the cabinet. “I want to say again, that issue as reported by the media, it’s not finalised yet. Regarding PSP, it stands at what I announced on October 7. Details and periodic updates will only be given when the cabinet agrees.”

Confirmed details of the PSP scheme are as follows:

• The subsidy will only be given to car/motorcycle owners, and is limited to one vehicle per recipient. If a person owns a car and a motorbike, then he/she will receive the higher subsidy, which is for the car. The car or motorcycle must be registered under the recipient’s name.
  • The subsidy rate will be capped at RM30 a month for car owners, and RM12 a month for motorcycle owners.
  • The government will reimburse the subsidy once every four months, so car owners will receive RM120 and motorcycle owners will receive RM48 every four months. The payment method will see cash being directly credited into the recipient’s registered bank account. The first payment is scheduled for April 2020.
  • Only those who are entitled for cost of living aid (BSH) assistance, with their names listed in the BSH database for receiving such allowances, will be able to receive the new petrol subsidy. All handicapped people will also be given the subsidy.
  • The household income of the recipient must not be more than RM4,000 per month.
  • To qualify, a recipient can only own a maximum of two cars and two motorcycles at any one time in his/her household. See the info-graphic panel above for a clearer picture of what vehicle combination qualifies and what doesn’t.
  • For cars, the pre-requisite is that the engine displacement must be:
    1,600 cc or below
    – or above 1,600 cc, but only for cars that are 10 years old and above
  • For motorcycles, the pre-requisite is that the engine displacement must be:
    150 cc and below
    – or above 150 cc, but only for motorcycles that are seven years old and above

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• This is the same guy that said petrol stations will go lower than RM 2.08/L of petrol. Boleh caya ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • pomen on Nov 28, 2019 at 3:15 pm

P1 atau P2 , masih Beli Kereta Malaysia …

• SK Lim on Nov 28, 2019 at 5:40 pm

Anybody can make suggestions lah Menteri bodoh! We didn’t elect you and pay you to be making suggestions, otherwise why not you pay me to make suggestions instead. Stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • yes of course. especially who get petrol subsidy bersasar.

#betterthanprevious

• johnnas on Nov 28, 2019 at 2:40 pm

Stop fiddling with car pricings namely the extreme import and excise duties levied on imports.
    Do not aid P1 and P2. They must figure themselves out to maintain relevance in the open market.
    Free float fuel prices, no need PSP or what crap.
    Reintroduced GST but at a small percentage.
    Standardize national salary scale.

I’m no professor or what, but aren’t we better off with the above? The problem with Malaysians is we are all used to being spoon-fed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • tiadaid on Nov 28, 2019 at 3:41 pm

Dasar Ekonomi Baru there to sapot us, tiada aid to P1 and P2. Ramai hilang kerja, menganggur weh

• Dasar Ekonomi Baru is a ‘tongkat’ and because of it we have become complacent & lazy.

All these to protect P1, P2 & a certain group of people, but at what cost?

• Thats from macro perspective. How about micro perspective?
          Eg: Solving micro problem vs macro
          Cutting cost is vital for company profit.
          Monthly biggest overhead is wages.
          Will retrenchment solve the problem?

Pasal GST 6% pun kecoh satu malaysia bro. Nak revamp DEB? Tariff? Embargo? Kuota?
          It’ll take years bro.

• Bro. Basically that 3 you are asking is what doomed BN rule when they were pushing for it. You want to doom PH rule as well kah?

• PETonas on Nov 28, 2019 at 3:15 pm

I suggest increase 10cents per week terus…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Rosman on Nov 28, 2019 at 4:00 pm

Sell off Birkins bought with taxpayers money. Pffftt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
      • Birkins not as bad as unseen losses in unseen underwater tunnel project.

• Angry Voters on Nov 28, 2019 at 10:52 pm

Groveling for ur paymaster with something irrelevant again? Just like ur kind main wayang to kabur mata and then let Chin Pengs ashes come and contaminate our beautiful and free country?

• Jangan jadi bodoh on Nov 29, 2019 at 10:45 am

Tak habis habis dengan Chin Peng’s ashes. Get your head out of your ass and move on.

• Sick & Tired on Nov 29, 2019 at 7:02 pm

Sad and funny .. my fellow Msians kind so stuck with my moyang zaman kominis rhetorics , yet sapot Geely Chinas beli proton. kalau jantan .. sumbang lah kpd negara. Popek2 popek2 makchik bawang..

• Avenger on Nov 30, 2019 at 1:20 pm

“Those who do not remember their past are condemned to repeat their mistakes”
            – George Santayana

60 years of vigilance, and now Malaysians have forgotten hence we repeat the same mistake by letting him in again.

• petpet on Nov 29, 2019 at 3:22 am

ya why not.

• Anonymous on Nov 28, 2019 at 3:35 pm

Such a messy format and formula. Then again… that is to be expected from the convoluted minds of PH Govt Ministers.

Just return to BN formula. Float the fuel price according to market. Give subsidies in the form of incentives within BR1M to the lower income earners. Simple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
    • Lets See on Nov 29, 2019 at 1:07 am

Lets make it simpler, lets just return back to BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • anoninnim on Nov 29, 2019 at 3:29 am

bn formula? since when bn has formula? just follow fuel price according to market, are you crazy? if follow, today is not 2.08 per litre. brim? not all lower income earners get brim. suprisingly, unqualified one also got brim.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Then what about now? Free float prices that only eligible car owners can qualify, those pakciks makciks ahpeks aunties annehs that uses kapcais won’t qualify for subsidies. Then BSH that is equally got by unqualified persons thanks to creative accounting. So under PH the lower income gets triple whammy of not qualifying for subsidies, sharing lower amount of BSH with unqualified people, and suffering the eventual inflation coming. If you think this is the better option, then you are the crazy here.

• Anti Corrupted-Corruption Agency on Nov 29, 2019 at 7:49 am

Disagree with the implementation of BR1M. Spoon feeding the rakyat is not the answer. RM500 per year is a joke. Its more like a bribery money. Might as well the government use that RM500 to invest on something else that can benefit the county, and eventually the rakyat.

• newme on Nov 28, 2019 at 3:54 pm

“Hari ini kita ambil kuasa, esok harga minyak turun.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
  • Chris Lai on Nov 28, 2019 at 3:58 pm

fuel price will be lower if we won they said, they even lay down all the data and facts on how lower fuel price can be lower, but now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • Pakatan Kencing Rakyat has took over bro.

• Tanjung Piai ald told them that they are only 1 term government…be patient ya…only stupid will be cheated twice

• chris angel on Nov 29, 2019 at 3:39 am

unfortunately they said in 2013. 5 years ago.
      unfortunately, they lose.
      unfortunately, gov in 2013 made so many hutang.
      unfortunately, they know nothing about that.
      fortunately, they won in 2018.
      if not, today is not 2.08 per litre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Rosman on Nov 29, 2019 at 7:31 am

Dah kelentong rakyat after GE la! This is their revenge for tg piai loss. They know they will never win anymore so they go broke to make rakyat suffer before next GE

• For every one sen increased, the prices of goods will skyrocket inevitably. Then, what good would the subsidy do? The hike in prices of goods will have colossal effects not only on the B40 group, but all the rakyat. Malaysia baru my foot.

• kena kencingss

• its called urinary economic policy…please refer google…lol

• john is otak batu on Nov 28, 2019 at 5:24 pm

Anyway Rakyat already lost hope in PH in lower their cost of living.

• The cost of doing business will just go up abd passed down to consumers.

That RM120 per month will mean nothing in the end. That B40 will still suffer because they’re the most fragile, along with M40 who basically contributes to the economy and not getting anything back.

I hate to say this. We vote for betterment of our lives. Now, we got worse than previous government.

• Please la, so complicated TnC…next GE u all will be gone

• Leafable on Nov 28, 2019 at 8:40 pm

Gutless. Not only put 1 cent per week but slap 60% fuel duty on it so people would abuse the fuel utilisation. Good for the environment and save our future generation’s future.

• Every time oil increase 1 sen… teh tarik increase 20 sen… hahahahaha.. funny but its fact..

• Ji Kao on Dec 01, 2019 at 11:43 pm

Typical of this new government, initially they announce something stupid, then people get angry, after that they say it just a mere suggestion. If we don’t say anything, they will proceed. Sigh..