Petronas appoints Azrul Osman Rani as MD and CEO

Petronas Dagangan Berhad (PDB) has announced the appointment of Azrul Osman Rani as managing director and chief executive officer effective January 1, 2020. Outgoing MD and CEO Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir has resigned from both positions, and has been redesignated as a non-executive director, also effective January 1, 2020.

Syed Zainal was first appointed as vice president of marketing for downstream business in July 2017, followed by his appointment as MD and CEO in June 2018. Azrul is currently head of commercial development and JV formation at Petronas Refinery & Petrochemical Corporation (PRPC), with a second role as CEO of PRPC Utilities and Facilities.

Azrul led negotiations which culminated in the formation of the joint venture between Petronas and Saudi Aramco within the Pengerang Integrated Complex, which is Petronas largest downstream investment worth USD27 billion (RM112.3 billion), Petronas notes. In his returning role as vice president of marketing for downstream business and as board member, Syed Zainal will continue to oversee marketing activities.

“Azrul has had an illustrious career in PETRONAS in the marketing and commercial segment, ranging from trading activities, mergers and acquisitions, as well as negotiations that will complement the dynamics of the business. With over 23 years of experience in oil and gas business, I look forward to Azrul taking PDB to the next level of growth,” said Syed Zainal.

Syed Zainal drove the ‘customer-first’ mindset in the company, which transformed PDB’s business approach in delivering solutions to elevate customer experience, says Petronas. PDB’s sales volume up to September 30, 2019 increased by 6%, which the company attributed to improved stations’ productivity, a greater number of operational stations and a higher volume registered for its Primax 95 with Pro-Drive fuel.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 06, 2019 at 5:48 pm

One by one the outstanding higher performers from Najib’s era are resigning and moving on to greener fields.

Many of them were sought after and had sacrificed their highly-paid positions in their respective industries so they could serve their country and bring much needed changes but the current administration don’t like that and so they find no more reason to stay.

This is the sad fate of Malaysia, while other countries forges ahead we moved backwards at top speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 29
    • Mohd Shah Ibrahim on Dec 07, 2019 at 2:46 pm

Most GLCs are losing money because of incompetent CEOs. Better we get fresh new blood to replace them. Look at TH, needs RM10.3 bil bailout.

• Lets See on Dec 09, 2019 at 10:21 pm

TH CEO was a Mahathir mole. Is he being implicated in the bailout? Nope, they are trying to blame it on Najib which is absurd.

• What? on Dec 08, 2019 at 1:51 am

There’s so much that’s wrong to unpack here but there’s so little time. All I can say is, if you’re going to make that sort of statement, please back it up with some facts.

• Lets See on Dec 09, 2019 at 10:20 pm

EPF average payout had been above 6% yearly. Lets see how EPF without their superb performing management crew stacks up. Ay?

• Steven Matthias on Dec 08, 2019 at 7:17 pm

but most of them lined their own pockets. Heavily paid but companies losing money big time. Just like Proton.

• Steven Matthias on Dec 08, 2019 at 7:20 pm

How so? Tabung Haj got RM10.3 billion restructuring.

• I think we should get foreign manpower. Look at Proton, doing so badly, in 6 months, with a foreign CEO, Proton started to make a turnaround.

In 6 months, a foreign CEO could identify all the leakages in Proton what our local CEOs could not identify in 20 years.

With a foreign CEO, Petronas will find more oil reserves and be bigger than Exxon or Shell even.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 53
    • the driver on Dec 07, 2019 at 9:06 am

Yeah, yeah Proton get a foreign (China) manager. Sad to say, Proton has not had a meteoric comeback, what Geely has done is merely made window dressing on the current cars and marketed their own product – X70. Not much more.
      And by the way, unless you were in the oil and gas industry, finding reserved today is a totally different game and Petronas is among the best in finding oil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • Ismail Bahrain on Dec 07, 2019 at 3:18 pm

Proton is DEAD. You are the only one who sees this. It is the Boyue that is selling super well in Malaysia and all profits are repatriated back to Geely China as the car is fully CBU

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
        • P.Alyanna on Dec 07, 2019 at 10:34 pm

The only DEAD I see is your BRAIN MATTER. It must be, because what sold here is X70, not Boyue. Proton is on the revival and impressively spearheaded by their still hot selling legacy models. You just accept reality so you create your own. Just keep it to yourself yea.

• Cbu for how long 10yrs? Is going to be CKD soon

• Ismail Bahrain on Dec 07, 2019 at 3:27 pm

Are you saying all the hype about Proton is false? People here are saying Proton is doing so well. But in reality, only Geely is doing so well. Untung lah China. China is getting richer and richer off Malaysians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 08, 2019 at 1:27 am

Why should we trust a troll who cannot count. You claimed that 200k vs 80k is 4X more but any kid can you that is not true. If your math ability is worse than a kid, then your logic & understanding is pretty much the same basic level. So I find what you said hardly believable.

• Jinggo on Dec 07, 2019 at 7:18 pm

hahahaha… butthurt detected. Petronas is not a chinaman company ok.. just go play mahjong la u… useless.

• MyNewToy on Dec 09, 2019 at 6:54 am

May be work for Proton, but not MAS

• Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Dec 06, 2019 at 6:53 pm

If Government vehicles and GLC vehicles did not automatically go to Petronas stations to fill up, PDRM, JPJ, Bomba, TLDM, TUDM etc etc, Petronas would have lingkup long ago

In other countries, all brands petrol station fight for Government vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 43
    • Hafiz Hisham on Dec 07, 2019 at 10:05 am

You stupid or just plain ignorant? If you read Petronas financial statements, their bulk profits came from offshore projects in Indonesia, Vietnam, Brunei, on top their refinery in RAPID.

• Mohd Shah Ibrahim on Dec 07, 2019 at 2:48 pm

you are right. All done by the white man. All their foreign rigs and operations are all run by orang puteh

• Lets See on Dec 09, 2019 at 10:24 pm

You don’t know jack shit. Most offshores are run by an international crew and for Pet, their team are more Malaysians than most.

• eeeriz on Dec 15, 2019 at 10:32 am

Aiya, u guys know nothing about PETRONAS’ operations. Domestically i would say 99% offshore staffs are local Malaysians. Those mat sallehs are only onboard for drilling/ exploration activities. Even so lately, many were replaced by locals and asian expat lately.

• eeeriz on Dec 15, 2019 at 10:35 am

Again, don’t spit out things you don’t know. Petronas already exit Vietnam few years back. Indonesia pun not so much profit. Brunei… they are not producing oil/gas yet. RAPID, baru nak jalan. Most of Petronas’ profit came from domestic markets in Terengganu, Sarawak & Sabah waters.

• Ops terlajak on Dec 07, 2019 at 3:31 pm

Overdose lajak brader ni….

• Jawabandar on Dec 07, 2019 at 9:55 pm

Do you really think that gov vehicles only go to petronas stations to refuel? Come on do more homework bro.

• Ollie on Dec 06, 2019 at 7:56 pm

Equipped with aviation and media sector experience, Azrul the best man for the job.
    All da best !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8