Child safety seats – enforcement only after six months

The transport ministry has reiterated that enforcement action on the use of child safety seats in private cars will only begin six months after the implementation of the ruling, which comes into effect on January 1.

Transport minister Anthony Loke said that action will only be taken against errant motorists starting from July. He explained that the first six months will be used to educate and increase awareness among the public of the safety aspect of the seats, Bernama reports.

“I do not want to always focus on summons. We have said that there will be no summons for the first six months but of course after that, if the law is not enforced, then it is not effective. After six months, there has to be action taken against anyone who does not abide by the law, if not you make a mockery of the law,” he said.

Loke said that enforcement does not mean that the ministry was adopting a hard line but instead wants to ensure the safety of children. “We are not taking a hard line, but we want the public to understand. We have said it many times, and I will continue saying that this ruling is for the sake of safety. We hope that parents understand, although we may face some hardship in terms of additional costs, but it is an expense that will save the lives of your children,” he said.

He said that the ministry would look at ways to reduce the price of the child safety seats since their use would be mandatory. “We will work with the private companies, non-governmental organisations, and we will encourage the companies to sponsor needy families,” he said.

“This (subsidy for CRS) cannot be across the board for everyone, as it involves a large sum (of money). We cannot give to everyone, but maybe to the needy. The point is this policy must start, if not, we will never do it. There must be a starting point, which is Jan 1,” he added.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• UTurn M on Dec 16, 2019 at 4:48 pm

6 months later… U Turn! Jeng jeng jeng!

• lantak.je.la on Dec 16, 2019 at 6:47 pm

it’s ok, accidents won’t happen to me or my family. i drive slow, drive just nearby. satu kampung dalam keta joget-joget will act like mass-damper, macam keta F1, handling padu, no problem. tunggu je kerajaan kasi diskaun child seat baru pakai la.

• YB Albert Kunci Kunta on Dec 16, 2019 at 7:04 pm

No need enforce,Mr Anthony.IF people dont value safety of their kids..they have to be prepared for the worst.
    LOok at the no smoking campaign…smokers are coming into the centre of the kopitiam and puffing and puffing away.
    It is a shame,PH gave 12 months of education.Now smokers blatantly puff,knowing the kopitiam owners dare not tell them off.
    When u want to enforce,enforce at the earliest,not 6-12 months later ,to “educate “law breakers.
    People delight in law breaking now,cos we keep ‘educating them”.

• Zahid on Dec 16, 2019 at 9:31 pm

Typically of Loke. When he want to enforce AES, first he give waivers for samans, then every tom dick n harry was speeding. By the time he wants to do enforcement, nobody cares and AES under him became a failure. Loke from the onset had plan to fail but he planned to fail in a spectacular way.

• Apa2 Pun Boleh! on Dec 17, 2019 at 12:14 pm

The smokers semakin berani coz our lousy government system. I complained to the relevant government parties by sending pictures and details of the restaurant many times through Whatsapp. They always say will follow up but till now the same issue re-occuring. The non-smoking should be implemented even if the consumers sit outside the restaurant premises also… so its failing coz not consumers because our lousy government system.

• vivizurianti on Dec 16, 2019 at 7:16 pm

Ya, enforcement 6 months later.

For the time being it’s perfectly fine driving around with kids without child seat. It’s fine also when accident happened, passenger dies in the process.

Superb thinking, Ah Loke

• Brian on Dec 16, 2019 at 9:58 pm

Loke is saying your children’s lives don’t matter for the next 6 months. Perhaps he is hinting he won’t be sticking around as MOT for the next 6 months. What sly devil.

• Family who have more than 4 children doesn’t need to have car seat. So what’s the point if 2 children or less to have car seat? Personally I don’t have problem children with car seat but why more than 2 or 3 children didn’t need it? Is that meaning more children more safest than car seat inside?

• Soon after 6months, enforce in 2021 coz country and financially not ready to buy safe car seats. From car tint enforcement to many others, all NATO. No actions TALK only

• muhammad arshad mustapaha on Dec 17, 2019 at 11:21 am

I try to be positive… we can follow the rule but due to cost.. malaysian is so sensitive when comes to money lorr… just look at car buyer, no1 is price, no2 is fuel consumption and no3 is design yeay..

This is suggestion :
    1. For every MPV buyer, give 2 child-carseat as free added accesories.. (1 for toddler, 1 for kid)..hints: add the cost to car price earlier so buyers not notice… hehe.
    *we all know, people buy MPV bcoz of added family members in house
    2. Give tax relief claim for child carseat.
    3. Government give rebate for car manufactures like br1m.
    4. Make an awareness video on tv about child-carseat and what happen if suddenly accident, cartoon of kids being throw through front glasses and onto main road..

• Good suggestions. But to those who can’t afford to buy new car & not paying tax, the car seats itself is too expensive. Maybe we can close eye for 1 unit, but for those who have 4/5 childrens total cost would be rm1k ++. That’s a lot for B40 group. Sometimes mau byr insurance and roadtax pun x cukup ooo…

• Mr.Sensitive on Dec 19, 2019 at 8:19 am

Really? Sensitive? Masa Takde duit, golek amex beli fon baru. Masa Ada duit, beli fon baru. Buat apa? Pakai fon masa pandu tonton awareness bideo. Mantap la.