January 2020 week one fuel price – RON 97 up two sen

Well, it’s Friday, and guess what? Another weekly price announcement for RON 97 petrol. Yes, it was all supposed to conclude at the end of 2019, with things switching to the targeted petrol subsidy programme (PSP) this month.

That’s not happening, the government having announced on December 30 that the implementation of the PSP has been postponed to a later, unspecified date, and so this means that the existing structure continues until further notice.

Users of RON 97 will have to pay more for the fuel in the coming week, with the fuel being priced at RM2.65 for the January 4 to January 10 period, which is two sen more than last week.

As usual, no change to RON 95 petrol, which continues to stay at its fixed price ceiling of RM2.08 per litre. It’s the same for diesel – the price of Euro 2M diesel remains at RM2.18 per litre, and Euro 5 diesel, which costs 10 sen more, stays capped at RM2.28 per litre.

According to the finance ministry, Automatic Price Mechanism (APM) calculations show that RON 95 and diesel fuels would be priced at RM2.35 and RM2.43 per litre respectively if there were no price cap in place. It added that for the period of December 21 to 27, the government will absorb a total of RM128.24 million to subsidise these fuels.

These prices will remain effective until January 10, when the next fuel price update is made. This is the first edition of the existing weekly fuel pricing format for the year, and the 52nd outing in total for the format, which runs from Saturday until the following Friday.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• sohai on Jan 03, 2020 at 5:37 pm

Habisla petrol station operators. So high quality
    EURO4M RON 95 petrol, but RM2.08 seliter only.

• Roti john on Jan 03, 2020 at 5:56 pm

It’s 2020 and I hope in this decade, everyone can learn to be grateful and be thankful of Game-Changing PH and what you already have. Petrol is already cheap, so there is no use for asking RM1.50/L. Always complaining and asking for RM1.50/L petrol only shows that you still maintain the same Game Over mindset in this new decade.

• Engineer on Jan 07, 2020 at 12:37 pm

The joke is that some people think petrol prices is cheap and cost of living is affordable for the poor. Oh and these are the same people that claimed topping up RM20k to buy a car is no biggie. Clearly they have never left their parents house.

• I hope our regular troll does not complain about prices of petrol. I agree with him, PH and BN sama sama malas. This is because the majority who make up both the parties are so used to lazy lifestyles, always seeking bantuan kerajaan and always wanting tongkat. We need to shed this mentality in the mojority. The entitlement mentality has made Malaysia so backward.

• Malam Jumaat on Jan 04, 2020 at 12:06 pm

the problem with people saying petrol is high in Malaysia is that they don’t know how to live within their means. They earn so little but want to have many wives and 6 to 12 kids. With that kind of expenses, of course petrol will look so expensive.

Keep you expenses low, and you will see, petrol is super affordable

• Fareed on Jan 17, 2020 at 11:34 am

Why have so many kids when your income or earning power is LOW? Just cannot understand these type of mentalities. Do they have more productive and contributing efforts to do rather than making more babies .

So sad , richer population have less children while the lower income population have two to three fold more children in comparison this causing social problems if not brought up correctly. More foods, housing and job creations needed when the country economy is not expanding on par with unwanted population boomed. Just how to feed and take care these new siblings ?
        Time to put a stop to too much increase in unwanted population boomed cos they will not grow up to buy Proton cars ( to alleviate country industrialisation program but rather becoming a burden to the nation financial coffers instead)

• Graduan UiTM on Jan 04, 2020 at 12:15 pm

PDAM memebers are all UiTM graduates, they are unable to improve themselves further to earn more profits and give the rakyat savings because they lack business skills and a good foundation in business knowledge

• History Bender on Jan 06, 2020 at 3:37 pm

PDAM doesn’t set the petrol prices it is our dishonest and corrupted ministers in PH.

• Malam Jumaat on Jan 04, 2020 at 12:25 pm

Malaysia cannot reduce price of petrol because our workers are non competitive to bring economies of scale.

Malaysia we only work 3 days a week. Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday, people cannot work. They say penat and cannot work

So this is why petrol cannot go down further ie stations compete with each other.

• Say NO to BN Cybertroopers on Jan 04, 2020 at 12:29 pm

2020 also our fake team, now, no more dedak, still active and still spreading lies.

• Yusof Talha on Jan 05, 2020 at 1:53 pm

Every week I feel like vomit when I read about the people who demand cheap petrol. Already you guys get free education, now you want cheap petrol also?

• English Teacher on Jan 06, 2020 at 2:44 pm

Free education is a right. Why are you against our rakyat becoming smarter? You prefer them to stay stupid like you?

• Manifesto Dicapati on Jan 03, 2020 at 5:39 pm

I hope PH troopers don’t come here to tell us prices are cheap and PH never promised to give petrol at RM1.50 per liter. LGE has just admitted that Malaysia will go bankrupt if they had to fulfil all their promises. This is clear indication and proof that PH had made all those promises during GE14.

Don’t come here and lie to us again. All your promises are broken because you were lying to us since Day One. You and your ministers are the same species of liars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 118
    • https://paultan.org/2018/09/12/rm1-50-petrol-not-in-ph-manifesto-targeted-fuel-subsidy-for-kapcai-cars-below-1-3l-next-year/

• Lolwhut? on Jan 06, 2020 at 12:48 pm

(MMO) – Lim Guan Eng today explained the government decided to postpone rolling out its Petrol Subsidy Programme (PSP) out of concern an abrupt float of pump prices could hike living costs for those outside of the bottom 40 per cent (B40) income earners.

• Fully agree with you, once we abolish affirmative policy, bantuan kerajaan, NEP and NAP and all rakyat become equal, we all can progress well in life.

Singapore and Malaysia Merdeka merdeka same time. Why is one country first world, No 1 most competitive country in the world after US, 3rd highest GDP Per Capita in the world and super strong SGD currency?

• Wuduk on Jan 04, 2020 at 12:14 pm

sudah lah john, pls keep this site clean for 2020. Dah kalah pilihanraya, nak buat kacau lagi

• History Bender on Jan 06, 2020 at 3:35 pm

BN kalah so we can get BS like this?
        https://paultan.org/2020/01/02/finance-ministry-to-decide-on-government-vehicle-fleet-supplier/

https://paultan.org/2020/01/02/decision-to-defer-petrol-subsidy-programme-made-out-of-concern-that-cost-of-living-might-increase-lge/

Kimanis voters, you know what to do. Remind them again what happened in Tg Piai.

• Say NO to BN Cybertroopers on Jan 04, 2020 at 12:30 pm

Rm1.50/L is fake news. This already confirmed. So, this means it is YOU that have been lying all this while.

Pusing Pusing, akhirnya jatuh

• Open Letter to AlbertKunta & Perodua Fanboys on Jan 06, 2020 at 3:41 pm

The truth will set you free. So stop your lies.

• Uyghur on Jan 04, 2020 at 12:33 pm

Jangan sebar khabar buruk, macam anjing menyalak depan kedutaan, tak ada orang layan

• Dei! Stop your daydream, PH promises are all made in dream world and you still continue to dream. Wake up to the reality, PH has lied and fooled us all. Time for PH supporters to wake up. Stop sleeping and dreaming. Your dream is fast turning into nightmare.

• Just Another Malaysian on Jan 04, 2020 at 2:39 pm

To be frank, those whom believed what was promised would be as good as believing the Scratch and Win Scam is real too.

See those promises as “inspirations” to gauge how much effort the givernment can put in to come close to their inspirations would be a more realistic mindset.

Why do you need petrol at rm1.50 when every rakyat whom own the car pays through the nose for skyhigh car price? Does it help the needy and poor with the low fuel price? Does it lower prices of other items? Does the road condition gets better with lower fuel price? Or the public transport? Lets do some math. The general car owners whom doesnt get to claim for petrol allowances would consume 250L of petrol a month. At the given ceiling price of 2.08 vs 1.50 desired petrol price, we are talking aboit rm145 per month. Thats 1740 per year. So its OK to pay car taxes in thousands up front with low equipment count but we complaint about how much petrol cost would be and yet the poor and needy doesnt even have the luxury of owning a car at all. Low fuel price doesnt even serve any wider purposes but a very narrow and specific purposes. There are still fundamental issues in the countries that need more attention then how much lower the fuel price can go in Malaysia.

The government should address more initiatives to solve the issues of poor and general well being of the rakyat whom struggles to meet ends.

• Logical Deduction on Jan 06, 2020 at 3:18 pm

So basically PH is a Ponzi scHeme and the entire nation got duped by a nationwide scam to vote for them based on those fantastic promises. Logically deduced, my Watson.

• redpilled on Jan 05, 2020 at 10:32 am

too right mate!

• Yusof Talha on Jan 05, 2020 at 1:55 pm

Most making noise only have moto. Full tank also RM5. If petrol go up also, maybe RM5.50 now.

Just for 50 sen, all these people make so much of noise.

Then cut down on your rempit, you see, you can save petrol

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 06, 2020 at 2:35 pm

50 sen is still our money. Better for all rakyat to get 50 sen, than for our mentri-mentri to get free Velfires and Accords paid with our money. They keep telling the world we got no money, we have to cut subsidies, we have to cut allowances, we have to raise prices and cost of living, but they turn and spend our money for their joy rides. Lebih baik rakyat untung dari menteri2 jahanam kita.

• Troll Hunter on Jan 05, 2020 at 11:13 pm

I see our resident PH troll have been busy all Saturday & Sunday trying to shut your voice mate. Really unprofessional of him and a real wake up call to how despicable PH truly is against the voice of freedom and truth.

• Calvin on Jan 06, 2020 at 10:29 am

Wah! PH cannot accept constructive criticism so they come and spam the dislike button. Is PH turning our country into Soviet Union? PRC? North Korea? Cuba?

• English Teacher on Jan 03, 2020 at 5:59 pm

Pakatan one term wonder is fast burning out like 2020 new year fireworks. Oh just because this year’s fireworks were short uncreative and pitiful, the same with Pakatan rule. Ta ta Pakatan! See you later when you learnt your lessons.

• Lolwhut? on Jan 03, 2020 at 6:40 pm

Looking at how the country has performed on many fronts – investor confidence, stock market, economically, race relations, cost of living, employment opportunities, religious harmony, etc. — it looks like the only saviour is for Najib Tun Razak to come back as Prime Minister.

• vivizurianti on Jan 05, 2020 at 10:16 am

Syukur petrol price still cheapest in the region.
    Syukur more when petrol is cleaner.