Gov’t freezes toll rates hike for 2020, costs RM1 billion

Finance minister Lim Guan Eng has announced that the government will continue freezing the increase on toll fares across the country this year, but told reporters that the move would cost RM1 billion in compensation to concessionaires, The Star reports.

“Although the government is freezing toll increase this year, the rakyat must remember that when this happens the government has to pay compensation. It is no small amount, certainly much more because the [toll] rate is higher,” he said at a press conference after attending a Meet-the-Customers Day event at the Federal Territories Customs Complex in Kelana Jaya recently.

Last year, the government also froze toll rate increase involving 21 highway concessionaires across the country. This benefited all classes of vehicles, with Lim adding that motorists could still enjoy the old rates throughout 2020.

Meanwhile, the cabinet decision on the proposed takeover of PLUS, including four highways operated by Gamuda, has yet to be announced. Lim said the decision would be made within the past week, and that the decision had to be made quickly to avoid paying further compensation to the concessionaires over frozen toll hikes. If the government agrees to the takeover of PLUS, motorists get to enjoy up to 18% discount in toll rates on the North-South Expressway (NSE).

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• passion on Jan 10, 2020 at 10:29 am

you were supposed to ABOLISH the tolls. DAMN!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 10, 2020 at 2:04 pm

we din expect the worst Rot thou , previous PM…

• sohai on Jan 10, 2020 at 6:04 pm

Only vehicle tax (10%sst, 65-105%excise duty, 10/30% Ckd/cbu tax) –>TOTAL 10billions/year. Muntah balik duit rakyet 10% sapu 90%, wat point u want to say about?????

• Wei apa ni? Janji 2018 ialah utk abolish toll bukan kekalkan harga toll pada tahap cekik darah. Lu tau x jadik mentri ke Nobita?

Xtau buat keje lagi baik lu letak jawatan dan blah mcm Mazlan. Xtau tunai janji lagi baik pegi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
  • Anonymous on Jan 10, 2020 at 11:11 am

SO WHAT…?! BN Govt under DSNajib had no hike in toll prices for the last 9 years before GE14. During that same period BN Govt had abolished a few toll consesions.

PH’s GE14 pledge was to abolish ALL tolls… which PH Govt has FAILED to do so even now. LGE… liar, liar pants on fire.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
    • Lmao what? Have you use those toll highways in Klang Valley. They did increased the toll price quietly without any announcement during BN especially Najib. Most of them are tiny increment but the most obvious is ELITE highway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Geng Abang Nuar on Jan 10, 2020 at 11:11 am

Sekali lagi PH dah main bontot rakyat jelata. Sapot bang nuar!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Ajibkor on Jan 10, 2020 at 11:37 am

Good on you LGE and other ministers… keep on saving national Rm100k Proton Perdana cars. while we enjoy the sunset, spent over RM130K at House of Bijan …. hahahah maluApaa bruhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Engineer on Jan 10, 2020 at 11:49 am

Pakatan U-Turns again. Bravo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • RM 1billion? Meh! didn’t you claimed to save RM 13billion with the abolishment of GST? RM 13billion means 13 years of toll freezes, so you can easily give us that. No need to come tell us how much it will cost and no more excuses please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • What stupid logic? How does the government save 13 billion from an income source? You save money when you spend less. GST or SST is an income.

• John = Gary = Alan = Angry Voters = Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 10, 2020 at 1:14 pm

I hope our regular troll here does not come here with his 50 dupes to condemn this decision. We are fed up of your negative ways john. Time to stop this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • Calvin on Jan 10, 2020 at 2:32 pm

Ok, Ill bite. So what is a Pakatan trooper doing here to defend the indefensible?

• Turn M on Jan 10, 2020 at 2:47 pm

Yesssss….. kan dah kata Manifesto sebenar kami; Penipuan diutamakan, janji dicapati.

• Like wow. If you weren’t so obviously paid to said that, I would have suspected you only have half a brain working.

• History Bender on Jan 10, 2020 at 4:12 pm

I didn’t know there was 25,000 johns in Tg Piai. I hope there is another 25,000 johns in Kimanis to teach PH another lesson.

• bila nk mansuh toll?

• carazy on Jan 10, 2020 at 3:11 pm

We need to change our staple food form rice to “CAPATI” for the next 3/4 years.. thanks PH, we love U!!!!

• saggy Low tetek Jo on Jan 10, 2020 at 3:27 pm

you get a bribe! you get a bribe! YOU Get a bribe! everybody get a bribe! weeeeeeeeee!

• vivizurianti on Jan 10, 2020 at 4:23 pm

Where is the toll abolishment??
    Janji or sweet-talk to rakyat all these while??

So, you guys better think carefully when voting in the future.

• Zzzzzzzzz same old story

• ha tepukkk!!!!