Gov’t says decision on highway takeovers to be made next week – 18% toll reduction on PLUS reiterated

Finance minister Lim Guan Eng says that the cabinet decision on the proposed takeover of PLUS as well as four highways operated by Gamuda will likely be made by next week. He said that the government must decide on the matter quickly to avoid paying further compensation to the concessionaires over frozen toll hikes.

As reported by the New Straits Times and The Sun, Lim said the decision would have to benefit all parties, including the rakyat. “Any decision on the highways must ensure a ‘triple-win’ – for the government, the company’s owners and the public,” he said.

He added that the ministry, works ministry and economics affairs ministry, along with Khazanah and EPF, had put forward a proposal to the cabinet to ensure Khazanah and EPF get value from any takeover. “We feel we have to support our national trust and sovereign funds also because it involves contributions of millions of Malaysian workers,” he said.

Highways operated by PLUS, which is owned by Khazanah (51%) and the EPF (49%), are the North-South Expressway (NSE), Second Link Expressway, Penang Bridge, North-South Expressway Central Link, Butterworth-Kulim Expressway and Seremban-Port Dickson Highway.

Lim added that motorists stand to enjoy up to 18% discount in toll rates on the NSE if the government agrees to the takeover of PLUS, reiterating that which was announced in Budget 2020. The government had then said that companies wishing to acquire PLUS must fulfil two conditions before they can proceed, the first being to fulfil the minimum 18% average toll reduction, and the second, to make sure that it is fiscally positive.

There has been no shortage of bidders for PLUS, despite Khazanah having previously stated that it had no intention of selling the business. The government has received four offers for the takeover of PLUS from Widad Group, Maju Holdings, RRJ Capital and Tan Sri Halim Saad’s vehicle Karongsa Private Capital, which is reportedly leading the race to acquire PLUS.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• What logic is this? One hand sell PLUS, on the other hand buy 4 tolled highways, at your convenience?

• lilytan on Dec 31, 2019 at 11:32 am

PLUS is the golden goose. No surprise so many interested. Its easy money for cronies. Khazanah and EPF are being stripped of their valuable assets. Expect lower dividend for gov coffer and the people. Dejavu cronism ala 80s and 90s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • Typical Malaysian on Dec 31, 2019 at 1:15 pm

Tol kekal, complain. Cheaper tol oso komplen…

• Prince of the Earth on Dec 31, 2019 at 3:48 pm

Problem in Malaysia, we have pampered the people too much. Especially the 1.6 million Government Servants in Putrajaya. These people are so used to subsidi, bantuan kerajaan, discounts for everything, even buy house also they demand for 8% discounts.

In other countries, people work hard and save their money. They even save for education for their children. They don’t expect bantuan and subsidi kerajaan all the time, especially demanding biasiswas for education.

Time we change our attitude. Only then, our country can really progress like Singapore.

Both countries Merdeka same time but Singapore is now first world and No 1 most competitive country in the world with the 3rd highest GDP per capita in the world.

Time for us to change

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
        • EDITOR on Jan 01, 2020 at 11:13 pm

Yes, one country the middle income earner said to be earning 3X more but still cannot afford to retire while another country even the lower income group can retire comfortably back in their kampungs. The answer is very clear which is better.

• redpilled on Dec 31, 2019 at 7:53 pm

Pharaoh at the helm. No surprises.

• Let's See on Dec 31, 2019 at 11:41 am

Chill bruh … Let’s See who the buyer first

• Lets See on Dec 31, 2019 at 4:28 pm

Lets see who got the billions. Oh wait, there is so few billionaire cronies … except for 1 sugar king daddy that was funding PH.

• Prince of the Earth on Dec 31, 2019 at 3:56 pm

We must learn to live within our means, only then, we will be able to afford everything and don’t need subsidi. What is the use when you work as a kerani and have an expensive lifestyle with many wives and 10 kids?

Of course you cannot afford things. Then you blame the Government for not giving subsidi and bantuan

• Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 31, 2019 at 11:25 am

Syukur tol turun lagi. Kerajaan Prihatin ❤ yahoooo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
    • Toll Abolish Janji Mana? on Dec 31, 2019 at 12:24 pm

As above

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Prince of the Earth on Dec 31, 2019 at 3:52 pm

Actually, Malaysians must learn how to live within their means. The problem with Malaysians, they will buy luxury cars to show off to Opah when they balik kampung when in actual fact, they really cannot afford it.

This is why, they find prices of oil and toll are very expensive cause they are maintaining a lifestyle they really cannot afford

• math teacher on Jan 02, 2020 at 12:49 pm

Luxury cars are BMW, mesilis and alike. No doubt too many in kampung when holiday

• sparcov on Dec 31, 2019 at 11:45 am

Contradict.

PLUS owned by Khazanah and EPF inturn owned by GOVERNMENT. selling them TO PRIVATE? this is a cash cow.

BUY BACK 4 highway from private which losing money?

where is the logic? i cannot see, anyone can explain to me ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • tokdet94 on Dec 31, 2019 at 12:15 pm

i think gov concern is to reduce maintenance cost on PLUS and make more profit..buy 4 highways which most people use every day rather than plus which profitable on festive seasons only..let khazanah & epf take the share from 4 hgways and private manage the PLUS..don’t know which is better, just my opinion..just expect toll hike if this happens..you know private owned right..keep demand for hike every time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Amran on Dec 31, 2019 at 1:26 pm

Sell off dan reduced hutang. Company tax bayar kat gahmen, tol murah bagi rakyat. win-win

• Lets See on Dec 31, 2019 at 4:31 pm

Lets see here. PLUS highway had always been a cash cow for KWSP, so this tells us it is not in a bad situation. Then again, this government had promised to abolish tolls. I’m all for PLUS to be sold then on the next day the government abolished all tolls effectively but who then would be foolish enough to lose billions RM if they did that?

• Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 31, 2019 at 12:36 pm

We are going back to era of Mahathir cronyism but this time 22 years of corruption squeezed into 22 months. What can we do, we voted for them. We can only hope to change it back bit by bit with each by-election and another such is coming up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • I dont think abolishing tolls at highways is going to solve any problems, in my opinion, i don’t mind the current toll rates BUT please smoothen the process of payments, reloading, hassle-free & flexible payment options, now that would make me happy already. Yes i’m looking at you Touch & Go.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • VAPER on Dec 31, 2019 at 12:48 pm

There goes my EPF dividend…

• msia driver on Dec 31, 2019 at 1:05 pm

build another highway beside current PLUS highway, why so much money to buy over where you can build a new one???lolzzz

• Myvi1.5s on Dec 31, 2019 at 1:11 pm

Car price is absurdly high, tolls are everywhere, petrol price will be floated, oil and spare parts expensive, forex is bad…. cost of car ownership is certainly trippled for the last many years.

• vivizurianti on Dec 31, 2019 at 7:12 pm

Do you really and seriously think there will be a “real” 18% reduction of tol??

Surely somewhere, the PH govt will jack up the tax collection to balance the figure. Left pocket goes out, right pocket goes in. Smell cronies anyone?

Surely again, the rakyat will be taken for a ride.

• Red Jacket on Dec 31, 2019 at 7:32 pm

“no shortage of bidders”

Easy to see why. Big L for govt and us in long term.

• Pay less toll, but extend its concession period most likely outcome.

• MeiLi on Jan 01, 2020 at 1:19 am

So much with the stupid LimGuanEng. What a shame he bring, tarnishing the image of our people. And Mahathir, he is #NotMyPM.

• The return of the cronies, part 2.
    All drooling at the cash cow, dead cows sell back to govt, good business ahh!

• Aura89 on Jan 01, 2020 at 4:41 pm

PH is finished guys