2021 Honda City Hatchback rendered – would you prefer this over a new Jazz or Toyota Yaris?

It’s looking more and more likely that Southeast Asia will lose the global Honda Jazz model with the advent of the fourth generation, instead receiving a sportier, more low-slung hatchback version of the new, regionalised City. Patent drawings of said model surfaced last week, and now our resident Photoshop wizard Theophilus Chin has furnished us renders showing us what this car should look like in the metal.

As the drawings showed, the five-door will pretty much be identical to the sedan from the B-pillars forward, sharing the slim headlights, full-width chrome trim above the grille, clamshell bonnet, rearwards A-pillar positioning and wing mirrors mounted on stalks on the doors.

Even towards the unique rear end, the hatch will use the same rear doors as the sedan, the design of which has clearly been compromised for double duty compared to the doors of the bespoke previous-generation City sedan. One change of note is that the fuel filler door has rather awkwardly been placed on the C-pillars, due to the significantly shorter rump.

At the back, the hatch retains the sedan’s trapezoidal tail lights (with U-shaped graphics) and vertical reflectors, with the resulting look being reminiscent of the W177 Mercedes-Benz A-Class hatch. The interior should also retain the sedan’s busy-looking dashboard and Accord-style three-spoke steering wheel, a departure from the new Jazz’s handsome minimalist dash and two-spoke wheel.

Expect the City Hatchback to be powered by the same 1.0 litre turbocharged three-cylinder petrol engine offered on the sedan in Thailand, making 122 PS and 173 Nm of torque and paired to the CVT. There’s also a possibility of the Jazz e:HEV’s hybrid powertrain, which utilises a 98 PS/127 Nm 1.5 litre four-pot that acts as a generator of sorts for the 109 PS/253 Nm electric motor.

It’s still unclear if this City Hatchback will indeed replace the Jazz in ASEAN, or if it will remain in China as a successor to the Gienia. If it’s the former, then Honda would be taking a page out of the Toyota playbook, as the Yaris for this region is little more than a Vios hatchback. However, the T brand could be doing a switcheroo this round and bring in the latest Japanese/European-market Yaris over here. Which one would you prefer – the international Jazz and Yaris models, or their regional counterparts?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Damon Lee on Feb 25, 2020 at 11:02 pm

Jazz or Yaris? Dah kasi main backdoor, lagik mau mintak org kasi main depan ka. hai toyota2..

• Geng Abang Nuar on Feb 26, 2020 at 8:22 am

If we already have Jazz, then City hatchback is pointless unless the Jazz JDM is too good for ASEAN market and they need to cost down by converting City into Jazz ASEAN as what Toyota did with the Yaris. That was the main reason we don’t get TNGA Yaris, the Japanese screwed us kawkaw. They came out with nice promises of TNGA cars but they didn’t deliver it, so better to tolak all of these subpar products. We should reject them all until they gives us what we wanted.

• MHK I on Feb 25, 2020 at 11:30 pm

Turning a hatchback into sedan has always resulted into an ugly, out-of-proportion narrow car. But this is the other way round, will it improve aesthetically? Anyway A-segment has always been an ugly car segment, especially sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Can I Advise You Something on Feb 26, 2020 at 12:44 am

Agreed. its ugly, hatchback into sedan. Last week, sapot… this week, xsapot dh. Sapot ke tak?

• MHK I on Feb 26, 2020 at 2:14 pm

No, I’m not. Unless it has something exciting to offer. I don’t recall praising the City aesthetically. My original comment was generally on A-segment though.

• Denise Tee on Feb 26, 2020 at 12:57 am

The ‘one’ is not coming yet – the Shortest overhang ever, mirors RWD proportion either in A or B segment sedan or hatch body

• Rainbows on Feb 25, 2020 at 11:53 pm

Yaris is better than both new Jazz & City Hatchback

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
  • Angeleyes on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:20 am

This city hatch model is wayyy better looking than yaris or latest jazz. Just make sure the specs are comparable to the global jazz and yatis models.

• Justice on Feb 26, 2020 at 1:18 pm

toyota yaris is better