Proton, Geely enter third year of partnership – public starting to praise product quality, aftersales service

Believe it or not, the Proton-Geely partnership has just crossed the three year mark. The two companies formally inked their partnership deal on June 23, 2017, which saw Geely acquire a 49.9% equity stake in the national automaker.

Driven by the ambition of becoming the third leading auto brand in the ASEAN region by market share, Proton and Geely quickly got to work and launched the highly anticipated Proton X70 in December 2018.

What follows after was essentially a range-wide revamp – every model from the Saga, Persona, Iriz, and Exora was updated with new looks and better tech. Throughout 2019, Proton sold 100,821 units of vehicles (domestic + export), marking the first time it crossed the 100,000-unit threshold since 2015. Its overall market share for 2019 was 16.7%, the highest since 2014, and it also returned to profitability.

The deal also saw Proton become one of Geely’s global R&D centres, focusing on right-hand drive research and development and market adaptation. The Proton X70 was of course the first fruit of this labour, but there are two more models to come, the next being a B-segment SUV based on the Binyue (unofficially known as the Proton X50). The smaller SUV will be locally assembled from the get-go, by the way.

According to Proton’s director of group engineering Hazrin Fazail Haroon, one of the most obvious effects of the partnership was the introduction of Geely’s four core values – problem solving, benchmarking, compliance and achiever. These have been inculcated in Proton from the first day since Geely came into the picture.

Proton’s aftersales division also said Malaysians are beginning to praise Proton’s quality. For example, the updated product line is offering better value for money, and the aftersales service quality is also much better than before. The latter is the result of an aggressive turnaround plan to upgrade over 100 authorised Proton outlets in the country to 3S or 4S status.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jun 24, 2020 at 6:38 pm

Which SUV more kuat minyak?

(Like) X70 1.8T
    (Dislike) CX5 2.5NA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 49
    • Gooses on Jun 24, 2020 at 7:30 pm

So which car brand of service and reliable are more better as well as having necessary features??

(Like) Proton, Nissan, Toyota, Mazda
      (Dislike) Perodua and Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 9
      • Everyonecantalk on Jun 25, 2020 at 7:45 am

Current trend like this to post comment? OK then..
        Which car is better?
        (Like) Honda, Toyota, VW, Geely, Volvo, Ferrari, Aston Martin, Suzuki, Hyundai, Porsche, Tesla
        (Dislike) Nissan, Proton, Hyundai, Infiniti, Jaguar, Mazda, Mini, Kia, Laborghini, Lexus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
        • talkonly on Jun 25, 2020 at 12:17 pm

Salah boss!
          Which car is better??

(Like) Proton, Hyundai, Toyota, Geely, Volvo, Hyundai, Mazda, BMW, Kia, Lexus, Mercedes
          (Dislike) Perodua, Honda, Tesla

• Optimus on Jun 25, 2020 at 12:46 pm

Fully agreed. Locals must buy Proton first,

• Ais kacang on Jun 25, 2020 at 1:11 pm

Thank you Li Chunrong, Geely and China. Your Game-Changing guidance have made Proton going to the correct direction

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
          • Floyd Hancock on Sep 15, 2023 at 6:53 am

geely needs to improve thin paint and rust prevention..then I will.buy geely radar rd6..beautiful truck

• Superior Boy on Jun 24, 2020 at 7:50 pm

Proton has achieve great achievement. Bravo to the Geely team and bravo to the R&D team of Proton in designing the front grille so nice. One day can R&D better looking sport rim.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • The price difference between the two is enough for X70 to isi minyak and servis for years. And let’s not forget the Mazda Skyactiv’s engine will need more maintenance as it ages.

• Tahniah P1!
      P1, Geely, Mesidis, Volvo, Lotus, LnC, Polestar, SMART > all

• Terry on Jun 25, 2020 at 12:22 pm

Oh my god. Seems like some keyboard warriors confirm from honda, their sales is getting poor and have no income but come here to bash p1.

• Celup King on Jun 25, 2020 at 1:00 pm

From Honda, Nissan, Toyota, Perodua salesmen that are so salty, their tears could make a Dead Sea in Malaysia. Kah kah kah kah

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 24, 2020 at 6:42 pm

aftersales service… honestly they need to improve a lot on this

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
    • seancorr (Member) on Jun 24, 2020 at 7:15 pm

Their sales team is good…the dealer side especially. The after sales? Still needs much improvement….dealer side included. I still see their service agents playing their phone and dragging their feet when there are still customers in the queue. You don’t see this happening in Toyota or even in Naza Kia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
      • is the “Biasalah bang ini proton” mentality still there?
        i think it should be gone asap before things go downhill

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • klguy on Jun 25, 2020 at 1:35 am

Deswai pipu still go to Toyota for brand and RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • Geely Volvo on Jun 25, 2020 at 1:26 pm

are u from /k??…

• Proton on Jun 25, 2020 at 1:51 pm

Lol! Only honda or p2 salesmen are most probably from /k. Not other jepunis salesmen

• Geely Volvo on Jun 25, 2020 at 5:45 pm

@proton, the way he talks sounds like a ktard

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 25, 2020 at 12:12 pm

my own experience with the x70 aftersales
        1. Lack of available parts for serious issues (yes, every car also got issue, and yes got 5 year warranty, but with no ready available parts some owners have their car stuck in workshop for months)
        2. Proton aftersales still behave like well… Proton aftersales (lack of quality control in the repair works, forgot screw back parts for example, no proper checking, feel ok is ok) Repair x70 like repair saga, but hey i dont think shoddy workmanship is acceptable whatever car regardless if it is cheap or expensive
        3.Appointment time at SC is irrelevant (appointment time is 10am, go there wait until 11am only can hand over key)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 9
        • Sorry but I find it hard to believe you have an X70 considering your negative comments about it since the car was born.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 31
          • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 25, 2020 at 1:27 pm

and i believe you are a proton salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
          • X70 Owner on Jun 25, 2020 at 1:54 pm

Semi is right, he owned a 2019 x70…

• @Semi
            Regardless if I ‘m a Proton salesman or otherwise. I am not the one here whacking Proton and X70 the whole time, then claiming I bought an X70 and proceed to talk crap about it. Your story above doesn’t jive and neither is your accusation about me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
          • GarySamy on Jun 25, 2020 at 6:12 pm

X70 is consider affordable SUV that is china made. With lower price that is affordable by many. Not japanase suv or even german suv that not own by higher or premium users. Semi own one is not a surprise

• Copy Paste on Jun 26, 2020 at 11:04 pm

Copy pasted to semi-value: “The way you reply truly suggests to me that you don’t currently own an X70 as claimed above.”

• Vader on Jun 25, 2020 at 9:54 pm

Semi-Value. While you are a selected group of members here, you starting to sound like a certain troll who was claiming to own all kind of cars and proceed to bash Proton with the same copy-pasted fairy tales. I’m not saying you’re him, but you sounded so alike, you could be his Siamese twin. Just tone down the fairy tales yeah.

• Ya, we saw 3 sales person surround with 1 potential customer in Toyota showroom.

• spark plug no stock..huhahihuhuhuhu.

• Thomas on Jun 24, 2020 at 9:07 pm

You mean honda service also needed to improve too? They all already tried their best to improve their honda service but management fail and always ignore to their customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • MeiNi on Jun 24, 2020 at 6:44 pm

Talking about quality, is it true that X70 uses PPG paint for its body? Found abt this from FB but not sure. If this is true, walloweh, only cars like Merc, VW uses PPG paint. But, I dont think it is true.

• Yes its true according to my mate in Tg Malim plant.

• Datuk on Jun 25, 2020 at 7:55 am

just the surface only ke? How about surface preparation and primer etc that determine the long term adhesive capability?

I assume its good enough.

• vivizurianti on Jun 24, 2020 at 6:53 pm

Proton, kasi price mur-mur la your car. Rakyat wants to support you, but not all can afford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
    • don’t worry, x50 50k to replace ugly and dated campro no AEB persona and Iriz.
      Even honda fans will tertarik confem

• Daniel Lee on Jun 24, 2020 at 6:55 pm

Solid conti quality, i love Proton X70 the low FC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 25
    • seancorr (Member) on Jun 24, 2020 at 7:17 pm

You got to be kidding me about the low FC. Highway drives yes, but pure city drive it’s worse than a heavier Nissan Serena MPV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 14
      • Vader on Jun 24, 2020 at 11:24 pm

It has better FC than CX-5 2.5L engine. So?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • X70 Buyer on Jun 25, 2020 at 9:51 am

Sounded like someone who didn’t try X70 before.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 25, 2020 at 12:13 pm

Daniel Lee must be driving a Hummer before he upgraded to a Proton X70

• Stick to your Kancil my friend.

• YouDontOwnX70 on Jun 26, 2020 at 3:45 am

The way you reply truly suggests to me that you don’t currently own an X70 as claimed above.

• Minyak 99 on Jun 27, 2020 at 12:08 am

Owning a x70 is nothing since it is affordable. And made in cina produxt. Cheap and economical. Not premium but boleh tahan je

• Proton oh Proton on Jun 25, 2020 at 9:33 am

This guy must be a Proton salesman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • newme on Jun 25, 2020 at 11:47 am

The word “Conti” because it’s conti. Why it is called “Conti” in the first place? Because it’s “Conti” and not some China rip off.

• Andrew on Jun 24, 2020 at 7:53 pm

quality ? and customer services improve? the warranty claims is the worse . They don even call you after the parts arrive and my persona 19 car body rusting and the driver side door is not properly install and many warranty item still hang.

• “introduction of Geely’s four core values – problem solving, benchmarking, compliance and achiever”

problem solving…wow…p1 never solve problem in the past ^^

• 25yrsOld on Jun 25, 2020 at 7:54 am

Waste money arr…
    Take 2biji X50 50k better?

Faster and won’t speed masuk longkang.

• MyNewToy on Jun 25, 2020 at 9:00 am

Congrats PROTON for marks 3 years as Geely car importer and distributor in Malaysia.

• ANONY on Jun 25, 2020 at 9:28 am

macam Abramovich X Chelsea

• I have much confident in Proton now, keep accumulating my DRB Hicom’s shares, fingers crossed…

• newme on Jun 25, 2020 at 9:45 am

Mitsu had 10 years partnership with Proton. How the partnership ended?

• Mitsu declined, and later crash & burn. Now it is a rump brand under Nissan.

• Henry on Jun 25, 2020 at 10:29 am

Impressive.

• Ex VGM staff on Jun 25, 2020 at 10:39 am

Let’s hope there will be JD Power CSI survey for 2020.

There is still a long way to go for Proton in Asean. It’s not hot cakes in Indonesia and Brunei, it’s not on sale in Singapore, the Philippines, Vietnam, Laos and Myanmar.

• lilytan on Jun 25, 2020 at 10:48 am

After 3 years Proton seems have rebound to black, like any company should be doing. But to achieve its goal of being no 3 in ASEAN is still very far away. X70 despite its success locally is still not being exported to the rest of ASEAN. On contrary, Geely have been exporting directly from China to Philippines, rather than exporting from Malaysia, left hand drive or not. So Geely and Proton still have a lot to prove.

• did Proton tune x70 supension? or is it straight same from boyue?

• Suren on Jun 26, 2020 at 3:43 pm

Still not even a hybrid. I don’t know how people butter up like above

• Why must it be hybrid? Even Mazda don’t subscribe to that mantra with their Skyactiv engines. Cost-benefit wise there isn’t any so your bringing up an overhyped feature as if its a must-have.