FIRST DRIVE: 2019 Proton Exora RC review – fr RM60k

In this video review, Hafriz Shah goes behind the wheel of the newly-updated Proton Exora RC to find the long-running MPV’s strengths and weaknesses. Prices start from RM59,800 for the Executive model to RM66,800 for the Premium.

To recap, the C-segment MPV becomes the latest recipient of the seven-inch touchscreen head unit based on Geely’s Global Key User Interface (GKUI), with “Hi Proton” voice commands and 4G internet connection via an eSIM (1GB free data per month for five years).

It’s similar to the system that’s on the X70 SUV, with functions such as online music streaming, live navigation, smartphone connectivity, mirroring for Android and WiFi hotspot, among other things.

Elsewhere, there’s a new piano black centre stack with a silver bezel, two USB ports below that (in front of the cubbies), new semi-leatherette seat upholstery with quilted pattern (extends to the door cards), and a brand new exterior colour called Rosewood Maroon. Watch the video and let us know what you think of the affordable seven-seater family car!

GALLERY: 2019 Proton Exora RC Premium

GALLERY: 2019 Proton Exora RC Executive

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Kuih lapis on May 31, 2019 at 10:50 am

Basicly still the same car so no difference in driving old Exora this Exora RC. I don’t know why Proton still want to give another facelift because this MPV is already aging. Moreover, competitor offers better safety, design and features like the Alza and New Avanza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 40
    • Chris Ho on May 31, 2019 at 11:31 am

How is Alza safer than Exora?

haha…

• Tun F on May 31, 2019 at 12:35 pm

Dude…. U mean that ageing dinosaur Alza with the old engine….. Oh come on dude.. At least the improvements are there for the interior.. Some more reduction in price… Though Proton can do better than this

• infinity on May 31, 2019 at 2:11 pm

Did you watch the video? Proton did not claim it as a facelift. And the safety of the premium variant is actually better than Alza and Avanza.

Please watch the full video before commenting.

• Wilson Khoo my idol on May 31, 2019 at 2:17 pm

Proton cars are no good. They are all game over cars. Whoever disagrees is definitely ‘coming from Proton and DRB salesmen’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 27
    • johnny on May 31, 2019 at 2:20 pm

Tell me which Avanza has VSC.

• He can create VSC out of thin air for his Alza and Avanza because he is the resident Raja Jamban troll.

• 4bini on May 31, 2019 at 4:44 pm

Previous Exora, every 2 to 3 days have to fill up RM130 petrol. It sucks so much of petrol. It uses Zaman purba engine.

Waste money buying a car that drinks petrol like the Jaguar Sovereign 5.0 of the 80s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
      • Spin Too Much on May 31, 2019 at 4:59 pm

Yet so many new Exoras on the road. Why?

• Try the Innova. Yes, the new one. Then you will know what is true ancient engine and fuel guzzling.

• The weird portion is the front bonet toward the side.

• Muahahahah on May 31, 2019 at 11:20 am

Still wayang2 reviewing this lousy car…. no better thing to do right! Please dispose all malaysia made cars and sell only imported cars… surely car price will reduce and we will get better quality cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • john is otak batu on May 31, 2019 at 11:31 am

yuck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Still the best selling MPV

• start-a-fight on May 31, 2019 at 12:04 pm

omg, dust off the HU before you shoot… or you find the dust is amusing for a newly launch car?

• Amran on May 31, 2019 at 12:08 pm

This the very last bastion of local homegrown Proton car. We are buying into our P1 history and national patriotic pride, not simply a car. Mind you. Make Malaysia Great again! maluBossku krik krik. hohoho Balik kampungg!

• Heidi's Thong on May 31, 2019 at 1:13 pm

RC Reduced Cost

• SK, Lim on May 31, 2019 at 2:21 pm

Kegemaran MPV rakyat continues the legendary journey.

• Tun F on May 31, 2019 at 2:42 pm

Dude…. U mean that ageing dinosaur Alza with the old engine….. Oh come on dude.. At least the improvements are there for the interior.. Some more reduction in price… Though Proton can do better than this

• Getting lazier or somewhat?
    At least include the basic information of the car engine spec and platform displacement.
    This is a car info blog, please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on May 31, 2019 at 9:23 pm

Maybe you’d want to actually watch the video?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
      • Lolz! Gud one bro!

• Aloe for the burn, ouch on Jun 01, 2019 at 8:22 pm

Bashes never read or watch anything thoroughly, I tell you. They will nitpick and find fault with anything.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Jun 01, 2019 at 2:09 am

Only two airbags across the board? Red card, Proton.

• Safety First on Jun 01, 2019 at 11:49 am

It still has ESC, as compared to its competition.

• JOACHIM on Jun 01, 2019 at 5:06 pm

It at least has ESC so after VAR, it was decided to rescind the red card and just given a verbal warning.

• Eeeuuuwww! Campro & punch cvt!

• Kenny on Jun 02, 2019 at 8:00 pm

wanna ask.. now it said using VVT turbo.. no more CFE turbo? what is the diff?