Proton dealer network upgrade – 79 outlets now 3S/4S

Proton, as part of its major turnaround plan, has announced that it will push for more dealerships to be upgraded to 3S or 4S facilities. As of May 18, approximately 79 outlets have achieved the 3S/4S status, which equates to 72% of the 109 dealerships targeted for the year.

According to Proton, it is nearing the goal earlier than expected. Company CEO, Li Chunrong said “this is absolutely good news, a wonderful moment for Proton, and with the upgrading taking place, we are confident that we are on steady grounds to provide world class excellence by delivering best sales and service experience for our customers.”

Li also said “I wish to thank new investors who joined us as dealers of the Proton family. While all of us were tirelessly making plans to drive Proton forward, we are very encouraged by the fact that we have the support of new investors along the way, who are game to take on the challenge of being a Proton dealer.”

“This can only mean one thing – that we still have strong brand presence in the market and because of this, many came on board to sail on the Proton journey into the future with us. Thank you for believing in us. Now we can all charge ahead and be the driving force of the brand,” he added.

Proton’s vice president of sales and marketing, Abdul Rashid Musa said “everywhere, business are focused on customer satisfaction to ensure sustainability, and Proton is definitely gaining momentum to reap rewards in the future from current plans that have been put in place. For this reason, I encourage dealers to upgrade their outlets to 3S and 4S so that we could all be in a thriving business together and progressively benefit from it.”

Proton dealer Datin Fauziah Ahmad said “we need to upgrade further to be in tandem with the standard requirements, but most importantly we understand the need to upgrade as we needed to portray a better appearance and image for the product, the Proton brand and the upgrade to a 3S outlet will ultimately serve its purpose as we will be able to serve customers better.”

Proton’s first SUV will be based on the Geely Boyue facelift

Another dealer, Dato Sri Ngu Ung Yong said “Proton is our national car and it is our duty to make it successful again. Moreover, with the partnership with Geely and new management, we trust Proton is in a good position for a turnaround.” Ngu will be upgrading his premise to a 4S outlet.

The upgrading works are being done in anticipation of Proton’s upcoming SUV model, which will come with features like adaptive cruise control and an autonomous emergency braking system.

Currently, Proton is still taking applications for those interested in operating a dealership, although the number is very limited. “Proton received overwhelming response from dealers who are keen to upgrade their dealer outlets to 3S and 4S, in addition to requests by new dealer investors who are confident of the direction and future of Proton,” said company head of network planning, Dr Ho Tuck Sum.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Richard Sambrani on May 25, 2018 at 5:56 pm

We must thank Geely Li for this. Before this, all the dealers made so much of noise. All demanded Bantuan from Proton. What a joe. Poor Proton, already losing money and struggling and yet, the dealers dare to demand Proton to fund their upgrade.

They literally told Proton to pay hundreds of millions for their upgrade.

Chairman Li said….NO SUCH thing. Told them to buck up or give up the dealership to many people who are willing to take over the franchise.

Now see, all the clowns already upgraded their dealership with their own money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Banglaman on May 26, 2018 at 9:00 pm

Luckily Proton choose to Ubah

• But with Bapak back, P1 can be un-Ubahed back again. Bapak P1 will make P1 great again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
        • papa john on May 27, 2018 at 3:57 pm

Bapak P1 not interested, can let Proton rot:

https://paultan.org/2018/05/23/govt-not-interested-in-buying-back-proton-tun-m/

• john white on May 27, 2018 at 9:12 pm

According tot DS Nazri: The project is a failure. They are asking us (government) for money. All the time, billions of ringgit.

https://paultan.org/2017/03/02/proton-a-failed-white-elephant-project-nazri-aziz/

• https://paultan.org/2017/08/25/tun-m-wants-to-start-another-proton-if-pakatan-wins/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
          • john black on May 29, 2018 at 8:51 am

New Proton =/= P1, Proton still rot

• Proton Tak Ubah on May 27, 2018 at 12:57 am

Gov ubah also Proton haven’t ubah. Proton staffs still having the same ‘tidak apa’ attitude in serving customers, Bumiputera dealers still asking for preference for centres upgrade, Proton fanboys still blaming the Japanese for competition. The only good thing is the change to Chinese CEO, who knows how to manage business like our Finance Minister. Others are just same same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • yawnz on May 26, 2018 at 10:42 pm

Proton sucks, truth hurts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • kambengolek on May 27, 2018 at 7:30 am

Shud’ve spoken the truth about previous P1 CEO instead of protecting him from P1 troubles, failure to tell about lack of support

• Wasting on May 25, 2018 at 6:22 pm

Waste money upgrading. Cant sell well also.

• fahmi on May 25, 2018 at 6:34 pm

The much anticipated Proton SUV 1.8TGDi will hail a New Dawn for Proton, a reformed Proton.

• old horse on May 25, 2018 at 7:09 pm

so glad now Gov finally out of this money eating machine! good luck DRB! you are now on your own man!

Cant wait for the gov to disclosed about the truth of the billions borrowed before selling to Geely!

• Will not come out since Bapak P1 is back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
      • papa john on May 27, 2018 at 12:30 am

• https://paultan.org/2017/08/25/tun-m-wants-to-start-another-proton-if-pakatan-wins/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Proton fate on May 25, 2018 at 7:24 pm

Sales less than 3500 units a month

• Caught in the euphoria on May 25, 2018 at 7:31 pm

Since no longer national car … It will be taxed accordingly…these dealers know it’s not a good sign moving forward … Gotta bite the bullet and still smile

• Go go P1! Once everything is inplaced, Bapak P1 will come savings from clutches of Geely. Then with rakyat money, Bapak will make P1 great again! P1 Harapan Baharu MY!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • YB Albert on May 25, 2018 at 8:02 pm

I think P1 is missing the point.
    No doubt you need presentable showrooms.
    Look at perodua…apart from 3/4 S centers, they have saleable and economical fuel efficient cars.If Tan Sri Robert Kuok were to give his input,he would most likely say “Trust perodua,it is a good and excellent brand”.
    Each month,more and more of P1 market share is canabalised by Perodua,Nissan,Honda ,Toyota.
    The pie is shrinking faster and faster while waiting for a miserable Boyue to debut.

• rightwinger on May 27, 2018 at 1:58 pm

with that mentality, why bother go into biznes in the first place?? so many many leaders in so many types and sectors of bizness, what the point of competing right? why bother even live? so many other people richer/ more hansome/ more inteligent/ more courteous… more of everything than you/me/we, why bother living? might as well go die la….

• Facto on May 27, 2018 at 4:01 pm

The richest man in MY is Robert Kuok, not some idiots in Proton. So he knows how to do business more than Proton.

• rally_fan (Member) on May 28, 2018 at 9:46 am

you dont build new cars in 6 months.. you think geely doesnt know that? they are definitely in for the long haul and know they will end up burning a lot of money before making money. sales are poor now because of cars designed and built previously. just because geely took over, doesnt mean the cars that have not been selling well will suddenly start selling. they are working on the fundementals and laying the groundwork for whats to come.

• Se Won on May 25, 2018 at 8:55 pm

Upgrade after upgrade on SC just to welcome a new SUV which have no solid prospect in the country? Poor Proton. Let’s face it, the current lineup is going nowhere, and the upcoming Boyue is a C-segment SUV which is not gonna be cheap for our market. Gauging from tyre size alone, 225/60 R18 (currently this size is almost non-existent in our market) is gonna be expensive to replace; my best guess based on R17 SUV tyres, they will be more than RM500 a piece aka RM2000/set. You can expect the overall maintenance bills will be steep once free service expires. Local cars in general should be affordable, that’s what lure our buyers to consider them in the first place. Seems Proton still haven’t learned after Perdana. What they should sell is a smaller, B-segment SUV or an Iriz successor that is affordable to own and maintain in the long run. This formula has now made Perodua the leader with >40% market share today. Come to think of it, Proton attitude now mirrors BN prior to GE14 – the signs of failure are clear and obvious, but they are too blind and oblivious to realize. It’s doomsday for Proton ahead.

• Same L0rr on May 25, 2018 at 11:06 pm

What ever. 3s 4s or 10s, if still sale the junk campro vvt & cvt punch, nobody wanna buy proton anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
  • drMpower on May 25, 2018 at 11:13 pm

Theres a pratt above saying proton is national car maker what he is on about. 50.01% ownership is akin to getting your half sister pole dancing for you. Yes it is a female but disgusting sight
    Stop taking weed it is bad for your mental, foam and shite come off your blordy mouth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • What?? on May 26, 2018 at 10:30 am

I mean, carmakers like Jaguar still parade the fact that they’re British despite being owned by an Indian company. Same with Chrysler with their American heritage even though it’s now a subsidiary of Fiat.

He isn’t wrong with saying Proton is still a national car company. At the most basic level, it technically still is.

• Rolls Royce still British what.. oh wai
      Bentley still British what.. oh wai
      MINI still British what.. oh wai
      Rover still British what.. oh wai
      Land Rover still British what.. oh wai
      Lotus still.. oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • You should upgrade their attitude and knowledge instead of dealer network.

When you having trouble passing motion, you see doctor and not renovate the toilet hoping to solve the problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • They nvr learn, pero2, best selling car, it is bcos of thier service center?

• Amran on May 27, 2018 at 9:44 pm

Perodua best selling bcoz of the dual vvt i engine & 4 speed transmission. Fuel efficient & reliable. Oh.. good rv too

• rally_fan (Member) on May 28, 2018 at 9:49 am

they are best selling car, because they dont build cars but sell “japanese” cars at a very low price point. the japanese get to enjoy “national car” taxes through their proxy perodua.

• Proton service quality? Hahahahahahaha!

• Tido oh tido on May 28, 2018 at 2:45 pm

Yes it makes customers happy, P2 makes some bezza owners’ jaws drop when they been told the price of expensive battery

• tokmoh. on May 26, 2018 at 3:26 pm

Well done, Proton!

With Tun M’s assurance that the govt shall not interfere with Proton, the turnaround is progressing uninterrupted. Have harapan in Proton, for together with Geely, it shall prosper and reach new heights unlike never before!

Proton, Geely > all

• When everything is successfully implemented, Bapak will come savings P1 from Geely. Make P1 greater again!

• papa john on May 27, 2018 at 12:33 am

• Wayang onli. Nobody goes into a nego looking desperado.
          https://paultan.org/2017/08/25/tun-m-wants-to-start-another-proton-if-pakatan-wins/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Proton the 2nd second failure of the nation on May 26, 2018 at 5:10 pm

If them cars dont have no blooddy temp gauge..than m going to just say…hahahahaha…could use it as a birkin store….hahahahah…

• Johnisoshai on May 26, 2018 at 9:17 pm

just sold my preve today for a damn low price as not many dealer wanna take…lesson learnt, dont ever buy a proton

• I bet proton can sale 100k unit boyue this year..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • please upgrade staffs attitude & working culture. Execute task/service faster. Having 1st class facilities but slow working attitude is not helpful at all.

• zainal abidin on May 27, 2018 at 10:43 am

While this is good, more importantly, how about the end product that’s coming out the production plant? Ah Yes, the cars that come out from the factory. Are the end products good and reliable enough to be sold?

Sometimes I just pity the service center staffs who everyday have to answer to warranties due to product failures ( cvt , och ) or just plain build quality ( unacceptable noise here and there).

So, upgrading a service center ( or dealer ) is good but MOST IMPORTANTLY, is the PRODUCT QUALITY.

No need to be as good as Mercedes or Honda or Toyota, as good as PERODUA is good enough. I mean , just look at their sales figures.

• operating manager on May 27, 2018 at 7:57 pm

Some says sales more does not mean it’s good but bcoz it’s cheap. Oh wai…

• Nosushi on May 28, 2018 at 2:37 pm

Tin milo chassis, sampan handling, over inflated tyres, so so fuel consumption, so so RV, no VSC no temp gauge etc. So yeah it is cheap

• rally_fan (Member) on May 28, 2018 at 9:51 am

do you think geely after taking over a few months can launch brand new, high quality car? they are not selling shoes. it will take time. do you think geely doesnt know that? they look committed and know they will burn a lot of cash before they start making money. isn’t it clear they are working on the basics and trying to solve the underlying issues?

• kenot on May 28, 2018 at 10:27 am

Sorry proton. I think I can’t afford to buy Boyue. This SUV is premium level. The price is far away from my income. I hope you can continue to produce a good affordable aka rakyat car.