Buyer’s Guide: Toyota models to go for in Malaysia

This might be bewildering for some, but now is a good time to buy a car. Yes, we’re knee deep (it’s not neck yet, right?) in a pandemic that’s unprecedented and global, and some sectors have been ravaged by Covid-19, but if you have the job security and means…

It appears that many think so, and have already acted on it. Various car brands are reporting brisk sales thanks to the 2020 sales tax exemption by the government, and many are doubling down with their own promotions. And we haven’t even mentioned the market excitement created by new model launches.

Meanwhile, used cars – which are not covered by the SST holiday by the way – have been flying off the lots. So yes, if you have the means, why not take advantage of the deals?

Click to enlarge price list

If you’re considering a new Toyota, here are the five variants we think you should skip, in favour of others in the range. Also check out previous instalments of this series focusing on Perodua and Proton models.

No clickbait, but a buyers’ guide based on price, value and features, with a strong emphasis on safety kit, as these are cars in the daily and utility category. So, here are the five Toyotas we’ll pass for other Toyotas.

Toyota Vios J vs E

You know how sometimes products appear very attractive due to the low “From RMXXX” price? It’s a common tactic to make you go, Hmm… I can do that. The base variant may be the cheapest, but it’s not always the best value for money.

A good case in point is the Toyota Vios J, which is priced at RM76,101 with the 2020 sales tax exemption. The entry level Vios is a hair below RM4k cheaper than the next grade, the RM80,074 Vios E, while the top spec G (pictured above) goes for RM86,132.

Everyone needs window tint, and adding film to your Vios J will reduce the J-E price difference to around RM2k, because Toyota’s factory solar and security film (a RM2,120 option) is standard with the E.

So, for RM2k more you get LED tail lights, fog lights, auto-fold door mirrors with indicators, a multifunction steering wheel and the DVD-AVX infotainment system with a 360-degree camera system and dashcam. Sounds like a bargain already, and that’s before taking into account the things that can’t be retrofitted – blind spot monitor with rear cross traffic alert, an acoustic windscreen and 60:40 split-folding rear seats.

The E over the J becomes a no brainer when you consider that the RM4k premium will cost you RM50 a month extra over seven years. The downpayment difference is just RM400. If you can afford a Vios in the first place, loan approval sensitivity should be less of an issue compared to a Perodua/Proton half the price.

That said, we have to commend UMW Toyota Motor for including seven airbags and ESP as standard across the Vios board. This is not only a shift from the spec-stingy UMWT of old, but it’s beyond what Honda and Nissan are doing – the base variants of the City and Almera have less airbags than the top ones.

Toyota Yaris J vs E

Like the Vios J, its sister hatchback model, the Yaris J (Yaris G pictured above), is the cheapest in the range but not the best value. The price difference between the J at RM69,576 and E at RM75,479 is at least bigger here at close to RM6k. The Yaris J is also the cheapest new Toyota you can buy in Malaysia, which means we’ll cut it some slack.

It does however look the part as the cheapest car. Things like 16-inch rims, projector headlamps, fog lamps, LED rear lights and auto fold/retractable wing mirrors with turn signals are only available on the E. The mid spec E also gets an acoustic windshield, multi-info display, steering audio buttons, 360-degree camera, dashcam, a 6.8-inch touchscreen head unit, Drive Mode switch (Sport and Eco modes) and solar/security tint.

The latter is a must-have anyway, which brings the effective difference to RM4k. As with the Vios, the Yaris E comes with a blind spot monitor system with rear cross traffic alert – that’s valuable and can’t be retrofitted. It’s a long list of extra kit for RM6k more, so go for the E if you can afford it.

We’re not just telling you to buy the more expensive variant for every model, but are comparing price differences with what you gain/lose. In the case of the Yaris/Vios J versus the E, it’s pretty clear cut.

Toyota Avanza E vs S+

Not many realise it, but the Toyota Avanza is still around. The latest facelift of the budget MPV arrived in May 2019, and the seven-seater now sports Vellfire-style spilt headlamps and a full-height grille. Didn’t notice? Maybe that’s because there aren’t many around.

There are better and more sophisticated options around in 2020 if you need a three-row people carrier, but if you must have an Avanza, go for the cheaper variants.

The Avanza range starts at RM77,963 for the E, while the S is priced at RM80,849. The S+ is exactly RM4k more at RM84,849. The ageing model is not cheap for what it is, and safety kit is stuck in the last decade with just two airbags and ABS/EBD. The S+ has blind spot monitoring with RCTA, but there’s no VSC for this tall, rear-wheel drive family car.

Toyota Rush G vs S

Better to save up for a Toyota Rush, a recently-developed model with a five-star ASEAN NCAP rating. A sister car to the Perodua Aruz, the Rush is available in two variants, the G at RM88,314 and the RM91,885 S.

The difference of slightly over RM3.5k buys you a list of kit, but the biggest gain is Pre-Collision System. PCS, which is essentially Perodua’s ASA 2.0 suite, alerts the driver when his/her car approaches another vehicle without braking (works for pedestrians too). If action is not taken, the system will auto apply the brakes in an attempt to prevent or mitigate a crash. Also part of the package are Front Departure Alert (alerts you when the car in front of the queue has moved) and Pedal Misoperation Control (prevents unintended acceleration when you actually want to step on the brakes).

The other S-only goodies are fog lamps and leather seats, but you should do it for the AEB. And if you’re considering the G just to save RM3.5k, the Aruz AV comes with ASA 2.0 and is priced below RM75k.

Toyota Corolla E vs G

The latest Toyota Corolla was launched here in October 2019. Now sitting on the Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA) platform and having dropped the “Altis” name, the CBU Thailand C-segment sedan starts from RM123,972 for the E, rising to RM134,505 for the G (pictured above).

The price difference is rather big at over RM10.5k, but so is the spec list. Both share the same 139 PS/173 Nm 1.8L NA engine and CVT, but the G gets much of the nice things you would want in a C-segment car above RM100k.

How about projector LED headlamps, 17-inch alloys, Optitron meter panel with a seven-inch screen, dual-zone air con, leather, electronic parking brake with auto hold, paddle shifters, rear window sunshades and a Qi wireless charger? The G also gets a 3D panoramic view monitor and front/rear dashcams, which are RM2,700 and RM1,100 options for the E.

All those alone are surely worth more than RM10k, but the G’s trump card is Toyota Safety Sense, which includes Pre-Collision System (PCS), Lane Departure Alert (LDA) with Steering Assist & Lane Tracing Assist (LTA), Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (DRCC), Automatic High Beam (AHB) and Blind Spot Monitor (BSM).

Lastly, something concerning interior aesthetics. In June this year, UMWT rolled out a 9.0 inch touchscreen head unit for the Corolla. The unit has Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support, but perhaps more importantly, it fills up the high-standing allocated space much better than the original 6.8-inch item. However, this new display audio is only for the G, so the E will persist with the unsightly thick bezel that you can’t ignore due to its prominence on the dashboard.

If you’re spending over RM100k on a C-segment car, it’s likely that you aren’t a first-time buyer but an upgrader, so shell out that extra RM10k and treat yourself to the nicer Corolla.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Boslter on Oct 16, 2020 at 7:52 pm

We are still waiting about the article for the reason for not buying honda very soon. So I also hope honda SA will accept and should stop posting fake feedbacks and not complaining. Everyone would love to see that too soon. Paultan should do that soon, after this article

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 8
    • In short, PT Danny Tan recommended us to buy Toyota top variants only. For King of RV sake, Do not ever go for those cheapo J spec. its the Top variant or nothing. Toyota RV king

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 41
      • Copy and Paste II on Oct 17, 2020 at 8:59 am

Copy and Paste: “Not many people complaining about window tinting/audio system/LED tail lights when driving Vios 1.5J and Yaris 1.5J. But importantly is more affordable that people can afford including buying Vios J and Yaris J with safety is more importantly, even does not come with blind spot monitor and rear cross traffic like City S”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
        • Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 17, 2020 at 11:56 am

In short, just avoid buying the lower spec models

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 34
          • You mean only for cheapskate smaller b-segment Honda that you should avoid from buying especially for City S and E too

• azrai on Oct 17, 2020 at 4:26 pm

Golden chance for jap car owners, toyota honda and mazda to upgrade to Proton X50. finally

• top or low spec, king of RV masih Toyota.

• JasonXX on Oct 17, 2020 at 12:08 pm

you can read or not? its mid variant, not top variant.

Ryan needs to go school to learn reading skills.

• Firdaus on Oct 18, 2020 at 5:47 pm

Since old times, abang-abang favoret car is Toyota Corolla AE86, Passo, Caldina and now Vellfire ZG kereta comfort sekeluarga. So smue Toyota models all to buy for in Malaysia…Sam Loo was right all the time.

• Agree with you bro that after this, I also hope that PT will published an article soon about “Five Honda models you should not buy.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Buick on Oct 16, 2020 at 7:55 pm

(Like) Toyota Vios J 7 Airbags
    (Dislike) Honda City S and E 2 Airbags

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 10
    • seancorr (Member) on Oct 16, 2020 at 9:10 pm

Boss the City got 4 airbags.

• Honda turbo TGDI CVT on Oct 17, 2020 at 7:59 am

Oh yeah the facelifted Honda City 2020 up to Mid spec only got 4 airbags
        Don’t have blind spot monitor too

• Buick on Oct 17, 2020 at 8:58 am

Oh, my bad! Sorry. Haha.

By the way, still City S and City E are not very recommended to buy. Everyone knows that both of City S and City E are still unsafe for buyers to buy because of lacking another 3 airbags which only 4 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • Chow Wei Zhen on Oct 16, 2020 at 8:07 pm

Not many people complaining about window tinting/audio system/LED tail lights when driving Vios 1.5J and Yaris 1.5J. But importantly is more affordable that people can afford including buying Vios J and Yaris J with safety is more importantly, even does not come with blind spot monitor and rear cross traffic like City S

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Even Honda City S, E facelifted 2020
      Only has 4 airbags, doesn’t have lanewatch I,e blind spot monitor.

Vios J has both. Advanced Safety is priority.
      Proton X50 standard also not recommended by Paultan. One need to buy Full spec to enjoy sufficient comprehensive safety package.

Proton and Toyota has been pushing the advanced safety status quo for Malaysian market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Frozen on Oct 17, 2020 at 9:02 am

spot on brah. Summore KWSP & PNB are major shareholder of UMW Toyota. So ugaiz must sapott King of resale value. Tak lain, dan tak bukan. Toyota and sumtimes… proton

• The Sound of Flower on Oct 16, 2020 at 10:36 pm

Add another two words: Reliable and Good RV.

Smart choice will buy gud quality car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • C Segment on Oct 16, 2020 at 8:31 pm

Toyota corolla 1.8G
    With those advanced Toyota Sense self driving cruise control,
    140PS like BMW 2 gran coupe rm220k yet more features with a double wishbone.

It’s quite a steal for young adults who prefer comfort, handling and technology at the same time.
    Double wishbone, full size spare tyre, pretty rare for good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • seancorr (Member) on Oct 16, 2020 at 9:14 pm

Or wait for the City RS with the full suite of Honda Sensing at a cheaper price than the Corolla and dump the rest of the savings for a new home.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
      • Torsion beam? No thanks

• hajemie on Oct 17, 2020 at 12:18 pm

In terms of reliability and FC, the Honda City RS superb 253Nm surely crowd favourite. and 84k just too cheap for a Honda badge vtec car,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
          • Ah Beng Level III on Oct 17, 2020 at 1:31 pm

This suits for ah beng but not suited for younger ones. Felt that City Rs main for parents with kids.

• Should also launch CKD Altis Hybrid to Malaysia

• Ethan on Oct 17, 2020 at 8:16 am

Planning to get either a vios or yaris. But read somewhere that the vios beeps irritatingly a lot because the blind spot monitor is too sensitive? Is this true? Can the beeping sounds be turned off? Thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
    • Datuk on Oct 17, 2020 at 9:27 am

Hahaha.. go test drive 1st.
      If you are interested but no action, things can change and improve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Bolster on Oct 17, 2020 at 1:43 pm

Just Ignore these honda SA here who are always spending more time in this blog, coming here to attempt for attacking toyota, proton and other brands as well. Sounds like they didn’t even owned their cars at all which honda SA always giving fake info.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • Hahahaha, and what does this page shows. An article about Toyota, and somehow Honda gets dragged in. I really appeal to all, both Honda Fanboys/SA and the rest, lets be objective. Whatever the subject of the article, please stay on subject and be courteous. Opinions are respected but keep it fair, don’t slam others for their opinions, and keep it realistic. I’m sure you will see similar comparison for Honda models as well as other related brands. Paul Tan has always been objective. let us as readers do the same. Stay Safe and lets together focus to bring the Covid-19 under control.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • X70 Buyer on Oct 17, 2020 at 10:33 am

Get Proton X50 better specs and safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 30
      • LIKE: X50, Almera, Vios Facelift
        DISLIKE: City, Jazz, HRV

• LIKE:CITY,JAZZ,HRV,BRV,CIVIC,CRV,ODDESEY
          ACCORD
          DISLIKE:X50,X70,ALMERA,VIOS FACELIFT,COROLLA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • alldisc on Oct 18, 2020 at 11:30 am

You will appreciate the blind spot monitoring after you realised how it helps you avoiding so many accidents with cars in outer left/right lane.. And also weaving motorcyclists..
      .it’s there for a reason.

You will get used to it.. And when ubstart to drive a car without BLIS.. You will feel insecure..

• Klanter on Oct 18, 2020 at 3:22 pm

Or you can just turn your head to check your blind spot smh

• Ben Yap on Oct 17, 2020 at 11:07 am

to be honest, all toyota models have below par engine performance. I won’t be buying any of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 43
    • Walley on Oct 19, 2020 at 10:27 am

Last month going Honda to test drive. The 1.5 turbo engine performance really good better than mazda and toyota. The Honda salesman say before he was toyota salesman has been 10 year+. I driving toyota now, I say toyota good thing is reliable. He say nowadays buyer care of technology and performance, rare people is care of reliable. He is right. All the toyota models here is really outdated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
  • Truth on Oct 17, 2020 at 11:46 am

Yaris, Vios and Corolla are all value for money and good worthy cars to buy……but skip the Rush and Avanza though as those 2 models are merely rebadged Daihatsu Terios and Xenia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
    • Xsuka TGDI on Oct 17, 2020 at 5:01 pm

Skip Toyota Avanza, Honda BR-V
      buy Perodua Aruz and Proton Exora

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
  • meladam on Oct 17, 2020 at 12:49 pm

should I wait for x50 or better take rush? both look nice la

• cedyy on Oct 17, 2020 at 1:05 pm

imo, the solar/security tint from UMW is not worth it. interior gets really hot in less than half hour as though there’s no tint. the original tint on the rear glass of my 5 year old Altis just bubbled recently. good thing was UMW allowed warranty claim on it.

• Former Altis Owner on Oct 19, 2020 at 9:03 am

Frankly speaking, i sold my Altis 2013 1.8E last year, the original tinted sill in perfect condition, no regret.

• PT Reader on Oct 17, 2020 at 1:39 pm

Hi Toyota, are you kidding me with that price & spec of Avanza?? That’s why many go for Aruz..
    Toyota please! you are not Perodua, don’t make any your car without at least VSC/ESP..

• Dong gor on Oct 17, 2020 at 6:37 pm

If economy in 2020 is bad, wait till 2021! If your car is running well best to be status quo. Save your cash for the storm in 2021..PT crews included :)

• I am the Toyota fan all the time because of the build quality and reliability but frankly speaking I m only interested in the Yaris of all the Toyota models currently

• I am the Toyota fan all the time because of their build quality and reliability but frankly speaking I m only interested in the Yaris of all the Toyota models currently just because of the price and design

• Toyota Salesman jobless on Oct 18, 2020 at 10:18 am

Why corolla cost 20k more than civic is beyond me. I think the badge is worth more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • After 2020, Toyota Vios is worthless.
    Better choices are X50, City and Almera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
    • Nope, city is already still worthless. So Almera, Vios and X50 still better choices

• Cheung NCP93 NCP150 on Oct 19, 2020 at 8:44 am

AIKS !

Title of this article i just realized been changed from:

Buyer’s Guide: Toyota models which you shouldn’t buy

to

Old title OK what will attract even more readers and commenters LOL

• Amran on Oct 19, 2020 at 12:59 pm

UMWToyota must have made an official complaint, maybe the other brands in the previous write up didnt bother.

• The title should be :

Why you shouldn’t buy a Toyota

Haha!

• English Teacher on Oct 19, 2020 at 4:07 pm

The new title sounds more positive》Toyota models to go for in Malaysia. Way to go PT!

• Maclaurin on Oct 19, 2020 at 9:50 am

At least even with those “five Toyotas we’ll pass for other Toyotas” for poverty spec also at least they still got good reliability, Good RV, safest car unlike cheap plastic and bad quality Honda that doesn’t compromise as safest cars

• Walley on Oct 19, 2020 at 10:16 am

Still monitoring to see want to buy during SST exempted. Year end car suppose to give discount. But the car seller take advantage of this not giving year end discount due to car price went down. My thinking was even now car price drop 5k but if you buy next year for year 2020 car you still can get 5-6k discount. So why rush to buy the car now?