FIRST LOOK: Proton Saga and Iriz R3 Limited Edition

Proton has just launched the new Saga and Iriz R3 Limited Edition models, which feature a whole lot of black and yellow. The scheme is fully intentional, as these limited production models are very much an homage to Proton’s successful motorsports division, R3.

But first up, don’t mind my MCO hair, and I’d also like to apologise for not being able to show you the new cars physically. The Proton showroom is in a different district, so I couldn’t go there. Plus, travel should only be for absolute essentials as we are still technically in a full MCO state at present. But hey, new normal right?

On to the cars. The Saga and Iriz R3 Limited Edition models are here to celebrate Proton’s success in motorsports, specifically them winning the Sepang 1,000 km endurance race six times in the last eight races. The numbers 82 and 83 on the stickers seen here are the same race numbers Proton ran in the S1k, just in case you were wondering what those numbers meant.

Anyway, I know what most of you think, that this is just a stock clearing exercise before new versions come out, especially for the Iriz. That, it may well be, but hey, the strategy works. Remember the Proton Saga Anniversary Edition? All 1,100 units were sold in just five days, and last I checked, Proton is in the business to make money, so if it works, why not?

As for prices, the Saga R3 Limited Edition is priced at RM42,300, while the Iriz R3 Limited Edition goes for RM52,900. Both are RM3,000 more expensive than their usual Premium counterparts. This time, the Saga is limited to 2,000 units, while the run for the Iriz is capped at 500 units.

On to the specifics. The Saga R3 Limited Edition is quite similar to the last year’s Saga Anniversary Edition. It’s based on the top-spec Saga 1.3 Premium CVT, now painted in Quartz black, a shade usually reserved for Proton’s government fleet cars. There’s a whole bunch of yellow highlights, which of course is the R3 racing colour. The 15-inch wheels have a matte grey finish too.

New on this latest Limited Edition are the side body stickers, front and rear screen visors, Champion Team stickers, and of course, the customary R3 and Limited Edition badges. It’s still the same Saga that we all know, but if you see one, you’ll know it’s a little bit more special. That’s the point of a limited edition model, right?

Inside, it gets a few unique touches too. There’s a lot of yellow highlights again, plus it now gets leather seat covers and a steering wheel with matching yellow stitching. There are plenty of R3 Limited Edition branding cues to be found, on the dash, front seats and carpets.

Moving on to the Iriz R3 Limited Edition, it follows pretty much the same formula. Based on the Iriz 1.6 Premium CVT, the hatch gets dressed in black for the very first time, with yellow highlights all around. There’s also a new R3 bodykit as well as unique stickers and badges. More interesting are the 16-inch R3 wheels, one inch up from the standard car.

Of course, most of you would have noticed by now that they are indeed the exact same wheels used on the Satria Neo CPS from all of 12 years ago. Me, I’ve never been a fan of these wheels. Not back then, and not now. But, what do you think of them? Let me know in the comments.

Inside, it’s the same again. Lots of yellow bits all around, even on the air-conditioning control knobs and side vents. The centre frame is now in gloss black for extra contrast. Also new are the full leather seat covers, complete with R3 branding of course, plus exclusive carpets with yellow piping.

Unfortunately, that’s where all the additions stop for these R3 Limited Edition models. There are no upgrades to the engines or suspension, so as expected, this is just another bodykit and sticker job. But to be fair to Proton, this is a quick and easy way to drum up sales and publicity, and it’s a proven formula. Ride- and handling-wise, the base cars are already ahead of the competition, so the advantage is already there.

You might argue that this dilutes the R3 brand a little bit, but Proton really hasn’t done anything with it for a long time now, so perhaps this is the first step to something more significant later on.

Interestingly, the company also emphasised at the launch that these cars serve as a reminder that Proton will always be a “full-service” car manufacturer, with the ability to design, develop and build its own cars from a clean sheet of paper. That’s clearly a jab at Perodua there.

Is it fair? I suppose so, but when you’re Perodua and you have open access to Daihatsu and Toyota engines and technologies, I don’t see why they should bother making their own. Plus, Proton is also pretty much rebadging Geely SUVs now, so, yeah. Whatever it is though, we Malaysians are getting better cars at more and more competitive prices, so we shouldn’t complain, really.

Over to you guys then. What do you think of the new Proton Saga and Iriz R3 Limited Edition models? Let us know in the comments section below. Thank you for watching, stay safe, and follow all MCO SOPs, please. We’ll all get through this together. Malaysia Boleh.

GALLERY: 2021 Proton Saga R3 Limited Edition

GALLERY: 2021 Proton Saga R3 Limited Edition official photos

GALLERY: 2021 Proton Iriz R3 Limited Edition

GALLERY: 2021 Proton Iriz R3 Edition official photos

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 18, 2021 at 4:53 pm

The black really highlights the yellow treatment. Nicely done Proton & R3 team!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Monana on Feb 18, 2021 at 4:54 pm

Iriz: great, nimble car with horrible CVT performance (not problematic, OK?)

• avidly neutral on Feb 19, 2021 at 8:47 am

Monana is an avid regular quest here, not a troll, the most neutral commenter, the dislike should go to someone else

• alldisc on Feb 18, 2021 at 5:19 pm

at 42k thats what Proton Saga was selling 20 years ago in the 1.5 Istimewa Iswara guise.

engine was 1.5 SOHC 12 valve carb, while transmission was 3 speed auto.

no airbag nor ABS, zero handling quality with 13 inch wheels.

so the difference with today’s Saga R3 Limited is like day and night… should have name the car Proton Knight.

• Finally Proton R3 sticked Saga, as low as RM42k.

Congratulations to Greely Proton

• Trump Ajibkor on Feb 18, 2021 at 7:06 pm

I cant understand why Dr.Li allows all these facelifts.He should be bringing in the other Geely models with right hand drive conversion.Maybe,just to keep the DRB dudes busy,since there is no massive layoffs.
      Perhaps,just to buy time while enjoying Jurassic Park movie.
      Carlovers want something like x50,x70.Not all these expired life cycle ancient T Rex cars, fit for the museum.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • transformer on Feb 19, 2021 at 12:34 am

Keep the local boleh monkeywrenchers busy, no layoffs. Tengkiu caring geely Chinas.

• Engineer on Feb 19, 2021 at 1:13 am

Dr Li have said he saw the cars are well sorted, reliable and carries well the Proton brand image so that’s why he not only allowed continuing of current legacy models but also to upgrade and refresh them for the current year. That’s a real testament to proton sound engineering on their cars.

• Copy Paste on Feb 19, 2021 at 1:23 am

Copy paste: “It is a working formula. The last I checked, Proton is in the business of making money. So if it works, why not”.

• Avenger on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:12 am

Talk about museum, your Vios is still using chassis from 1st gen way back in 2003. This car should be in the scrapyard, not even fit for museum.

• Lets See on Feb 18, 2021 at 5:24 pm

Lets Rock n Roll and Revel at these cars!

• Gold speech on Feb 18, 2021 at 5:26 pm

Azlan on virtual launch : “If your intent to drive either of these on a daily basis, i would ensure i have my shade with me all the time. These two (R3SE) will make the owners ‘insta-famous’ the moment they roll-out from the showroom”

• Joe Ooi on Feb 18, 2021 at 5:26 pm

OK. So it’s a black variant of the said models with added yellow strips, old rims, some glossy parts here and there with R3 labels everywhere for RM 3,000?

Wouldn’t that RM 3,000 be better served with at least sports suspension system or at least a minor ECU tune up?

• azrai on Feb 18, 2021 at 5:36 pm

I think Proton just got their blacked money printing machine.

• powerbank on Feb 18, 2021 at 5:37 pm

Those racy R3 decals, stickers and badges +47hp…

• Budu Botol Kecik on Feb 18, 2021 at 6:22 pm

Other than colour cosmetic, are there any REAL improvement in engine performance, handling performance?

P1, please dont forget the “R3” meaning that you have coined, ya.

• Engineer on Feb 19, 2021 at 1:15 am

No different than GR line up in Toyota range, why didn’t you harangue there?

• Now the secret of R3 success in racing leaked. Lots of stickers and emblems on their race car. Only now we can owned that racing tech ourself.

• Same old same old. Ho hum..

• Ben Yap on Feb 19, 2021 at 7:16 am

add some yellow color here and there and the Iriz is now R3. If add red colour here and there, proton will call it Ferrari edition already.

• Indah khabar dari rupa

• Anti Tyre Kangkang on Feb 19, 2021 at 8:54 am

For Proton to be seen as high quality car maker, please stop all this ah beng’s makeover launch. Just be bold & declare stock clearance sale.

• Hisham on Feb 19, 2021 at 9:41 am

just cosmetis..

• ismail on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:21 am

saga comes with CVT? isnt it they already change to torq conv auto?

• Arfani on Feb 20, 2021 at 3:25 am

Saya beli Proton tahun 2013. Sampai sekarang masih nyaman dipakai. Cuma ganti timing bel dan accu.

• zainal abidin on Feb 20, 2021 at 9:36 am

What is an “R3” without the R3 alloy rims?

• this is how R3 become a joke in motorsports scene