All-new Proton Satria Neo rendered: 1.5 TGDI, please?

The last time Theophilus Chin worked on a rendering for the all-new Proton Satria Neo was in 2017. At the time, the three-door hatch was based on the Geely GS Sport, but today, the rendering maestro has taken things up a notch.

You’re looking at his latest rendition of the Neo, this one based on the new Lynk & Co 02. It’s actually a rather stylish five-door crossover, so what Theo did was convert the 02 into a three-door hatch, then plastered the fascia of the Geely Emgrand S, a B-segment crossover, to create this one-off look.

The rear end, on the other hand, is achieved by combining a sliver of the 02 (upwards of the tailgate and LED lights) with the rump of the Geely Xing Rui sedan. Finer adjustments include the customary but non-riveted flared wheel arches, the infinite weave grille with new Proton roundel, the Proton script on the tailgate, as well as twin oval tailpipes from the Xing Rui.

Now, the Satria Neo was launched some 15 years ago to replace the original, and remained in production until 2015, when it was discontinued due to poor sales. Many of those who have owned either generations of the Satria are still fans of the little hatch, perhaps even hoping for a third-generation model to rekindle the embers of their old flame.

Chances are slim, but perhaps not entirely impossible. Geely previously revealed that it plans to introduce more BMA-based Proton models (like the X50) in the future. The platform can accommodate wheelbases between 2,550 mm and 2,700 mm, with track widths of between 1,500 and 1,600 mm. It’s modular as well, featuring a set of standardised interfaces for powertrain, electrical systems, chassis and body modules, allowing it to be used as a base for sedans, MPVs and SUVs.

Proton also recently told us that its GEP3 1.5L turbocharged engine (jointly developed by Volvo and Geely) will play a major role moving forward, considering that the CamPro VVT has matured and R&D officially ended. Further details pertaining to the GEP3’s future remain unknown for the time being, but they will likely be manufactured at Proton’s Tanjung Malim plant.

Hey, wouldn’t you want a Satria Neo with a turbocharged engine? Tell us your thoughts, below.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Goddeng that is sexy. Proton can even call it as their GTI model. I would definitely pay for this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
    • Jumbsuck on Sep 08, 2021 at 6:03 pm

Theo should render a new Putra Gti Prodrive also, grey colour please !

• hidden-message on Sep 08, 2021 at 6:29 pm

Theo’s knockout punch to…
      this is just a tip of the iceberg, kinda a prevue
      to the real masterpiece on progress….
      Azlan and studio crew revolutionary design.
      Other camp avid worshippers trembling in fear

• AliAhKauRamasamy on Sep 09, 2021 at 12:16 am

Why Satria Neo must continue to be a 2-doors hatchback instead of more practical 4-doors like Iriz or MyVi? Dear Proton, please make it 4-doors hatch and please stop wasting money and time on a syok sendiri 2-doors hatch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
      • Satria's fan on Sep 09, 2021 at 10:25 am

Satria has always been a 2 doors hatchback, personally, i prefer proton retain Satria’s original body

• unofficial on Sep 09, 2021 at 11:21 am

you’re staring at theophilus chin expression of neo, he blended the front part of geely emgrand s with lynk & co 02 body to create this one of a kind look :
        https://paultan.org/image/2021/04/Geely-Emgrand-S-China-official-15-e1617850411496.jpg

• Anonymous on Sep 09, 2021 at 3:31 pm

And what would be the point of a 4-door Satria when they have the Iriz? What would even be the point of using the “Satria” name on a 4-door? The few who wants the Satria back wants the familiar sporty 2-door. The rest who wants a practical hatchback is already catered for with the Iriz.

• eeeriz on Sep 09, 2021 at 3:41 pm

Agreed. Satria has always synonymous with 2-door car since mid 90s. Also my first car when i started working many, many years ago. Don’t change to 4 doors, it will lose the appeal. But please don’t make it too small like Neo, people are getting taller and bigger too.

• donno on Sep 08, 2021 at 1:50 pm

Yes please.

But it is a very unlikely to happen. A turbo Iriz GTi would be a more possible bet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • kanazai2001 on Sep 08, 2021 at 2:20 pm

if so…. 6MT pls…

• Syaiful Nizam Hassan on Sep 08, 2021 at 3:07 pm

I hate rear license plate bracket located at rear bumper!!!

• Niche segment oppose to Proton mass appealed models. NFA.

• Manual Fan on Sep 08, 2021 at 3:16 pm

A 1.5T manual, good handling like the Satria Gti would be a dream come true

• The looks too simple. Make it more sportier please

• Less is More on Sep 08, 2021 at 9:47 pm

Looks is subjective.

Personally like it and prefer a cleaner but more elegant look.

You can always body kit a car up and add extra details if that is your thing, but to remove details is harder/more expensive.

Just my two cents. Look at Porsche. Simple, clean, elegant and sporty.

• jijoe on Sep 08, 2021 at 4:04 pm

cantik pulak designnya…harap boleh jd realiti

• Cuckoo bird on Sep 08, 2021 at 4:15 pm

If it comes with the mild hybrid pack as well I would consider getting it. The gep3 engine is meant to run with the hybrid system or else it can’t fulfill its full potential. Nice rendering Theo.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 08, 2021 at 4:21 pm

Low volume seller so doubt Proton will even think of reviving the Satria name. Too bad SUVs are all the rage these days.

• niadruob ynohtna on Sep 10, 2021 at 6:03 pm

4×4 is the rage these days with our pot hole ridden and badly patched roads. Buy Raptors, Hiluxes and D-Maxes. Go urban offroading.

• Calvin go on Sep 08, 2021 at 4:26 pm

Can’t wait to have 1..

• Thiru on Sep 08, 2021 at 4:41 pm

Look very nice.but it will bevome a big failure if it comes with two door.

• lilytan on Sep 08, 2021 at 4:54 pm

Engineering wise, they can. If only the can have free reign with geely parts bin. Mgmt wise, they cant. Ah long says only rebadge or recycle.

• Proton X50 on Sep 08, 2021 at 5:10 pm

Wow this is cool. Good job Theo!

• X35 1.4T 235nm on Sep 08, 2021 at 5:24 pm

welldone’ Theo
    In my book the best 3 front design from Geely fleet are Emgrand-S, X50 & Xinyue-L.
    Wholesale _ FC(mc) _ Top-hat(2023)
    Compact SUV A-B segment is on the rise.
    To reduce lead time and cost, Emgrand-S should be push fwd before D segment SUV – Hoyue.
    This crossover equipped with lane keeping assist, full-speed adaptive cruise control, speed limit sign recognition, autonomous emergency braking, an intelligent navigation system and high beam assist

• PlainBS on Sep 08, 2021 at 8:37 pm

What a nice wet dream. It’s a car that Proton won’t do it for now.

• Farid on Sep 08, 2021 at 9:01 pm

Beautiful, would buy in a heartbeat.

• Alkatrash on Sep 08, 2021 at 9:54 pm

Please oh please make it a four door Satria. Sales will improve with a 4 door car. IMHO Who’d wanna drive a two door 1.5 liter engine? You can only cram a pregnant goat into that two door car. Why not go for a fatty little cow instead by having a car with four doors? Well, thats a 5 door sports car for you. Even my 80 year old steering crazy grandfather would approve. *sigh*

• namkoltamu on Sep 08, 2021 at 10:00 pm

i will find money to buy this

• jacksepang on Sep 08, 2021 at 11:29 pm

alamak quite cun lahh,, proudly owned satria neo 1st model before, already sold.

• Suresh Kumar on Sep 09, 2021 at 10:54 am

Looks yummylicious. But I’m sticking to my Manual 1.3 of 24 years.

• Jeffrey Shih on Sep 09, 2021 at 1:25 pm

Why isn’t Proton offering Theophilus a job in their R&D department?

• Leonardo on Sep 09, 2021 at 5:23 pm

So far Theo Chin only showed 2D model renderings. Nowadays car designers must also translate their 2D rending into 3D surface.

• aismen on Sep 09, 2021 at 2:29 pm

Not a 5-door… pass.

• Anonymous on Sep 09, 2021 at 4:36 pm

I think if they want to revive the Satria name they might as well make it a proper (read expensive) hot hatch. Budget alternatives are everywhere even in Proton’s own catalogue, so if Proton wants to make this one sporty model why not just make it properly? Make it the halo car for Proton. The Satria GTi made a bit of an impression in Europe over 20 years ago. It’s only appropriate for a new Satria to remind them that Proton is still around. Make it what the old GTi never quite achieved when it was the most expensive hatchback Malaysia ever produced (costing more than the Peugeot 206 GTi in the UK). At least to shake up the Koreans. We have been embarrassed by them in almost every car segment, despite both having started pretty much alike in reputation.

Of course it would be expensive for a 2-door hatchback but that is the reality. The i20N is more expensive than the Kona Hybrid, so you can expect this hypothetical “hot Satria” I have in mind would inch closer towards X50 Premium range in price. I mean, if you want your Euro-killer hot hatch to be taken seriously you can’t make it as cheap as a budget saloon. The GTi was a dreamy car. The new Satria should be that dream car again. Not something that people can just buy on a whim with their first pay check straight out of university.

• Whats the purpose of doing this?

• Ternang Village on Sep 10, 2021 at 8:59 am

1.5 tgdi will only possible on a high price tag. Malaysian would run away.. 1.0 tgdi is more logical n affordable.. or ppl would go for N H T brands..

• Minloong on Sep 12, 2021 at 1:23 pm

Sexy, buy!

• MOHD SAIFUL AL AZHAR on Sep 14, 2021 at 12:58 am

Beautiful

• Ok, mana nak letak downpayment ni?

• Actually looks good, I’d buy it if it was real, manual and RWD :)

• Looks pretty good to be honest :)

• If you don’t have a good gearbox to match the engine output, better forget about carrying the ‘Satria’ badge..

• Zamri on Jan 23, 2023 at 3:14 pm

Satria Neo with 2 and 4 door varian please… 4 door varian will be accept by more people…