Proton CamPro VVT engine R&D has ended – 1.5T is the future for next, homegrown Malaysian models

The Proton CamPro engine has been around for quite some time now, with the Gen2 being the first model to use the powerplant way back in 2004. Over the years, the engine received a few updates like the addition of cam profile switching (CPS) that also included variable intake manifold (VIM), an intake air-fuel module (IAFM), and there was even a hybrid version presented in a Gen2 concept during the 2007 Geneva Motor Show.

Today, you’ll still find CamPro engines used on a few models that the company sells, including the Exora that uses the CamPro CFE, which is a turbocharged version of the engine. However, when the Iriz first arrived on the scene in 2014, the company introduced a new VVT mill that didn’t sport the CamPro name.

In Proton’s eyes, the Iriz’s debut engine ushered in a new era for the company, and while the VVT engine does share some technologies with the old CamPro, it gets an entirely new block, pistons, valves, and of course, variable valve timing. In a way, it’s still part of the CamPro family, albeit heavily distinguished.

The VVT engine is available in 1.3 and 1.6 litre capacities, with both still being offered for the latest Iriz launched last month. Meanwhile, the Iriz’s sedan sibling, the Persona, only comes with the 1.6 litre version, while the Saga is limited to just the 1.3 litre unit.

If you count the number of years that the VVT engines have been around, it will turn seven years old this September 25, but that’s not to say that Proton has just recycled the same thing all this while. In the latest Iriz and Persona, the VVT engines benefit from further fine-tuning that allows for improved fuel efficiency, while other tweaks have made the entire powertrain even better than before.

“For these models specifically, although we are still using the same engine, we are putting a lot of hours in fine-tuning the ECU calibration. If you notice, there is quite a bit of improvement – NEDC fuel consumption – from the work of ECU tuning combined with the improved function of the CVT, and better rolling resistance via controlling the components. Without tuning the ECU, we couldn’t have achieved this,” said Adzrai Aziz bin Ibrahim, vehicle programme executive for the Iriz and Persona during a recent roundtable interview.

While Proton’s continuous development of the CamPro engine is beneficial, the company admits that there is a limit. “I think in terms of that [VVT] engine per se, hardware-wise, I think there’s no more improvement for the VVT. So, VVT, as of today, remains as it is, as the company is looking into other engines, which is the 1.5 litre turbo used to drive the X50 and X70,” Adzrai explained.

If this sounds familiar, that’s because we’ve touched on this matter in the past, although it’s certainly worth a recap. Currently, the X50 is available with two 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engines, including a direct-injection version (designed 1.5L TGDi on the SUV) that is used for the Flagship variant as well as the export version of the X70 – our local X70 still uses the 1.8 litre turbo four-pot, although we could get the downsized mill in the future.

There’s also a port-injection derivative known as the 1.5T PFI (or 1.5L T in the X50) that powers the remaining three X50 variants. The PFI unit is the focus here, as it has been tipped to be used for the automaker’s future product range, including homegrown models that the company plans to roll out in the next four years.

Proton previously stated that GDI and TGDI engines will not replace its CamPro engines, but that was back in 2016, and new market conditions require a new approach.

The 1.5 T is classified under the GEP3 (Global Engine Petrol 3) programme, and based on a prior report, Proton has already appointed a supplier for some of the parts that will go into the engine. At the time, it was said that the GEP3 engines will replace the CamPro CFE unit, while the VVT engine will remain in service until the new models arrive.

Compared to the aging CamPro range, the GEP3 three-cylinder engine was developed by Volvo and Geely based on the Volvo Engine Architecture, and is marketed under the Drive-E and G-Power names. The improvements in performance, fuel economy and emissions they bring will be critical not just for the local market, but provides Proton with the opportunity to enter markets that have higher regulatory requirements and emissions standards.

Further details of the GEP3 engines for the future are unknown for now, but they will likely be manufactured at Proton’s plant in Tanjung Malim, which has benefitted from sizeable investments. Back in 2018, Proton highlighted that the plant has been upgraded with new body in white (BIW), sub-assembly, trim and final, as well as logistic facilities, which are now likely operational, as the company originally targeted a February 2019 completion date.

The carmaker also said at the time that further expansion could see the addition of an engine plant that will bring the total investment up from RM1.2 billion to RM3 billion. Ensuring a consistent supply of engines is important, especially when Proton CEO Li Chunrong stated previously that the company is capable of launching one new product every year.

With the book on the CamPro engine set to closed, it remains to be seen what will be the first homegrown Proton model to be powered by the 1.5L T engine. As the Iriz and Persona just recently received their second facelifts, and the 4AT-equipped Saga is only around two years old, the possibilities are narrowed down to a C-segment sedan, a large MPV, a seven-seater SUV and a D-segment sedan. Which one do you hope comes first?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Josh C on Sep 01, 2021 at 6:28 pm

Hopefully Proton can upgrade the GEP3 engine’s spark plug to iridium type, so that replacing it can be on longer duration (40k>100k).

• Brian on Sep 02, 2021 at 12:43 am

https://paultan.org/2021/08/18/2022-proton-persona-vs-perodua-bezza-we-compare-the-service-costs-of-both-over-five-years-100000-km/
      Iridium cost more over the 5 year use period and cost is sensitive to most buyers. Proton SC does have iridium plugs upgrade but that is your money your choice.

• Dinasuaur Retirement on Sep 01, 2021 at 6:31 pm

Finally replace Campro CFE 1.6Turbo.

• Donno on Sep 01, 2021 at 6:51 pm

Next homegrown proton model??

There is really a very small market for D-segment sedans everywhere. Something that proton can probably skip altogether. In its place, a large SUV based on the Houyue, probably taking over the perdana nameplate.

In near term a new premium-ish MPV based on the Jiaji is the one proton really needs. Something that could sell starting RM110k, with more premium “royal lounge” 2 seat second row executive versions at RM150k

Next should be a long awaited replacement of the Preve, hopefully something sporty that could take on the Honda Civic, and the european corolla and not too uncle looking.

Also not too late for proton to take over the Elise platform, put the 1.5 turbo GEP3 engine in it and call it its own. No big investments to be done anyway on the platform, while giving proton substantial brand goodwill from the public.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 01, 2021 at 7:01 pm

Maruah or not. Is high time to dump all these old outdated local relics.. No longer relevant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Roti john on Sep 01, 2021 at 7:02 pm

RIP Game Over Campro engine, you will not be missed…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Hamizun Hamzah on Sep 01, 2021 at 8:25 pm

I bought my Gen2 in 2004. It was the first model and my first car. I drive it until today. If Proton stops producing parts for campro, then I wont be getting another Proton for me. Geely is killing Proton by bringing its cars as Proton and not allowi g Proton to have R&D.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
    • jusknittin on Sep 01, 2021 at 10:49 pm

Who cares what car you buy next, no one said you should stick to Proton, thats your choice. But here you are whining about what Geely doing to Proton albeit with no solid fact and telling you don’t want to buy Proton anymore because of that. For what? I don’t know if your story is genuine but to me it seems to have some ulterior motive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • Brian on Sep 02, 2021 at 12:48 am

Either you missed understanding the article or you are just trolling, like the troll above you. Stop developing the engine don’t mean stop producing the engine and even after engine EOL, spareparts are still made available as Proton still stock engine parts for 1.6 Magma til today.

• sabar on Sep 02, 2021 at 8:29 am

bro cheers, don’t be too narrow thinking. 1.5T always better and is what most consumers want. consumers want affordable price, reliable machine, premium interior looks, futuristic and full of technology, not old technologies keep recycling.

• they only stopped the research and development. i’m sure they will not stop producing the spare parts soon.

• James on Sep 01, 2021 at 8:59 pm

As far as I have read, X50 both MPi and turbo is super thirsty 8-10km/l which is pretty much worse than the CFE in Suprima S (both around the same kerb weight) Anyone with X50 can comment?
    If Proton choose to put this in the next Saga and Persona, then prepare to lose further to Perodua. Msians want FC first and foremost (sadly). That’s why Saga and Persona still get outsold by Myvi and Bezza. Proton has to put a fuel efficient engine in their next cars, or hybrid, PHEV, etc. Otherwise Perodua still sell more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • Sustainable on Sep 02, 2021 at 8:39 am

Be green, don’t waste your next generation fuel.
      Don’t pollute the air

• jusknittin on Sep 02, 2021 at 2:58 pm

I would say that people who still assume that Perodua cars saves more fuel than others are ignorant. I owned a Bezza 1.0 and as far as I know, the FC is nowhere close to what being claimed. I assume since Bezza 1.0 variant is using the same Axia engine (claimed 21km/l), then I probably can get maybe 18km/l on the Bezza but in reality, the most I can get is only about 12km/l and that’s on a very conservative drive. On normal days, I dare say around 11km/l tops. You’re saying a bigger 1.5 engine with turbocharged can get 8-10km/l? Are you serious?

• Noor azni bin senik on Sep 02, 2021 at 9:14 pm

That right only assume semata mata

• if the price is right on Sep 03, 2021 at 10:28 am

The Bezza is heavier than the Axia & the same 1.0L engine would have to work harder & burn more fuel to propel the Bezza than the Axia, at the same pace, assuming with the same type of transmission. With the 4AT, there will be losses due torque converter slippage during acceleration which increases fuel consumption.

• jusknittin on Sep 04, 2021 at 11:24 pm

Yes, I agree.. but you have to know that Perodua advertises that the Bezza 1.0 Auto can get 21.3km/l. They also didn’t put any remark/disclaimer that this number might vary on certain drive conditions etc. But they have put some remarks on the 1.3 variants. If you don’t believe me, go to their official website, navigate to the their models selection and select Bezza. Once there, scroll down until you found the “Efficiency” section.

So, people (owners) are not trying to badmouth Perodua rather it’s Perodua themselves indirectly planted this expectation in people’s mind. Most of the buyers are sold based on that claim and you can imagine how disappointed they are when in reality, the claimed fc is nowhere close.

For others who don’t own a Perodua and have first hand experience or extended study on how true the fc claim is for each of their model, and only assuming that Perodua cars are the “king of fc”, well I’m sorry to say that they are just plain ignorant.

• duke790r on Sep 02, 2021 at 5:52 pm

8-10 km/l? my GR Yaris manages better than that.. 10 km/l is the absolute worst i got. If i do more motorway runs i could get it up to 14-15 km/l average.

• If the VVT engine got entirely new block, pistons, valves, and the vvt system itself, what else were remained for the engine to be called CamPro? Engine cover? Spark plug? Exhaust manifold? Fuel injection system?

• stick on Sep 01, 2021 at 10:16 pm

since proton is just rebadged geely why not just switch fully to selling geely only and terminate proton altogether?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • if sold under geely brand name…than it will be just another unknown china brand company on the market.
      most msian wont feel any attachment/connection to buy unknown china brand
      better put faith on P2, T, H

• TheMann98 on Feb 05, 2022 at 4:39 pm

I don’t think you understand what 45% shares in Proton means, its means that proton is still a Malaysian company not China, 45% bro not 100% share belong to geely are you read all this or what?

• PlainBS on Sep 01, 2021 at 10:40 pm

You shall not be missed. I hope this is a good starting point for a change in Proton.

• Yusuf Iman Bin Quek on Sep 02, 2021 at 12:28 am

Why new saga VVT engine always knocking, and proton SC said noting can be done about it??

• Engineer on Sep 02, 2021 at 8:38 am

PaulTan have really confused direction of writing this article. If they want to stick to official nomenclature by the manufacturers then by right Campro is long gone replaced by VVT on most models bar Exora. I mean they go on to acknowledge VVT is 7 years old so is it a Campro as per title or not and wouldn’t that make it 17 years old counting from Campro days? Pretty confusing way of writing.

With all the massive changes, VVT is effectively a new engine entirely itself, not to mention it has changed the mount points so older Campro cannot be fitted onto newer Iriz, Persona et al. A more correct term would be a well refined cousin of Campro, much like how HK416 is to the veteran M16.

Anyhoo from 2014 until whenso it gets phased out with PIES full model change, it had a good run but times changed and emission regulations are getting stricter. With EV on the horizon, it makes less sense to develop an entirely engine family replacement so going the route of adapting Geely’s 1.5L engine family which Proton are well familiar with by now, makes perfect sense if I were Proton, and save up the R&D money to develop new cars around it or go one up and come out with EV powertrain.

Yes they had Iriz EV, but even that bit of tech has marched on and moving toward inwheel motors which Proton could leverage on Bosch as their usual tech partner. This would save up space at the front bonnet for a quick swap battery pack cell, thereby making the change from versions of ICE car into EV a direct progression with minimal R&D investment needed if having to develop an entirely new EV car.

No not every EV car have to be built from scratch like Tesla did, see Ford with their F-150 Lightning. A switch from ICE to EV is entirely viable for existing cars today. Proton can leverage on that possibility to invest their R&D monies where it would count.

• Henry on Sep 02, 2021 at 10:24 am

Will that mean the belt timing instead of chain? That would be replacement every 4 years or 8000km. That would increase the cost of ownership.

• From Campro to VVT to 1.5T had always been timing belt. No it won’t add a lot as it is a one off change for most users.

• “That would increase the cost of ownership.”
      Not my problem

• kusochon on Sep 02, 2021 at 10:46 am

bukan engine geely ni makan minyak jugak ke?

• Teo Eugene on Sep 02, 2021 at 11:05 am

When Proton embark on CamPro engine project, it is supposed to be state of the art that meets current and future requirements.
    However, they fell short on the development target timeline and instead released an CamPro engine without CamPro. When they released the upgraded version, it called CamPro CPS (Cam Profiling Switching and in this case needed to work with VIM). Guess what, CamPro got its name from the CPS system itself.
    However, this CPS + VIM is too costly but without it, it causes a severe torque dipped at mid range RPM and hence IAFM was created. Alas, this half cooked rush job developed parts was not properly tested before release and then now you hear complaints of noise amd failures from the IAFM unit.
    For the 1.6CFE engine (now called Turbo as Proton failed to capture the mindset with the CFE naming) it was coin as the Phoenix Project. The CPS which must work in tandem to the VIM was replaced with a much simpler VVT unit. Bear in mind that the VVT only controls the intake where as most current VVT engine by other manufacturers controls both intake as well as exhaust.
    Therefore, as explained clearly that a further R&D will not be done simply because it is not cost effective to do so.

• Engineer on Sep 02, 2021 at 11:15 pm

Wholeheartedly DISAGREE with your rendition on Campro development from 3rd paragraph down.

Initial Campro, even without CPS, was a very high powered engine for its CC back then even tho it was not fully developed yet, the variable timing mechanism still not finished. That was Mahathir’s fault to pressure Proton in releasing this engine overruling their management team. The CPS is what would be the complete engine but it geared towards better performance delivery and not FC, something of a hero engine indeed only beaten by the more exotics B16B and 4AGE types within its CC. Meanwhile the IAFM engine was developed in parallel for the more staid and fuel conscious crowd, in other words both were certainly not “half cooked rush job developed parts” and the production CPS & IAFM engines are the finished job. Issues with IAFM only occur much much later caused by material fatigue on IAFM module plastic housing. It is engine component so it is understandable.

Unlike the performance oriented CPS, Campro CFE was just as named more oriented towards efficiency of a small engine, the purpose which is to take on traditional 1.8L & 2.0L engines yet have better fuel efficiency than both, that is why it went into larger C segments Preve sedan & Exora MPV.

By all accounts it worked as it was intended but the buying public are stupid. Half were quick to assume it was performance oriented aka VW GTI and were disappointed when it didn’t, and the other half compared it with 1.6L and 1.5L NA engines complaining on excessive oil & fuel consumption never mind the performance it brings nor the lower FC compared to equivalent 1.8L & 2.0L NA cars. After a while Proton just stop trying to correct a misconception and just went along with it.

The VVT was merely CFE without the turbo, itself a developmental offshoot that branched off far far away as it matures, the engineers realising that CPS tech was not suitable to be turboed, mirrored by Honda’s difficulty to turbofied their cam lobe timing engines (eventually they only had that one in the S2000). CPS was quickly ditched for a different valve timing system which then gave birth to CFE & VVT. And bear in mind in 2014 when VVT was introduced, Vios still had VVTi (only intake), City only had SOHC engine, Almera had CVTC (only intake), Civic R18 & even TypeR K20 had cams only at intake, the exception in then market is Altis 1.8L with DVVTi. So when VVT debuted it was current for the market then. Things change but Proton did not have economy of scale to develop newer engines with dual VVT. Now they can focus that effort towards EV implementation.

• aimanirfan on Nov 23, 2021 at 4:11 pm

damn bro I’ve learned a lot of new things today from your passage.

• put this 1.6l campro in new saga then i will happily buy it as my daily

• jon.vito82 on Dec 11, 2021 at 11:09 pm

please proton, build new model with campro 1.6 manual..

• TheMann98 on Feb 05, 2022 at 4:35 pm

It will be a game changer for Proton if next generation Saga and Persona is equipped with 1.2L and 1.5L new engine since CamPro vvt is still not very efficient to compete with Japanese engine.