Interstate travel to be allowed simultaneously across Malaysia once 90% vaccination rate achieved – PM

Prime minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob has said (once again) that interstate travel will be allowed to resume very soon, adding that this will happen simultaneously across the entire country, according to reports by Astro Awani and The Star.

Ismail Sabri previously stated that interstate travel will be allowed when the country’s adult vaccination rate (fully vaccinated with two doses) hits 90%. The decision to lift the travel restriction between states simultaneously is due to the 90% requirement being an indicator that most states have or are expected to reach an adult vaccination rate of at least 80% or more.

“Wait for my announcement. But it won’t be long and will be done simultaneously across the country. In the past, we wanted to give permission when the vaccination rate reached 80%, but there are other states that are still low [in terms of vaccination rate]. If we open up [interstate travel] for the whole country [then], it may have negative effects for states [with a low vaccination rate],” he said.

“If permission is given at 90% [nationwide vaccination rate], we expect most states to have achieved their highest percentage of vaccinations,” he continued. As of Thursday (October 7, 2021), 89.1% of the population (20,856,337 individuals) have been fully vaccinated with two doses.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• cheung on Oct 08, 2021 at 7:39 pm

Make it fast ok
    Lets go cuti cuti malaysia !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 09, 2021 at 3:05 pm

Syukuring keeps rolling n rolling n rolling n rolling….

• Sabrikor on Oct 09, 2021 at 8:57 pm

Opening the state borders is just transfering the virus from state A to state B or C.Look at Perlis,some infections are transfered by degil dudes who escape checkpoints from kedah.
      Dont celebrate without thinking ,yet.If your cucu still not jabbed and you disregard all sops in place,and degil ,catastrophes know no boundaries.
      Dont cry and ask for sympathy by then.It will be too late.
      Better wait till they are jabbed before you get emotional and cross state borders.
      The virus is no respecter of vvips,billionaires,young and old,black or white.Look at Donald the bodo Trump,he is fortunate to have a cocktail of expensive drugs to survive,if not he is already 6 feet underground.

• Safety First on Oct 09, 2021 at 9:41 pm

If you love your abah, emak, nenek, atuk and mertuas, pls get it done for all family members heading back.

If you really love your abah, emak, nenek, atuk and mertuas, pls don’t go back yet until 100% everyone is fully vaccinated.

Think Safety First for others.

• Malaysians after 90% vac rate
    Dusts hands*
    Good job folks we’ve successfully eradicated Covid19 from the face of this earth.

• Dr Strange on Oct 09, 2021 at 4:58 pm

The DG has clearly mentioned opening is not by choice and the Gomen is forced by the people. If infections goes up again, you people asked for it.

Gomen is committed to bukak semua only for those vaccinated and using this tactic to persuade those antivaxxers to get them vaccinated, Im all for it. As a doctor I fully support this Gomen for everyone to be vaccinate.

• Hantu Raya on Oct 10, 2021 at 9:22 am

Their body, their choice.

• Albert Einstein Junior on Oct 10, 2021 at 5:28 pm

Dr.Strange,dont you feel it is a ploy to be popular?
        The below 12 kids are still unvaccinnated.
        It will cause a kids Mini Wuhan.The 12-17 are still way below full jabbed status.
        We have already waited this long.Cant they wait another month for kids jab to roll out?
        Now it is a free for all.
        People die when they ignore the science,not because the science is absent.

• Fake News on Oct 10, 2021 at 11:01 pm

SINGAPORE – As Singapore presses on with its strategy of living with Covid-19, an update in mindsets is needed to respect the virus but not be paralysed by fear, said Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong on Saturday (Oct 9).

Addressing the nation on the Covid-19 situation, he set out why a zero-Covid-19 strategy is no longer feasible.

Instead, people should go about their daily activities as normally as possible, taking necessary precautions and complying with safe management measures. This is because Covid-19 has become a treatable, mild disease for most with vaccinations, he said.

• Dr Strange on Oct 11, 2021 at 8:01 am

Does it matter? All rakyat focused policies are populist by nature, what’s really important are those that truly has rakyat’s best interest and universal vaccination is one of it. Parents with schoolgoing kids aren’t gonna be crossing borders soon as their kids have to be in school and most of them returning had been fully vaccinated. This leave parents with kids still at home and really it is their responsibility now. High time the Gomen hand over reins back to parents after taking care of everyone for the last 19 months.

• IGP Mom on Oct 09, 2021 at 10:31 am

Just open for belacan sake. Rakyat oredi dem tired of this flip flop gomen. Rakyat cant wait to dump this failed gomen..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
    • Amran on Oct 09, 2021 at 1:19 pm

Tutup komplen
      MCO komplen
      bukak komplen

Ini spesis tau komplen je. Syukur lah sikit u masih hidup oii!!!

• Copy Paste on Oct 09, 2021 at 1:22 pm

Copy paste: “This is a typical comment of someone who don’t know what their talking about nor do they have proof of what they said. Just a baseless “hate” comment. Well, that’s “hate” right? No matter how correct something is, it always end up with a negative comment from someone who hates, even if it’s ridiculous.”

• Sick & Tired on Oct 09, 2021 at 2:55 pm

Okayyy… so what is PH benchmark of success then? 100kdaily infections with 10k deathrates? Your successes will be the death of all of us! I mean literally 6ft under or cremated!

• I avoid a lot of crap they post, especially where they cant spell or construct a sentence, and when the comment and article contradict lol (happens a surprising number of times). They employ some real tards.

The only truth they talk are untruth.

• ripley's believe it or not on Oct 12, 2021 at 10:16 am

It is basically a ruse to get more hits & in turn, more business.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 09, 2021 at 3:09 pm

No country in the world has gone back to lockdown after mass vaccinations. Stop living under the rock. Sohai lockdown fanatic

• Copy Paste on Oct 09, 2021 at 3:39 pm

Copy paste: “I think the government has done what is within their control. 90% is an achievement, least to say. The traveling and the risks are up to the people to decide for themselves. Don’t forget when parents take along their kids, the unvaccinated children don’t have a choice.”

• Dr Strange on Oct 09, 2021 at 3:49 pm

I hope nobody comes here complaining & moaning about why opening or why not remain closed. The DG has clearly mentioned opening is not by choice and the Gomen is forced by the people. If infections goes up again, you people asked for it.

Gomen is committed to bukak semua only for those vaccinated and using this tactic to persuade those antivaxxers to get them vaccinated, Im all for it. As a doctor I fully support this Gomen for everyone to be vaccinate.

• Celup King on Oct 09, 2021 at 9:43 pm

Thank you #Lawan and black flag protesters and politicians pressuring to reopen the economy b4 covid cases reduce.

• PlainBS on Oct 10, 2021 at 12:11 pm

Opposite of failed is success.
      So meaning opposites of:
      90% vaccinated rate is 0% vaccinated
      5000 new cases is 50,000 new cases
      70 new deaths is 1,000 new deaths
      Recovering economy is a dead economy

So a success gahmen (to you) is one that has LOW vaccinated, HIGH infectivity, HIGH death rates, and a DYING economy. Hmm… sounds like Selangor before Federal gahmen stepped in to save them.

Unless youre the grim reaper or a Covid advocate, I hope youre not serious to dismiss real successes at keeping people alive.

• Lolwhut? on Oct 10, 2021 at 5:22 pm

A few countries have already downgraded Covid to just a flu.

Keep living in fear if you want.

• In case you do not know, vaccination rate has nothing to do with whether you will die of covid or not. 90 percent of adult vaccination coverage means 10 percent of adults do not have vaccine. And out of the 90 percent, many will still die of covid. It is whether you are part of those who survive or those who die that matters. And this has nothing to do with 90 percent coverage.

• Fake News on Oct 09, 2021 at 5:08 pm

SINGAPORE – Getting infected but not sick is the best thing that could happen to someone who has been vaccinated, as this could protect him against any coronavirus variants that might emerge in the future, said Professor Ooi Eng Eong of the Duke-NUS Medical School.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • swen ekaf on Oct 12, 2021 at 1:06 am

He likely forgot to tell about the possibility that the virus may jump back to the wild animals & later jump again to humans as a more aggressive & deadly variant.

• Why So Serious on Oct 09, 2021 at 5:24 pm

If every single person cooperates and get vaccinated, no issues for us to wait until 100% fully vaccinated. The thing is society will always have pockets of holdouts just like USA, so getting to 100% is not assured. The best is target 90% and above then let nature take its course for those still stubborn. Sooner than later thru attrition and herd immunity vs infected, Covid will become endemic and nothing more than flu.

• “The best is target 90% and above then let nature take its course for those still stubborn”

I have no problem with removing restrictions. In fact, restrictions should not have existed from the beginning, regardless of vaccination coverage.

However, I think there is a serious misunderstanding among certain people about the vaccination situation in Malaysia. My 2nd dose is on November 9, 2021. This is the government assigned date.

I guess the health ministry has been spreading so much wrong information that some people think all those who waited for vaccine have received it.

• Lets See on Oct 11, 2021 at 8:05 am

You could…. you know… stay at home until 2 Nov to get yr 2nd jab, then stay at home for another 14 days before yr free, you know.

• Make Malaysia Great Again on Oct 09, 2021 at 6:11 pm

Spore is reopening even with surge in cases.
    USA is reopening even with surge in cases.
    UK is reopening even with surge in cases.
    S.Korea is reopening even with surge in cases.
    Thailand is reopening even with surge in cases.
    Indonesis is reopening even with surge in cases.
    Japan just had Olympics and now Paralympics even with surge in cases.
    The world is adapting to live with the virus.
    As the virus evolves we also have to evolve, we cannot be locked up forever. Maybe you can but not the rest of us.
    Time to make Malaysia great again!

• I agree to open. Majority I believe same too. Rakyat mature enough to protect themselves. People can choose to stay at home if they feel still not safe. But for many life must go on, earn income, family and so on…maintain SOP. Learn to live with it but not let it stop our livelihood.

• fully vaccinated persons do get infected….. and passes it on. vaccination is not the be all, end all.

• Lets See on Oct 11, 2021 at 8:07 am

Nothing is 100% safe in this world. Just coz there are evils outside, do you want to stay inside foreva?

• Numbers are just numbers on Oct 14, 2021 at 9:00 pm

And even devil can be found inside too. So if there’s a chance to tripped and fell, we don’t walk? There’s risk everywhere so get on with live and do it your way respectfully.