Our locally-assembled CKD cars are the same quality as imported CBU models – Mercedes-Benz Malaysia

The thought that locally assembled cars are inferior in quality compared to their fully imported CBU counterparts run rampant in some pockets of the Malaysian society, and to them, no brands are exempted.

At the launch of the CKD Mercedes-Benz A-Class Sedan and GLA, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s (MBM) head of sales and marketing Michael Jopp told the press: “I don’t know where this would come from, but no, it’s very clear. The quality control systems are exactly the same in the mother plant as well as in our CKD plants.”

“I know our colleagues are doing their very best to make sure that customers won’t feel any difference between a CKD car and a CBU car,” Jopp said, adding that the assembly procedures and tolerances, as well as parts used are also the same.

Granted, the assembly operations in Pekan is run by DRB-Hicom, but Jopp explained that the guidelines for assembling Mercedes-Benz models are the same from start to finish. “Internally, this is also very openly and transparently shared between the plants,” he added.

Since CKD operations began in 2004, more than 100,000 locally-assembled Mercedes-Benz passenger cars have been produced, and a sum of over RM300 million has been invested into the plant. Today, a total of 15 Mercedes-Benz CKD models are on sale – the line-up includes the V177 A-Class Sedan, H247 GLA, W205 C-Class (C 43 included), W213 E-Class, W222 S-Class, X253 GLC (including the GLC 43 4Matic Coupe) and V167 GLE.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• digidigi on Nov 05, 2021 at 11:56 am

Where is Mercedes malaysia EV offering?

• Sohai on Nov 05, 2021 at 11:58 pm

I know, but we preferred CKD of CLA, not the A-Class. Malaysian not interested on A-Class.

• Sohai on Nov 06, 2021 at 12:03 am

Malaysian preferred CKD CLA but they bring in CKD A-class, u want EV then they will bring in Hybrid. Not sure how they launch the survey pools, so inaccurate…

• KenTot on Nov 05, 2021 at 12:07 pm

How about spec? Customizability? Still many of CKD Benz doesnt even have ACC.

• unker mesedis on Nov 05, 2021 at 12:17 pm

yar but at least in europe can choose optional extra, can add and omit what you want…

meanwhile in msia, take it or leave it got 2 models wat..cheap wan and expensive wan..

• Agreed. Since they’re going through the headache to assemble these locally, they might as well let you check some boxes to add on certain features.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 05, 2021 at 7:02 pm

They can’t do this because every change in spec sheet has to go through the govt for price approval so if u wanna blame then blame the federal govt for having so tight controls over the price.

• Dredd on Nov 06, 2021 at 6:00 pm

They need to have strict control over that or else you find unscrupulous companies doing hanky panky. Dredd is displeased with lawbreakers.
        https://paultan.org/2021/04/22/tan-chong-motor-to-settle-rm109-million-bill-for-excise-duties-via-instalments-over-a-period-of-36-months/

• Bob Mal on Nov 05, 2021 at 1:04 pm

Well we don’t need to look far as long as your CKD contains Malaysian made stuff it is likely to be inferior in some ways for example the DRL on the Proton X50 where you can definitely see multiple LEDs build up the lighting strip (which lead to some parts bright some parts dim), however the Geely Coolray it is a 1 cool full strip.

• ThePolygon on Nov 05, 2021 at 1:12 pm

Sadly, not as stylish as the new CLA.

• Sohai on Nov 06, 2021 at 12:01 am

You are right, Malaysian not like the booring A-Class, never in most Malaysians mind that will buy a A-Class, never ever… we need CKD of CLA.

• Obviously they would CKD the CLA if the CBU car was selling well but clearly it isn’t. Mercedes isn’t going to randomly pick a car for no reason to CKD. The a class must have a high demand from local customers hence why it’s CKD.

• Why in china the CKD they use steel bonnet and fender instead of aluminum?

• anonymous_c on Nov 05, 2021 at 2:55 pm

then there is also Dealer version of Mercedes Benz…

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 05, 2021 at 3:13 pm

You could twist this all the way around easily.

If you have to depend on strict QC to maintain quality, what does that say about the people putting your car together?

Tidak APA runs deep.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 05, 2021 at 4:14 pm

lol pls dont lie

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 05, 2021 at 4:58 pm

Congrats to our DRB Hicom abams, Not just VW Group but also Daimler Mercedes Group have much trust in your capabilities and hardworking culture to entrust you with making their top performance & luxury cars! With cheaper CKD prices leading to more sales, your hardwork will be recognised by the whole of Daimler. That is why even MBM sales head concur with VW CEO both admitting the truth that our abams are more hardworking and better performing than Wolfsburg & equallt as good as Stuttgart abams. This is the trust they gave to us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Lol, since when A Class listed as ‘luxury’? Come to Bolehland tin kosong spec.

#TidakApa
      #AsalkanLogo3PointedStar

• JOACHIM on Nov 06, 2021 at 10:37 pm

Brother. Anything above Rm200k is considered luxury lah! Not everyone is as rich as you to not mind paying that much for 3pointed star.

• Malaysian mentality. So does the leaders.

• Hahaha..BS lah