Drivers with insufficient Touch ‘n Go eWallet balance the reason for viral RFID lane congestion – PLUS

On Monday (February 21, 2022), a photo of long queues at two RFID lanes at the Jalan Duta toll plaza went viral on social media, prompting PLUS Malaysia to conduct an investigation on the matter.

According to a press release issued by the highway concessionaire yesterday, it was determined that during the peak hours between 8am to 8.59am, there were a number of cases of drivers with insufficient balance attempting to reload their Touch n’ Go eWallet at the boom gates, resulting in the congestion.

The company has since apologised for any inconvenience caused and said it will help guide customers to park their vehicles at a safe location away from traffic in front of the RFID lane so they can reload their TnG eWallet.

PLUS also reminded highway users to always check that they have sufficient balance in their TnG eWallet or TnG card for a smooth journey. Following the government’s intervention, there are three payment options available: RFID, TnG card and SmartTAG.

For those who are using RFID for toll payment, you can activate the auto-reload function in the TnG eWallet app. This automatically tops up your balance with a pre-determined amount once it hits a certain threshold, and you can watch a tutorial on how to do so here.

It’s also important that the RFID tag be installed properly, especially if you’re doing it yourself using a self-fitment kit. An RFID tag needs to be situated at least 5 cm away from metal parts to prevent any possible interference, which, on the windscreen, means away from the A-pillar, and if located on the headlamp, in the middle to have some distance from the bodywork.

Should you choose the windscreen as the spot to place the RFID tag, take note of the path of your car’s wipers and if your car’s tint has a high metal content. The headlamp is preferred for a majority of applications should the latter be the case.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• AHA! As I expected! Most of those who complaint are Malaysian idiot drivers who did not have enough fund in their ewallet. And they have the cheek to complaint! Tak tau malu ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 35
  • Civic Turbo 2018 on Feb 23, 2022 at 10:37 am

Physical card instill better human behaviour. No congestion in other lanes is the solid proof.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Engineer on Feb 23, 2022 at 12:42 pm

Have you seen the congestion on Smart Tag lane? Most of them later switch over to boothed lanes which they sheepishly hand out their card & cash to the attendant inside, and miraculously soon they can go through. Why? Again stupids who forgot to reload their TnG card. Whether it is ewallet or touch card, Malaysians have a chronic problem of not caring until it is too late and they go about blaming the system, the card, TnG, their wife & mother for their forgetfulness and tidak apa attitude.

It is not the system that failed, it is the human that uses it.

• Can see plenty of recalcitrant Malaysians blaming the company that is blaming the users. Firstly they never bothered to verify the issues instead they go on about with repeating hearsays, and I doubt they actually have RFID at all.

In truth, Smart Tag are just as prone to failures due to user problems; insufficient value in card, device spoiled, ran out of battery, etc. This had been going on for dog years and people been complaining about it, now suddenly RFID is the bad guy and Smart Tag is better? Pfft!

Typical Malaysian idiots blaming everyone and everything else, picking and finding faults but themselves.

• Monopoly on Feb 23, 2022 at 10:55 am

i have experience once that I have sufficient balance RM19 and my toll charges is RM18 but it indicate insufficient balance. I have to top up on the spot. Why?

• Albert Einstein Sr on Feb 23, 2022 at 12:49 pm

Insufficient balance is only one issue.
      The main issue ..wrong placement of the stickers when consumers DIY at home.
      My 2 cars are all done by their agents at shopping centre carparks FOC during promotion period.
      They should continue the FOC promotions at designated shopping outlets.Ajibkor said it should be Rm1.Better still,let it be free.

• Don’t simply blame on user. As monopoly company, TnG shall provide total solution. Not just collecting profit alone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 28
    • Sick & Tired on Feb 23, 2022 at 12:51 pm

What solution for insufficient balance in account? Let the system go negative? Then users need to owe how much to satisfy, RM50? If breach that sum then what, complain that TNG need to find solution again?
      How about raising what you can owe to RM100? Then if you breach that sum, then what, complain again? How much you want to owe TNG until you satisfy? Never need to pay toll ah? Ridiculous!
      Or do you prefer TNG bar you from using tolled highways if you overdue? Perhaps they should then charge people interest on what they owe and put their name into CCRIS/CTOS like credit card companies do. Perhaps this is the best solution TNG can give to satisfy idiots that don’t care to reload.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 23, 2022 at 2:00 pm

There should have been an independent investigation. Of course, an investigation by the highway concessionaire would be in favour of its toll collection service provider while blaming the highway users.

• Amran on Feb 23, 2022 at 4:41 pm

what solution? Takde duit, don’t drive on highway! Use motor if you poorfag!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
      • Brian on Feb 23, 2022 at 6:44 pm

Woi! All those who ride motorbikes are not poor fags, you dunce!

• Amran got a point, if you don’t want or cannot afford to pay tolls then better use motors. Majority of B40s use motors so…..

• Brian on Feb 24, 2022 at 11:25 am

Amran never got a point because he simply ignored that even the majority of B40s who ride motorbikes are not fags.

• No money no talk la

• Old dog on Feb 23, 2022 at 12:04 pm

The touch n go was first implemented with smart tag, touch n go allows auto topup when amount drops to a certain level. Later, this feature was removed. It should be reinstated.

• Sick & Tired on Feb 23, 2022 at 12:53 pm

eWallet does have auto topup feature which I find strange that many do not use if they complain about being stuck at RFID lane.

• newme on Feb 23, 2022 at 12:05 pm

Yea… suddenly so many people just start to use TnG on 21 Feb. Nak tipu pun agak-agak lah.

And when congestion happened, TnG users chose to jam up the RFID lane and leave TnG lane free.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Read first before you comment, you won’t look so stupid.
      This is about RFID users jamming up the lanes because they had insufficient credit in their ewallet, not the TNG card, and frantically attempting to reload they caused others to wait. It is not about TNG tipu here, it is you who did not read before you type.

• newme on Feb 24, 2022 at 9:37 am

If you think enough you won’t look so less intelligent.

Suddenly everyone have insufficient e-wallet credit when everyone have enough credits the day before and 2 weeks before? Were TnG only launched yesterday?

Nak defend pun agak2 lah.

• hyin21 on Feb 23, 2022 at 4:52 pm

yes explanation not logic. if you have insufficient balance, any lane can also be affected. it’s a co-incidence that many with insufficient balance are rfid users….hahaha

• Copy Paste on Feb 23, 2022 at 6:10 pm

Copy paste: “there were a number of cases of drivers with insufficient balance attempting to reload their Touch n’ Go eWallet…
        there are three payment options available: RFID, TnG card and SmartTAG….
        For those who are using RFID for toll payment, you can activate the auto-reload function in the TnG eWallet app. This automatically tops up your balance with a pre-determined amount once it hits a certain threshold”

• Skeptical on Feb 23, 2022 at 12:50 pm

Typical feedback by PLUS group communication. Never benchmark with other H/way operator doing. Like Duke, how they can combine Smart Tag and RFID in one lane. PLUS should think and provide solution i.e leverage on PLUS ST & RFID individual lanes rather keep blaming and point finger, user la, company la, device la…haihh

• Kenny Tan on Feb 23, 2022 at 1:26 pm

I don’t get it why Touch & Go can’t made it automatic transfer of funds from ewallet to T&G card to cover the insufficient funds on both account vice versa.

• Hafeez on Feb 23, 2022 at 2:14 pm

Always blame rakayat to hide their inability and unprofessional ethics towards work, if customer have less funds in touch n go so WHERE IS PLUS HI WAY ” BACK UP”

• Dong Gor on Feb 23, 2022 at 2:20 pm

TnG ewallet also not all flawless lar. some highway can auto debit from your wallet some cannot. apa la. before launch e wallet, need do background integration dulu. Same company but operate separately…number 1 lo.

• transformer on Feb 23, 2022 at 3:07 pm

nice, blame rakyat….

Gov should allow bank wave(visa/master) card as alternative(guess everyone has a debit card in their pocket), remove TnG monopoly

• davenport on Feb 23, 2022 at 4:00 pm

As if there are no instances of Smart Tag users try to go thru with insufficient funds. Difference is they don’t cause massive jam like this.

Why?

• But they do, have you seen Smart Tag lanes before RFID implementation? Same problem, why no one highlight. Because it is already normal to expect sudden logjams. For RFID, such incidents will also normalise in time. People will just accept it and go.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 23, 2022 at 4:18 pm

typical, blame the consumers

• macampondan on Feb 23, 2022 at 6:50 pm

itu pasal…. gov policy bodoh, plus implementation pun bodoh…. semua pun main good guy… macam mana nak improve.

SG Vietnam Australia…. free flow lane… tak cukup balance… semua kena saman …. automatically…

Gov bodoh, boleh accept ka?

• Jangan blame dan tipu orang lain lah. Plaza tol Plus yang upgrade dari smart tag ke RFID yang bermasalah. Kedudukan sensor terlalu rapat, menyebabkan sensor tak dapat detect rfid sticker jika dua kereta bertunda terlalu rapat. Jangan beri alasan, mengakui kesilapan dan memperbetulkan keadaan adalah lebih baik. Imho.

• Katheryne Wong on Feb 24, 2022 at 8:49 am

Based on experience, RFID is 50-50, sometimes okay and sometimes cannot detect. But smartag is efficient.

• Isaac on Feb 24, 2022 at 7:23 pm

Isn’t it better to show the users balance as they enter/exit the toll? Atleast they would know when to top up their balance and avoid this nonsense altogether

• Nelson Mandela on Feb 24, 2022 at 7:33 pm

How come even country like south africa has more advance RFID tech compared to Malaysia? In South Africa you need to link your RFID to a bank or credit card. So no issues on insufficient funds. It seems we like to use shitty tech for the rakyat.

• Kuan KC on Apr 01, 2022 at 10:54 pm

I can be a witness that the RFID problem is not due to insufficient balance in the e-wallet after the experience of exiting the highway at Changkat Jering and Sungai Petani (U) today.