RFID toll system chosen due to low cost, Singapore-style ERP system too costly, would burden the rakyat

Staying on the topic of radio frequency identification (RFID) for toll payments, works minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof said the current system implemented by Touch ‘n Go was chosen over competing platforms due to its low cost, according to The Star.

“RFID technology compared to the infrared technology used for SmartTAG devices is the more appropriate choice because it uses radio waves that have wider detection limits, in addition to a lower cost,” he argued.

Fadillah reiterated the now-familiar refrain of the system being in line with the ministry’s aim of introducing multi-lane free flow (MLFF) tolling, which is set to be fully implemented by 2025. He added that most advanced countries with MLFF systems use RFID.

Confusingly, the minister also said that the government decided against implementing a “barrier-free toll system” like the one used by Singapore for Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) – itself an RFID MLFF system – as it would be prohibitively expensive for Malaysian consumers. “Due to cost constraints and implementation that will burden the people, this system will not be [introduced] in Malaysia.”

The difference between Singapore’s RFID system and ours is that the island nation utilises an active transponder called an in-vehicle unit (IU). The device is powered by the car’s electrics, enabling better detection using the overhead ERP gantries. The cost of an IU – mandatory for new cars – dwarfs the controversial RM35 required for Touch ‘n Go RFID self-fitment stickers, at S$155.80 (RM480) a pop.

Singapore will switch to a new ERP system next year, ditching the RFID gantries in favour of GPS-based payments, using a new on-board unit (OBU) provided for free. Its implementation has been delayed twice, first from end-2020 to end-2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, then to the second half of 2023 as a result of the global semiconductor chip crisis.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• 50sen tag sold at RM35 is cheap. Yes it is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Make Malaysia Great Again on Mar 02, 2022 at 7:46 pm

If do not want to burden the rakyat, just remove the tol.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 7
    • John Rambo on Mar 02, 2022 at 9:19 pm

Remove the toll doesnt make it better la brader. U tengok itu jalan biasa sudah la. Mau kasi turap pun makan 10 tahun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
      • Look at Thailand, no tol.

• Tolled roads stems from a lack of people doing their job. One can equally stop building public hospitals and instead issue private hospital license.
        PH promised something they cannot deliver yes.
        Everyone should issue monopolistic contracts for 10 years. Even if they lose the next election, the next party cannot unwind what you did. But you can, when the 10 is up your turn again

• Copy Paste on Mar 03, 2022 at 12:17 pm

Copy paste: “If PH keep their promise of abolishing tolls, we will not be here discussing about this.
      Janji dicapati.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Vincent on Mar 04, 2022 at 9:11 am

Abolish this, you spend more on others. Abolish that, you’ll later complaint why the road spoilt, road tax higher, girlfriend cost more to maintain. Political party say what they need to keep your nerves calm to win votes, this you can butt hurt until today.

Stop complaining and grow yourself. Otherwise complaint until your grandson become father.

• MOHD HALIM B ABDULLAH on Mar 04, 2022 at 12:10 am

Yes .agree .the tag easy to damage .

• Maimon on Mar 04, 2022 at 1:52 pm

since when they think about rakyat!? joke

• If the performance of RFID used is worse than or same as SmartTAG, why need to invest to change? Anyway the cost of good RFID is one-time only. The important is to meet objective to reduce traffic jem. Smell something fishy here… where is MACC?

• What do u mean burde the rakyat.The rfid and touch n go is burdening the rakyat.Heavy traffic and conjunction.rather than doing toll like this , they should implement the tolless toll using license plate like other western countries

• Dong Gor on Mar 02, 2022 at 8:57 pm

So damn funny.. A system can burden Rakyat Keke. I say they chose whatever system that can pocket max.. So older system will have higher margin! Want lie also use something more high intelligence la..

• The caliber of our minister on Mar 02, 2022 at 8:58 pm

They do not understand an Radio Frequency system vs a camera system.

Maybe should ask them to explain NFT.

• The thing is , what other contries use rfid

• drMpower on Mar 02, 2022 at 9:51 pm

is this fadillah guy for real?

whatever system, u need to fool proof it first. doesnt matter high price low price, malaysia people know its not the price issue. its the realiability fadillah

why not they test run this rfid for 10 years or 5 years or sponsor any gated community to run it first

how can i, sitting on my bum, licking my garret popcorn can think of all these? and yet this fadillah guy, paid handsomely and supposely to use his mind thinking for us not doing his work?

• ROTI CANAI on Mar 02, 2022 at 10:00 pm

remove la dei

• hazri on Mar 02, 2022 at 10:18 pm

at first, if too costly why bother nak buat jugak? and if know the cheaper one not well functioned why bother nak buat jugak? ni menteri kerajaan mana yang bodoh sangat ni?

• “Well, we are politicians. We need to do this or else, how we gonna make money? Money fall from sky kah? ” …. truth why politician appointed in GLC and gomen link agencies

• best joker!

• r-u-bodoh on Mar 02, 2022 at 10:52 pm

then stop jack-up the original price u fak-up a-hole!

• Una Owen on Mar 02, 2022 at 11:07 pm

They fail to realize that the system that doesn’t work will burden the rakyat even more

• FudgeMeSideways on Mar 02, 2022 at 11:30 pm

Make Malaysia great again by removing tolls!

• benard on Mar 02, 2022 at 11:36 pm

Bullshit

Low cost means more profit for the operator.

Just look at the RFID tags that cost cents but sold at RM30.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 02, 2022 at 11:45 pm

Syukur Gomen perihatin to reduce rakyat burden…

• Luke Cars on Mar 03, 2022 at 1:23 am

Penny wise, pound foolish.

This RFID thing is a disaster, and you’re gonna spend more money trying to fix it.

This is just a ploy to use more government funds. Mark my words, in a few years, another “solution” will come and then it will be praised for it’s relative efficiency. By then, somebody has already made millions with the failed RFID system.

Accountability is what is needed. Why TF would you introduce a system without ironing out all its flaws first?

Gotta love Malaysia.

• Boy Racer on Mar 03, 2022 at 2:02 am

Of course too costly, most of the budget have to go into cronies pocket first.

• Sparcov on Mar 03, 2022 at 8:50 am

RFID strips for each car will generate recurring income in the event of any form of damages.

• Gabriel on Mar 03, 2022 at 9:44 am

If PH keep their promise of abolishing toll, we will not be having this discussion at all.
    Janji dicapati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 03, 2022 at 2:20 pm

If org dacing didn’t start the tol in the 1st place, there’s no need to discuss abolishing tol.

• Funny how org pyramid yg letakkan org dacing as their PM. Stop complaining about org dacing if you put them up as your leaders.

• with the LOUSY RFID now also flop, just remove it. The system i supply to my customer is much effective than this with a MUCH MUCH LOWER cost !

• pomen on Mar 03, 2022 at 9:47 am

lol then Rm35 for a piece of plastic sticker is not burden ar???

• pxp154 on Mar 03, 2022 at 9:56 am

low cost but crap & unreliable, buatpe bazir duit ?! teknology 10-15years ago… must be cheaper now

• Vincent on Mar 03, 2022 at 10:54 am

The performance of RFID is not much better than the Smartag! You either go for ERP, or stay with Smartag. Move from SmartTag to RFID is a stupid move!

• Automatic number-plate recognition is the best solution

• Anwar on Mar 03, 2022 at 11:01 am

Still trying…

• Bob Mal on Mar 03, 2022 at 11:10 am

Obviously tell me what project is not inflated in prices for yummy deals? And obviously we all know by now who owns both RFID TNG etc.

• Gomorrah on Mar 03, 2022 at 11:20 am

“Due to costs constraints and implementation that will burden the people” = Aiya Malaysians cannot pay la so our profit margin cannot be uber-ridiculous, have to settle for mega-ridiculous only”

• A highway user on Mar 03, 2022 at 12:41 pm

Traffic volume keep increasing every year and they are collecting more and more toll payments but still cannot afford a better system? Why still need to charge to rakyat? Are they expecting to only collect money but not willing to spend for upgrades? If that is the case then they should just sell off their toll collection businesses to other parties since this type of business is not attractive to them.

• realbidder on Mar 03, 2022 at 2:48 pm

let see from the other point of view, but 1st of all dont get me wrong. i’m not oppose anybody but my opinion is solely from what i’m thinking.

Why Sg can / must use ERP :
    i. small country, easy to setup the facility / gantry all over the country
    ii. most of the cars / bikes, anything rolling on the road will use the ERP almost everyday
    iii. to build a gate on the road will become a BIG BIG messy to road user, they have to eliminate that with seamless tech like the ERP.

Why My can’t / not ready to use ERP :
    i. high population with toll road only in Klang Valley, not for other states especially S’wak & Sabah. Meaning that not all user will use toll road everyday.
    ii. It’s a waste for car buyer to get a new car with that device (same goes on current Myvi G3 with Smarttag. S’wak & Sabah – no use at all but the have to pay for the device also)
    iii. by using current gate method might probably the most cost effective way (of coz w/o the rasuah along the way and the system effectiveness) and could offer some people for jobs.

• RushingFoolishIdiotDumb on Mar 03, 2022 at 3:05 pm

First of all, Touch and Go is a monopoly who only care about the pocket. It is neither Govt owned or run entity. Govt sponsor the RFID stickers or whatever system. Tax back from Touch&Go from their profits…

• RFID just doesn’t work on my A200 and probably some cars too.

• Low cost but RM35. Kepala lutut kamu!

• The existing smart tag can be a much better product actually. It is just an IR receiver for the downlink and RF uplink. The TnG portion can be scrapped completely leaving the unit with an identity number that can be tied to an ewallet. You can probably run this simpler implementation on a small CR2032 coin cell leaving the size thin and small. And these will only cost less than USD1 in volume. Of course the toll booth will still be there but it rides on existing infrastructure (and less room for hanky panky extra expenditure). The problem with Malaysia is everything must have crony, layered of cronies, layered of people and company that actually doesn’t contribute to the progress other than taking big chunk of the money. The RM35 piece of gold plated RFID sticker tells you the entire story in summary.

• bieight8 on Mar 03, 2022 at 5:24 pm

Then the government should subsidized it…

• Mikey on Mar 03, 2022 at 6:34 pm

The RFID strip cost less than 50 cent each and they sell it for RM35. And they going to collect billions in toll.

Active RFID will costs 100s, but if you going to collect a lot of money, you can definitely subsidize the first unit.

Of course, full of excuses if don’t want to implement, but full of ways if want to spend money. And don’t tell me, government always find ways to spend money on BS projects

• Burdened Rakyat on Mar 03, 2022 at 9:59 pm

New level of dad joke, a gov joke. Damn government in power with deep songlap pockets are the one burdening the rakyat.

• Chosen a system that doesn’t work is a waste of money, the management to make this decision should hold accountable. Government earn so much taxes in each car sold here should allocate small portion for this infrastructure setup. Think again where the money spent currently. Singapore ERP implemented the system in both entry of highway and town area, do you think this can generate more fund to recover and reduce congestion in town area?

• PLUS-user on Mar 04, 2022 at 10:31 am

Abolishing the toll collection would be a populist move, one needs to take into account thereafter consequences. Once the toll collection is abolished, the level of comfort that we are enjoying now when using the tolled highways would be history. I am a frequent user of PLUS (tolled) and CSR (toll free) highways, the difference in the level of comfort in terms of cleanliness, lighting, the smoothness of the tarmac, R&R facilities etc. is jaw dropping. I would rather pay a nominal sum and enjoy the comfort. No good things come free these days.

• south korea had smart tag like IU, not wired to the car but had tng like card, still speed through toll gate at 100kmh without issue.
    just say G is greedy for money grab

• Hmm…when rakyat need to change the rfid strip frequently, rakyat cry…
    Why not keeping the smarttag?