2022 Proton Saga MC2 – keyless entry, leather interior, new wheels and touchscreen; ESC for 1.3 Standard

We now have a much better idea of what’s new with the 2022 Proton Saga facelift thanks to a leaked document circulating online, which shows the variant line-up as well as some key specifications. The Saga MC2 (as it’s popularly referred to) has been sighted on several occasions in the past, although we still don’t have any indication as to when it will go on sale.

First up, the number of variants has increased from the current three to four, with a new 1.3 Premium S AT joining the existing 1.3 Premium AT, 1.3 Standard AT and base 1.3 Standard MT. Based on the variant names, we don’t expect mechanical changes to be part of the facelift, so the 1.3 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine will likely continue to make 95 PS at 5,750 rpm and 120 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm.

Drive goes to the front wheels as before, with the same transmission options as before, which include a five-speed manual and a four-speed automatic – the latter was introduced to replace a CVT when the Saga MC1 was launched back in August 2019.

In terms of design changes, the Saga will finally get Proton’s latest harimau logo which first appeared on the CKD version of the X70. The roundel replaces the shield-shaped badge on the front grille as well as the wheel cover/caps.

Going variant by variant, the 1.3 Standard MT will soldier on with 14-inch steel wheels (with matching covers), halogen headlamps, powered side mirrors with turn indicators, remote trunk release, a standard head unit, two speakers, manual air-conditioning with a N95 cabin filter, two airbags, ABS, EBD, brake assist, reverse sensors and Isofix child seat anchors.

New for 2022 will be the control panel for the air-conditioning system, the centre panel that the head unit is mounted on, and reshaped air vents at the corners of the dashboard, although we don’t know what these changes look like for now.

The 1.3 Standard AT builds upon the base variant by gaining 14-inch alloy wheels, a map lamp, three USB ports (instead of just one) as well as hand grips front and rear. More importantly, it now comes with Electronic Stability Control (ESC), traction control and Hill Hold Assist, with these three safety systems previously reserved for the 1.3 Premium AT.

On that mention, the 1.3 Premium AT also benefits from some improvements, including a new design for its 15-inch alloys and a revised seven-inch touchscreen head unit (likely with the new ATLAS OS). These are on top of the features it gains over the 1.3 Standard AT like LED daytime running lights, steering-mounted media controls, a boot lamp, two more speakers (instead of just two), a reverse camera and front parking sensors.

Finally, the main attraction is the newly added 1.3 Premium S AT, which comes with front bumper lip and side skirts like we’ve seen in spyshots to differentiate it from the non-S variant. Based on the document, the new range-topper will also be the first Saga to get auto-folding powered side mirrors and a dedicated switch to pop open the boot, the latter is included with a boot lid garnish.

The boot popper is possible thanks to the addition of another first for the Saga, keyless entry, which works with the engine push start button as well. Other variant-specific features include a new combination meter, a leatherette steering wheel (instead of urethane), semi-leatherette upholstery (instead of fabric), auto-dimming interior lighting system and a black-themed interior.

Details like pricing are unknown for now, so we’ll have to wait for an official launch to take place to find out how much you’ll be paying for each variant of the Saga MC2. As for now, the Saga MC1 currently on sale goes for RM32,800 to RM39,800, so expect the new variant for the Saga MC2 to be beyond the RM40,000 mark. For now, what do you think of the changes for the Saga? Looking forward to it?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• That’s exciting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
    • Rohana IMDB Condo on Apr 20, 2022 at 8:24 pm

Oh my Gaud…Exciting? The only reason it can sell compared to the Bezza is its cheap pricing.
      Other than that its campur engine,4 speed auto from Hyundai..only Dinosaurs will appreciate.
      Come on P1,give the fanboys fresh bread from the oven..not bread with mold and excessive preservatives from Gardenia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 102
      • Anoyingfish on Apr 21, 2022 at 6:16 am

Cheap pricing, better handling, better nvh, not ugly, actually there’s a lot of reason not to go Bezza.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 6
        • Ruslan Bahari on Apr 21, 2022 at 9:05 am

Actually the Bezza can’t really hold a candle to the Saga, especially with the Hyundai transmission. Overall a much better car than the Bezza in terms of ride comfort and handling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
        • tatu880 on Apr 21, 2022 at 10:21 am

Plus better sound system compared to Bezza or any Perodua. This alone makes it a nicer car to drive daily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
        • Ground europe passenger on Apr 21, 2022 at 11:12 am

Agree, but bezza got better fuel consumption and timing chain engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
          • TiadaGigi on Apr 21, 2022 at 1:24 pm

If you own a Bezza, you’ll know that it’s far from what the spec sheet claims. I don’t own a Saga so I can’t provide real world comparison. But I do own a Bezza 1.0 auto so the claim is 21.3l fc but in reality, I am lucky if I can get 15.0l. If you have real, daily life tests where it shows Bezza is “better” in fc, I’m all ears. Also, since you said “better”, I expect a huge difference between them.. not around 1-3l.. that’s just “slightly better”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
          • Guan Latest Bungalow in Penang on Apr 27, 2022 at 11:00 pm

Hahaha, bezza fuel efficiency is totally a myth. Its really depend on how you drive and where.

• I’m sure his excitement won’t bring any difference to your daily life or am i mistaken?

• yawnz on Apr 21, 2022 at 10:58 am

Cheaper price? By 2k saja dude
        https://paultan.org/2020/01/08/2020-perodua-bezza-facelift-launched-in-malaysia-asa-2-0-led-headlamps-4-variants-from-rm34580/

And yet if it wasn’t for chip shortage and floods Saga still will outsell Bezza by a wider margin simply coz it is the better car for money.
        P2 is giving stale bread while P1 are serving fine wine that has been ageing well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • John Gagal on Apr 20, 2022 at 9:29 pm

Work hard and buy Toyota Vios instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 38
      • Buble on Apr 20, 2022 at 11:41 pm

Vios and Saga are also good buy choices, though that Vios can’t compare with Saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
        • Kalash on Apr 30, 2022 at 12:47 pm

Agree..
          Saga more to comfort ride and handling is really good more than vios…

• Buble on Apr 30, 2022 at 7:32 pm

But handling and comfort for Vios and Saga are also great

• nazri on Apr 20, 2022 at 5:57 pm

when it will be on the market?

• newme on Apr 20, 2022 at 6:00 pm

1 year, 1 facelift. Gotta maintain parts for so many variants and they are wondering why they have parts problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
    • Anonymous on Apr 20, 2022 at 8:13 pm

The last Saga facelift was 3 years ago, and 3 years is a common interval for a car model to undergo a refresh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
      • dude, this 3rd gen saga already 6 yo, it’s due for a new model…not a 2nd facelift

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • CarOwner on Apr 21, 2022 at 10:36 am

Don’t be ridiculous. I can list a lot of brands who doesn’t agree with your 6-year new model interval plan.

• Celup King on Apr 21, 2022 at 11:24 am

It is still a sellable product, in fact it is a sold out product with many on a waiting list.

• Anonymous on Apr 21, 2022 at 12:53 pm

“If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it”
          VW Beetle remained very much the same for over 4 decades. 4th and 5th gen Mustangs lasted 9-10 years each. Jeep Wranglers last for a decade each generation.

Proton is still very early in their turnaround phase. An all-new gen with many new mechanical parts would delay their return to profit and become self-sustainable. The Saga would have to relinquish the title of “the most affordable sedan” just to have a reasonable ROI period.

• newme on Apr 21, 2022 at 9:13 am

The last facelift was last year, 2021 with their limited edition. Before that it was in 2020 with Anniversary edition. Then in 2019 also facelift.

• Anonymous on Apr 22, 2022 at 11:05 am

Facelifts are refreshed serial production models, not celebratory or seasonal. There are only 1100 and 2000 units of the Anniversary Edition and the R3 Limited Edition respectively. They don’t keep months worth of spare parts for them (which are only interior trims and bodykits) because there won’t ever be daily orders for hundreds of spare Limited Edition bodykits, unless those handful of owners crashes them daily. They would only make them to order which makes them more expensive, but you would expect that when owning a “Limited Edition”.

• newme on Apr 23, 2022 at 10:51 pm

This is why you have parts problem lor. Takkan ni pun nak diajar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Dong Gor on Apr 20, 2022 at 6:59 pm

Many good improvements under the skin… But perhaps it’s time to change the skin as well. The current model is kinda boring, and to some extend ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
    • Sabri Zelensky on Apr 20, 2022 at 8:17 pm

You know the King of Pop,Michael Jackson?
      He is born black,but he got white skin makeover.
      Protong is giving the Saga countless botox injections ,which is glaringly hideous and outrageously Jurassic in design.
      Dr.Li ..if there is one failure you have..it is this T Rex Saga.It has become biasa,quite ugly now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 41
      • John Doe on Apr 20, 2022 at 11:31 pm

Not too sure why is a model with more than 2 million units sold is still a failure

• Fishoutofwater on Apr 21, 2022 at 6:17 am

Michael Jackson got a skin diseases you uncultured swine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • Saga is the small sedan best seller is Malaysia. How is this a failure? Sorry we here are talking facts. Your personal perspective doesn’t matter at all.

• CarOwner on Apr 21, 2022 at 10:40 am

Don’t be ridiculous. That’s your own personal opinion.

• Troll Hunter on Apr 21, 2022 at 11:30 am

You dont know meh? They hired the chief designer from pelotua who boasted the Myvi teh tarik hook as “game changer”.

• Johnbear on Apr 20, 2022 at 9:51 pm

Haha

• J. Ong on Apr 20, 2022 at 9:16 pm

There’s nothing much to shout about or look forward except the Premium S AT. The performance specs remain the same, some minimalistic makeover or facelift. The key determining factor would be pricing, if kept at more or less as MC1, then there’s indeed some add-on value. Improvement to fuel consumption would be a huge consideration too!
    Can’t wait for MC3 (2023?), the top of range variant should be turbo!!! You can do it Proton with Geely backing & input…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • I agree and this news really hinders my expectation of a new generation of saga. Looks like we’ll get 4th gen after this 3rd gen reaches at least 10 years old in the market. If the Iriz is an example of how long Proton will maintain a model, looks like it will be a minimum of 10 years for a model age. Not to mention Proton basically cancelled their yearly model releases under the guise of parts shortage. I was really looking forward to what proton offers under geely and also hoping a new sedan/hatchback.

I was hoping the standard variant would have even better improvement compared to last MC to make it appeal to me personally because I wanted a manual. I’ve been holding back because my sister in law bought the 2019 version recently so it’s not appealing to have multiple cars of the same model.

• J. Ong on Apr 20, 2022 at 9:33 pm

Nothing much to shout about or look forward too. The performance specs remain the same and some minimalistic makeover/facelift. The standout if any, would be the Premium S AT. The key determining factor would be pricing; if kept at more or less same as MC1, then there’s add-on value & incentive for potential new buyers. Improvements to fuel consumption is another consideration.
    Fast forward, can’t wait for MC3 (2023?). Performance specs improvement is a given. The top variant should be turbo engine. Jia you Proton, you can do it with Geely support & technological input, you will capture a bigger slice of the market share…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • capulet on Apr 20, 2022 at 11:32 pm

looking to your image upload of the specs comparison, the ‘Varians Line-Up’ image quality is so bad.. why don’t you pay attention with this kind of important info to be as clear as possible before you proceed to show to your readers.. thanks..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Derrick on Apr 21, 2022 at 12:24 am

Time to redesign please. Use some creativity.

• CarOwner on Apr 21, 2022 at 10:47 am

You know what, I don’t agree with you. I’m still waiting for the day when I’m able to trade-in my Bezza with this version of Saga. I don’t think it need to redesign at the moment and I don’t think it’s less creative than what their direct competitor’s models have in the market. That being said, I wouldn’t mind it either way. However the major point I’m trying to deliver here is that “Beauty on the eye of the beholder”.. not just you.

• AZAMIRUDDIN AHMAD on Apr 21, 2022 at 7:25 am

Very cute little tiny tyres in a small tiny wheel arc. An iconic signature for Malaysian cars.

• david on Apr 21, 2022 at 9:23 am

recycle again. recycle

• TunFcK on Apr 21, 2022 at 9:45 am

What? Keyless? Hahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Morning Dew on Apr 21, 2022 at 9:49 am

This Saga might be bad for some of you, but think of others. This less than RM40k cars might be the only choice for some families, specs etc is not a must for them, they just need a car to travel to work or park at LRT station

Not everyone likes to drive and buy expensive cars.

Please don’t use your point of view to judge others. Proton has their own target market, if you are not 1 of the buyer, don’t need to criticize.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • NoArgumentHere on Apr 23, 2022 at 10:02 am

Don’t worry, this comment section doesn’t dictate the choice of buyers. It’s not like anyone who wants to buy a saga or bezza refer to this comment section to make their decision when it’s clear as day that most of the people commenting here are obviously just trolling. It’s just a ridiculous rivalry between fanboys. Lol

• azrai on Apr 21, 2022 at 10:44 am

Teaching a new trick to an old dog.

• Anony on Apr 21, 2022 at 12:28 pm

Interior lighting with auto dimming? Wth is that

• Anonymous on Apr 21, 2022 at 12:47 pm

Tasteless design

• TiadaGigi on Apr 21, 2022 at 1:31 pm

Not like you.. posted two comments with “Anony” and “Anonymous” nickname.. couldn’t think of another name eh? Tasteless..

• US got Tesla, here we got tasteless

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • MingJun on Apr 21, 2022 at 1:08 pm

I’ve been driving the 2019 facelift saga (Premium) for over a year now and I must say, proton’s effort to make the car affordable but yet feels premium was a great success. NVH is decent, ride comfort and handling is superb.

However, the proton has some minor inconveniences that in my opinion should not be in a 2019 car. My car’s lack of a power folding mirror has been a laughing stock among my bezza and axia driving friends. I mean even the midrange axia has a power folding mirror why can’t the more pricey version of the saga have it as well.

another thing is the lack of an auto down mirror. I don’t know what else to say. Got really shocked when I received the car for the first time. Hopefully this 2022 version gets this feature

Don’t get me started on the indicators… Why, if perodua can include a solid state, digital relay for their axia’s turn indicators why can’t Proton do the same. A digital relay allows for the quick tap for lane change feature which is a convenience for those short lane changes in normal roads. if this 2022 version does not have it. I’ll not be mad, just disappointed.

Last one, why… WHY… did they not include a way to single wipe the wipers. How is a wiper stalk with a single wipe (Mist) be that expensive~~~. Just take it from their Preve’s parts bin or something. I don’t think i need to explain why… this is such a let down in a 2019 car (FIX IT PROTON)

Despite everything that I just said, it still brings a smile to my face whenever I enter the car, and start it up. It’s a beautiful piece of kit for the money and I don’t regret buying it as my first car. Keyless entry is a good plus and all, but~~~ if they did not fix the minor inconveniences that I just listed down~~~ well my excitement for this 2022 version will diminish significantly

• Muhammad Najmi on Apr 22, 2022 at 1:01 am

And I hope they will Improve the Production Quality Audit just From the 2019 Facelifted model, like what they did with facelifted Iriz and Persona, go on ahead !!

https://paultan.org/2021/09/02/2022-proton-iriz-and-persona-production-quality-audit-87-better-since-2017-now-close-to-geely-volvo-levels/

• Good. For me, Saga is way better than Bezza.. plus Bezza is so ugly aarghhh.

• Nameless on Apr 22, 2022 at 12:32 pm

I was really hoping for the Saga to get a change in its overall design, mainly taking inspiration from the X50. But it seems like that won’t be the case here. Nevertheless, the upgrades seem to be good, so I’m looking forward for them to showcase it

• Tan SS on Apr 23, 2022 at 8:32 am

Alamak i just got my saga mc1 a week ago and looking at the additional features in mc2, my heart is crushed…

• Shiro on Apr 23, 2022 at 12:45 pm

With this new mc2 model, will there be aircond kaki? Why Proton remove it, even in Pakistan model got, please put it to Malaysian market. And got any arm rest like Persona/Iriz installed?

• Proton should obsolete this model and introduce new versions…. Malaysian always get cited with face-lift model..which is not worth for value.

• Mazeen on May 05, 2022 at 3:57 pm

Mazeen